We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Review” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nessieland

Nessieland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Nessie, the creature supposedly inhabiting Scotland's mysterious Loch Ness, is undoubtedly one of the most well-known monsters in the world. Sightings started popping up in the late 19th century and ever since, Nessie has held the world's attention and the myth has refused to die. Visitors wishing to learn more about the legends surrounding Loch Ness can do so at Nessieland Castle Monster Centre in Drumnadrochit. While this miniature theme park is aimed at children, it offers plenty of educational displays. There are lots of newspaper clippings reporting sightings, grainy photographs and display panels explaining the mystery of the Loch Ness Monster. A multilingual documentary takes visitors on the hunt for Nessie and not only shows eyewitness accounts, but also underwater searches that have been taking place since the 1970s. Whether you end up being a believer or not, Nessieland offers a lot of fun. Kids especially enjoy the supposedly life-sized Nessie model that can be ridden, the large adventure playground and the caves. Of course, there is also a gift shop where the corresponding Nessie memorabilia can be purchased.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Review”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I felt compelled to write this for two reasons. The greeting afforded to us by, i think, the owner, was unbelievably rude. Maybe the fact that his overpriced shop was empty led to certain level of frustration but. Secondly and prior to this i bought the worst cafe latte i have ever tasted which took about 30 minutes to make. Based on both of these instances we decided not to go near the actual exhibition and went down the road to the other one. Reading the reviews above / below sounds like a monstrously good move on our part

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    51
    37
    34
    112
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“WHAT A RIP OFF !! pass your way”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Tourist guides indicated Nessieland was more oriented for children, that is why we choose it pushed by our Three children.
The visit started by a low quality, old movie. We thought the best had to come....NO!
The owner did not want to open the garden nor the castle may be ashamed by what they had to propose (he did not propose to give us our money back thought..). We had to request it.
When opened we were astonished to see that the castle was a dark, fongus packed place not used for months. It reminded us a bad remake movie of shining. Kids did not stay in there more than 10 seconds.
As of the garden, trampolin was outdated and out of order, and when you climb to the top to reach the little house, you have a nice view on a dump!!
We did not visited the other Nessie center but this one is clearly a tourist rip off. The best of the visit is free and is outside with a plastic replica of Nessie.
I can assure you the good reviews here are really suspicious..

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank LaurentG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, Kent
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Thought this might be a bit of 'tourist trash' but the film about the Loch Ness monster was amazing.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mw30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“WHAT a Dissapointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Wish I'd checked Trip Advisor before parting with my hard-earned cash here!

We found this in the brochure in our holiday cottage and the marketing looked modern and like it would be really worth going. The fact here is that the marketing is 200 times better than the product.

Aside from some big unrealistic sculptures you'd even struggle to take a decent photo of (due to positioning) and a half-empty gift shop filled with dated tat, I really feel for the staff who may have to sleep at night when they are taking good money from people for what they are about to receive. This is daylight robbery!

The children's play area/castle was closed with no reason given which the children were most upset about.

Ok, the usual photos and text you'd expect of any exhibition but what really took the biscuit was the cinematic and very biased presentation of the story of the Loch Ness Monster. I can appreciate that some footage cannot be modernised but the narration and links were very dated and I'd go so far as to say this was probably 9mm film reel, transposed to Betamax, shown to us on a museum-piece of a projector.

What I cannot forgive under any circumstance is the use of the word "T.W.A.T" by White Witch Kevin Carlyon when speaking about Jan Sundberg, who led the team of Swedish monster hunters.

My advice- When you see the signs, continue 1/4 mile on the left to the next visitors centre.

My advice: DO NOT VISIT THIS ATTRACTION.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Malc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ROAR!!! Nessie Rocks!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

First of all, don't be swayed by some of the reviews on here, some are a bit over the top! The big Nessie inside is great for having your picture taken with plus the kids will love it! It's a great day out out for all the family. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend a visit : )

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank P17HJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nessieland also viewed

 
Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
 

Been to Nessieland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing