We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service, Smelly rooms, and couldnt leave soon enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Drumnadrochit
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor Service, Smelly rooms, and couldnt leave soon enough”
Reviewed September 15, 2009

My cousin booked this hotel for 3 rooms for 1 nights, for a family getaway with us from Singapore/Australia and my local Glasgow family. I should note that unfortunately we didnt stay here, so my perception is limited to check in, dispute resolution and the quality of the rooms. Here is our take.

We booked this hotel from its glossy tartan like website and its proximity to the Loch! Whilst it was close the Loch, it has no views and realisitically isnt within easy walk either, their website would give you an impression it was loch side.

We booked 2 double bed rooms, and a family room with a double bed. They had no double beds, only twins (again we booked this hotel 2 months before our arrival) and the family room only had 2 single beds and a bunk bed. The front desk operator was polite and apologetic but couldnt resolve our concerns.

As it was 4.30pm and probably difficult to source alternate accommodation on a Saturday night we tried to make things do. However, when we entered the rooms, theyre were dated, smelly and shabby. I suppse you get wait you pay for 90 pounds per nights, but frankly these rooms where no nice, nor matched the website by any stretch of the imagination,

So we ended up leaving the hotel and took our chance to find somewhere else to stay, fortunately we found room as the newly renovated Loch Ness Inn and it was fantastic.!!! I will add a review there, if i am able to...

Bottom line, only recommended if you seriously cant find somewhere else to stay, just please read all the reviews and make your own views, dont rely on their fancy website! Enjoy Loch Ness and your travels

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    117
    84
    58
    52
See reviews for
104
146
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
March in Cambridgeshire
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2009

We got married at Urquart Castle and all our family (25 of us) stayed at the hotel and we held our wedding reception at the hotel, all the staff were all fantastic and friendly and always smiled. Myself and my family were all impressed with the rooms and the food and the service that we all received. Nothing is too much trouble and they always gave a warm welcome. Our wedding day and reception was organised via the hotel and it ran like clockwork, we couldnt have wished for a better venue and they gave us a fantastic day, nothing compares to this hotel. We will definitely be going back again. A big thumbs up and thankyou from the Richardsons and Jacksons.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeekChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale,Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

After checking various websites we decided on The Loch Ness Lodge Hotel due to the impressive photos. However, the reality could not have been further from the images. The pictures on the websites depict a clean, fresh and bright environment but the hotel is dark and dingy with fittings and fixtures that would be at home in the 1970's

The location of the hotel is also disappointing as Loch Ness was not in view; when we visit this area again we will be staying in Fort Augustus and would strongly advise anyone else to do the same.

Places to eat in Drumnadrochit were that poor we decided to drive the 14 miles into Inverness to eat out.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haleduthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LochNessLodge, Business Development Manager at Loch Ness Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2009
The Loch Ness Lodge Hotel is a Traditional Scottish Lodge in the Highlands of Scotland built in 1740 and then extended in the 1960s, rooms have been decorated many times between then and now, our rooms are in neutral shades and not overpowering to the eye.

If we were made aware of your feelings during your stay - we would of tried to resolve the matter.

There are 4 restaurants in the village of Drumnadrochit each giving there own style of food perhaps this was not to the guests taste but Inverness has a wider range of restaurants in the highland City!

Kind Regards

Hotel Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Drumnadrochit hotels

kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Shabby, poor standard of cleaning and maintenance. Indifferent service. Parking available but limited. Not on the waterside and loch ness not visible from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dogknobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

The hotel was clean and rooms well appointed although a little dated. If like me you are expecting a view of the loch i'm afraid you will be disappointed. The photo they show hides the fact that directly infront of the hotel is a car park which overlooks a busy road running through the village. The hotel has no outside space which can be used by guests and if you want to see Loch Ness it 's a two mile journey through the village. The food was very disappointing and not inexpensive.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rudydog78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Very well located to visit loch Ness area and Urquhart Castle. Bedroom clean, confortable, spacious. Nice loundge. Good service at reception. Minor issues: bedroom in front of Loch Ness visitor centre car park, so sometimes very noisy until 8pm. Poor service at breakfast (one of the 2 waitresses was totally exasperated when customers waved at her to order...we ourselves at to wait for more than 10 min to get the breakfast menu. In addition, there were no highchair available altough we had asked for one at the reception the day before and they had replied it was no problem at all). We did not like the food at breakfast either, too greasy, nor the selection at the buffet. Apart from that, good hotel. But we tought it was not really good value for the money asked.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank babybecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

amazing! what a price!!! its not a chrome/fancy/modern hotel, its a period scottish lodge! dark wood and character! food excellent, dont let other revviews put you off this place is ideal! family friendly, stall all excellent, even shown to our room!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12121874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
15.4 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
14.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
3.8 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
3.8 mi away
Glenurquhart House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ness Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Lodge Hotel

Property: Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Address: | Off A831, Drumnadrochit IV63 6TU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Ness Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 50 bedroom hotel caters for all clientele, families, couples, singles, friends and groups. We have a restaurant that serves a table d' hote menu three course meal. Our Pibroch Whisky Bar has an extensive choice of whiskys. The Loch Ness Monster Exhibition Centre is on hotel grounds and Nessie Hunter Cruises, hourly cruises on Loch Ness depart from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loch Ness Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Ness Hotel Drumnadrochit
Loch Ness Drumnadrochit
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel Drumnadrochit, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing