We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Drumnadrochit
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Very well located to visit loch Ness area and Urquhart Castle. Bedroom clean, confortable, spacious. Nice loundge. Good service at reception. Minor issues: bedroom in front of Loch Ness visitor centre car park, so sometimes very noisy until 8pm. Poor service at breakfast (one of the 2 waitresses was totally exasperated when customers waved at her to order...we ourselves at to wait for more than 10 min to get the breakfast menu. In addition, there were no highchair available altough we had asked for one at the reception the day before and they had replied it was no problem at all). We did not like the food at breakfast either, too greasy, nor the selection at the buffet. Apart from that, good hotel. But we tought it was not really good value for the money asked.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Thank babybecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 435 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2009

amazing! what a price!!! its not a chrome/fancy/modern hotel, its a period scottish lodge! dark wood and character! food excellent, dont let other revviews put you off this place is ideal! family friendly, stall all excellent, even shown to our room!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12,121,874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We booked our 2 night stay online through a booking site for £64 each with breakfast and dinner on one of the nights which was a good deal.The food was fine but for some reason the chef couldn't cook eggs as the scrambled egg was lumpy and hard and when my girlfriend asked for a boiled egg she got a poached egg and when she said to the waitress she said,we dont do boiled eggs on a sunday,which we thought was rather odd.There advertising that there rooms are refurbished but there was know way ours was (room 6)and not like the room pictured by another reviewer,the bed was terrible as we rolled into the middle of it due to concave shaped mattress,however the room was clean.The hotel bar is lovely and really cosy however the bar prices are shocking,£3.80 for a pint of tennents lager,come on we scots pride ourselfs on our hospitality and your charging prices like that.Its location is excellent but if we were to stay in drumnadrochit again we would choose another hotel

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottish74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

This hotel is a real rip off. They had much lower rates than they quoted on the phone and refused to alter the price. The manager is a liar.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank IbnBatutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

After checking various websites I decided on The Loch Ness Lodge Hotel on Photos from other sites and position of the Hotel. The position of the hotel was perfect and the staff that served us in the hotel and at breakfast were second to none. The breakfast was also a well cooked one. The gift shop and "nessie" experiance was tacky to say the least. We had a problem with the creaky floors, being on the ground floor with someone above who sounded like they were trying to tip-toe about. The TV had poor reception, not that we wanted to watch tv but thats not the point. The rooms had (badly) fitted wardrobes but I'd rather have kept my clothes in my case. The hotel needs tidying up but the service from the staff made up for it. Good bar area too (didn't use it unfortunately).
The restaurant looked good and had what looked like a local selection of food for £22pp for three courses was good value too but again I only fancied something light and there was nothing light on the menu. After an afternoon of walking we settled for a pub lunch.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VXDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

We stayed at the Lockness hotel for one night, and it was lovely. The guy on reception was so nice and really helpful. Did not have dinner in the hotel but the menu looked very nice. Breakfast the following morning was lovely. The room was very nice quite big with great views. Would love to go back one day

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemguedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

We made a spur of the moment decision to visit the Highlands last weekend and thought it woul be better to stay overnight in a nice wee hotel near to Loch Ness.
Instead we got this place!
We chose the hotel on the internet after looking at their very professional website. The website promised " this original Highland Lodge Hotel is set in acres of delightful woodland", the hotel was actually about 30 feet from the main road.
We booked a double room with breakfast at a price of £85 per night, very reasonable we thought.......until we saw the room.
Our room was in an annex to the main hotel, looked like it was built in the 1960's, and looked like that was the last time it was decorated. The windows were single glazed so were a bit draughty, there were radiators in the hall outside the room but no central heating inside the rooms, we had one electric oil filled radiator that took forever to heat up. There was a portable 14" Tv, which could only get 3 channels. The bathroom was small and pokey and dark, made darker I suspect by the addition of bottle green tiling.
The one saving grace was the bed which was very comfortable.
We went to the bar before going to bed and were charged £8.60 for a Tenants Lager and a small glass of white wine.
I don't usually write reviews but felt compelled to warn people away from this hotel, not a good advert for Scottish hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rebus2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatDrum, Owner at Loch Ness Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2009

The hotels woodland is a varied 8 acres of Scottish pine & Beech Wood, to the back, and surronding area of the hotel, but not to the front; and forms a lovley backdrop and walking area.

This guest room was newly decorated in the winter period of 2008/2009 and perhaps this was not to the guests taste


Kind Regards
The Management
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
15.4 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
431 reviews
14.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
400 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glenurquhart House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ness Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Lodge Hotel

Address: | Off A831, Drumnadrochit IV63 6TU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Drumnadrochit
Price Range: $59 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Ness Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 50 bedroom hotel caters for all clientele, families, couples, singles, friends and groups. We have a restaurant that serves a table d' hote menu three course meal. Our Pibroch Whisky Bar has an extensive choice of whiskys. The Loch Ness Monster Exhibition Centre is on hotel grounds and Nessie Hunter Cruises, hourly cruises on Loch Ness depart from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loch Ness Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Ness Hotel Drumnadrochit
Loch Ness Drumnadrochit
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel Drumnadrochit, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing