We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Drumnadrochit
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wasn't Impressed”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

From the outside, this hotel looks adorable and rustic. I was really not impressed with the quality inside however. I stayed here with a tour group of 50 people and we were assigned rooms. I was very disheartened to find out that the room my sister and I were assigned was a third of the size of the room our friends were assigned (they even had a bidet!). The moment we walked into our room, we saw a huge brown spider in the bathtub. Not the greatest way to welcome us to the hotel, but I suppose that can't be helped. The room smelled old and a bit musty, just like the rest of the lodge. The wifi was only accessible from the bottom of the stairs. I had to partially block the stairwell in order to write an email home. The food was decent, however we had to wait ages for it to be brought out. Our entire group was eating dinner in the same (very small) room and there was no fan or air conditioning so all the windows steamed up. It was quite unpleasant.

The only thing I liked about this hotel was the proximity to Loch Ness. I know there aren't many hotels in this area so there isn't much to choose from. I don't think the hotel was very perpared to cater to a group of 50 tourists, so the experiences of a small family or couple may be a lot different from the experience we had.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srogers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LochNessLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Loch Ness Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are sorry that your room felt small, different wings of the hotel have been built at different times and therefore not all rooms are the same. The spider was certainly not invited and we apologise for him.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the food served as we pride ourselves on having one of the very best chefs on Loch Ness. The dining room where your group were eating is designed to seat 80 so we assumed there would be enough space for you. It is our usual practice to seat groups together as this is what most groups prefer. The air con would not have been on as we are suffering one of the coldest springs for many years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    121
    93
    63
    59
See reviews for
113
162
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We took a tour of Scotland and decided to book in advance for the family. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant and the staff were happy to accommodate our late dining. Really nice room and a very tasty breakfast. Definitely stay here again in our next trip.

Room Tip: Ring the hotel and discuss your room preferences before booking on a web site - you may get a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have been here before and have had no complaints but.....we called in last night for something to eat on the way home and were very disappointed. I had a small fish and chips and was glad it was small, the fish itself was nice but the batter was like rock and not very nice and the chips were nothing to write home about. My husband ordered the lasagne special and couldn't eat it, it was so awful, he felt it had been very much over cooked and was quite burnt. He sent it back a being inedible and ordered soup instead which he said was fine but not wonderful. There was no apology for the bad food but they did not charge us for it which was fine but an apology would have been nice. We will not be going back here again that is for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jintyjan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LochNessLodge, Front Office Manager at Loch Ness Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment, we like to gain as much feedback as possible so we can improve on our service, and know what we are getting right.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal, however we are some what puzzled as on the date of your visit, our establishment was closed. We are a seasonal hotel in operation between March - October, we also have not had Lasagna on our menu as we pride ourselves to offer Scottish Fayre, we cater for all dietary requirements and have a beautiful vegetarian dish too.
Perhaps you could get in touch with us and confirm that is was our restaurant you ate in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

WE had a lovely two night stay here, although there are no views of Loch Ness it does not detract from the lovely feel and the fact that its only two mins away by car. Short walk into town where there are great little bars. Staff and service were great, as was the food, although service was a bit slower for breakfast (but we were in no hurry). Will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clc1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here with my partner and had a lovely time, The restaurant food was lovely and all the staff were very friendly. Great location for all the sightseeing around Loch Ness. Short walk into drumnadrochit and was a cosy little place. Would come back with friends just for the nice relaxing break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, GA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The one night we stayed at this historic hotel that dates from 1740 was one of the highlights of our two-week trip to Scotland. Tartans everywhere (but this is Scotland!) with a dignified gentleman in a kilt making sure everything ran smoothly. Our room was immaculate and the bath, with its old fashioned bidet, charming.

We ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant, and the food and service were excellent. The table settings could be a bit intimidating to those unaccustomed to formal dining, because there was silverware galore, with utensils for everything from cream soup to dessert. One just has to remember to work from the outside inward toward one's plate, and that the silverware at the top of the plate is for the dessert service.

For those wanting to learn about Loch Ness, tours are easily arranged at a shop next door, where you board a van for a ride to the dock for an hour-long boat ride on the loch. The knowledgeable guide has photos of the creatures that he's taken himself. Locals never speak of the Loch Ness monster or Nessie, but simply speak of the creatures. And there have been and still are many of those creatures, because they've been sighted by many people for centuries.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MstrLN0871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I visited Loch Ness for the first time, we booked it over the phone and they were really nice.
The personal was very nice, but the hotel has tartan everywhere.... all over rooms, hall, stairs, etc.. an overload. The room smelled like damp, it was cold. But i couldn't stand the smell so i had to open the window. Single glassing.. well somehow later it got warm, the heating is way to small for that big room. Next morning the windows were fogged up, we went for breakfast. The room was very dark also the curtains were closed i am guessing to cover up the fogged up windows. They didn't have any vegetarian options, so i ate a few bites from the toast and eggs and i left. The water pressure while taking a shower was crap.. never again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Drumnadrochit hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
15.4 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
415 reviews
14.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
757 reviews
9.9 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
383 reviews
11.1 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ness Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Lodge Hotel

Property: Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Address: | Off A831, Drumnadrochit IV63 6TU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Ness Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 50 bedroom hotel caters for all clientele, families, couples, singles, friends and groups. We have a restaurant that serves a table d' hote menu three course meal. Our Pibroch Whisky Bar has an extensive choice of whiskys. The Loch Ness Monster Exhibition Centre is on hotel grounds and Nessie Hunter Cruises, hourly cruises on Loch Ness depart from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loch Ness Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Ness Hotel Drumnadrochit
Loch Ness Drumnadrochit
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel Drumnadrochit, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing