We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”

Loch Ness Centre & Exhibition
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a 5 star visitor attraction and retail complex. Loch Ness is already the most famous lake in the world but our aim is to make it better understood. This is achieved through a fully audio visually guided 35 minute tour. The presentation is theatrical in style and integrates the real tools and archive footage from four decades of research. As part of our educational remit, under 6s go free. The facts are objectively explained and whilst keeping the mystery centre stage, we place it in the context of the loch's very unusual properties. Thus we are endorsed by Scottish Natural Heritage as "A portal to the unique natural phenomenon that is Loch Ness". We offer a huge range of retail onsite and boat cruises on Loch Ness in the summer months. There is also a large cafe and restaurant attached to the site.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

To be truthful I'm not really sure what I did expect but it wasn't what I got. We paid our money then we were told to wait as the film was just about to start. We were still in the lobby next to the cashiers desk and we guessed it was an introduction (we were right of course). When the short film finished some curtains opened and we went in ...to watch another film, then onto another room and another film and this kept going. Five rooms and five films. It was ok but if we had known what it was we wouldn't have gone in. I would not recommend it for children they would be really bored. My elderly in laws found it difficult as it was very dark and there was not always somewhere to sit. All in all was very dissapointed and felt a bit ripped off.

Thank Janice447981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExhibitionDesigner, Designer at Loch Ness Centre & Exhibition, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Some people expect a bit of a laugh and the opportunity to show superior knowledge to other members of their party. Some expect little trucks, rides and computer generated fantasy. What we actually sell is knowledge in as painless a way as possible. Some, a minority as the other Tripadvisor reviews demonstrate, don’t like what they hear… objectivity in particular. That’s why some don’t comment upon the information content, which is what one might think they went in for. Also, that’s probably why they only note the films and not the rest of the room contents. Oh yes, and some rather like our videos. Read the last review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"loch ness"
in 396 reviews
"special effects"
in 22 reviews
"scientific research"
in 15 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 75 reviews
"rainy day"
in 18 reviews
"boat trip"
in 29 reviews
"science"
in 81 reviews
"myth"
in 107 reviews
"sightings"
in 126 reviews
"monster"
in 262 reviews
"nessie"
in 539 reviews
"mystery"
in 74 reviews
"existence"
in 48 reviews
"submarine"
in 24 reviews
"theories"
in 26 reviews
"facts"
in 75 reviews
"multimedia"
in 17 reviews
Filter

1,229 - 1,233 of 1,801 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

Could of had more facilities for the price. Could of done things for yourself. Good information, liked the video's , some parts were cold though.

Thank Colette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExhibitionDesigner, Designer at Loch Ness Centre & Exhibition, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Sorry about the cold. We had trouble with the heating. We do try to give our different rooms some theatrical ambience especially underwater. We somewhat overdid it! Glad you liked the information. That’s the main reason we are here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We visited this centre during a road trip around Scotland and felt utterly ripped off at the experience. Upon entering the queue lines we had no idea what to expect and thought that we should see the exhibition being as we won't be visiting the area for a long time or even again as this was intended as a one time visit.
The exhibition is basically a few rooms with video clips of various things that have happened in the Loch over the years - I was expected a more traditional type of museum which would have been more interesting.

Thank PPPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExhibitionDesigner, Designer at Loch Ness Centre & Exhibition, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

So, you think we are dated and would have preferred something more traditional. Bit hard to respond to this one. We obviously managed to conceal all our scenics, special effects and equipment exhibits from you so we can see the problem. Perhaps it was just that you disagreed with our objectivity or perhaps you were looking for CGI fantasy. Sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Genius set up, a tour where you walk through rooms and watch videos about the Loch. No staff costs, genius! Very interesting but would like to have actually seen the loch, it is nowhere near it! You have to drive some way to actually see the loch itself - we didn't see Nessie!

Thank Chesterfoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExhibitionDesigner, Designer at Loch Ness Centre & Exhibition, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for the five stars. Glad you liked the themed rooms and authentic exhibits as well as the videos. We are actually quite near to the loch. There is some difficulty getting down to the shore but you could consider a boat trip. You get taken by mini-bus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Visited the centre on the way to Glasgow with many stops on the way, loved all the information given and the exhibition was excellent, loved it so much that I got a tattoo of the Celtic Nessie they have on there wall and would come again

Thank Calvinatour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExhibitionDesigner, Designer at Loch Ness Centre & Exhibition, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for the five stars. As you have appreciated, we are not all science but make room for the legendary background as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Ness Centre & Exhibition also viewed

Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands
 
Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
 

Been to Loch Ness Centre & Exhibition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing