We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Urquhart Castle

Urquhart Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.11*
and up
Caledonian Canal and Loch Ness Sightseeing Cruise including Urquhart Castle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: An atmospheric ruin overlooking the dark waters of Loch Ness, this dramatic castle has a long and bloody history. Once one of Scotland's mightiest strongholds, Urquhart's strategic location gave it a key role in the Scottish battle for independence. It came under the control of Robert the Bruce before a 150-year power struggle between the Stewart dynasty and the MacDonald Lords of the Isles.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Awesome”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

One of the best ever ruins I have visited. The views of and from this castle are second to none. A great day out for everyone, be you a child, adolescent, couple or single.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SMcK67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,801
    1,072
    331
    104
    60
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“great views”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Well worth the visit, a good film show to start the tour detailing the history of the area and the castle. The views of the loch are stunning the walk round the old ramparts have information boards at various points giving additional info. There are free walking tours available inside. The café was very pleasant .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank bill n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Breath taking views”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

For £5.90 entrace fee I think this must be one of the cheapest castles i have found to visit. The lady on the check in desk was very helpful but a bit loud. I think she must have been excited to see people at this time of year. For the cost you get a little video and information boards. The ground is very well kept and its a joy to walk around. you get breat taking views of the loch which are not spoilt. Come here for your picture postcard photos.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“history is amazing”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This castle is so steeped in history it was brill. Watch the short film they show there also the view that follows is amazing. Really makes you wonder about the people that actually lived here amazing I think it cost us £15 for two of us well worth it .

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mel7873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, UK
Level Contributor
212 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Breathe taking!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is a must if you are visiting Loch Ness. We did a Jacobite Cruise with an hour visit to the Castle and I am so glad we did. The area is so beautiful and we got loads of amazing pictures. The Castle itself is full of history and a lovely place to visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jade2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urquhart Castle also viewed

Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands
 
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
Culloden Moor, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Urquhart Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing