We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathe taking!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Urquhart Castle

Urquhart Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.09*
and up
Caledonian Canal and Loch Ness Sightseeing Cruise including Urquhart Castle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: An atmospheric ruin overlooking the dark waters of Loch Ness, this dramatic castle has a long and bloody history. Once one of Scotland's mightiest strongholds, Urquhart's strategic location gave it a key role in the Scottish battle for independence. It came under the control of Robert the Bruce before a 150-year power struggle between the Stewart dynasty and the MacDonald Lords of the Isles.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Lancaster, UK
Level Contributor
209 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Breathe taking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is a must if you are visiting Loch Ness. We did a Jacobite Cruise with an hour visit to the Castle and I am so glad we did. The area is so beautiful and we got loads of amazing pictures. The Castle itself is full of history and a lovely place to visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jade2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,690
    1,025
    320
    103
    56
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A nice castle ruin on Loch Ness”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

So this castle is on the banks of Loch Ness. It was about £7 per adult. At the beginning of the tour there is a short video explaining the history of the castle which is informative. The ruins of the castle are well maintained and provides nice views of the loch

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dazedrobbio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great for photos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We got in free using our English Heritage passes so cant comment on the value for money. The day we went was a lovely bright sunny day (unusual for Feb so I'm told!). The film at the start is worth watching if not just for the end bit! My son (6) was given a question sheet to fill out so that kept him occupied whilst we walked round. The views of the Loch are beautiful and we took some great pictures. The staff were very friendly and we spent about an hour and a half there.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ljg1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Day Out from a Aviemore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Could not recommend a day at this castle more. Wonderfully evocative visit. Exhibition beautifully presented. Staff so friendly and helpful. Venue set in a stunning location with great views of the Loch and Great Glen.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Castle like”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

It is a lovely, well preserved castle with plenty of information boards about it's history. Beautiful picturesque scenes over the loch. There is plenty to see but it is just a castle ruin. It was a very hot day and only a rather warm cafe to try and cool off

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lizzyl1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urquhart Castle also viewed

Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands
 
Culloden Moor, Scottish Highlands
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
 

Been to Urquhart Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing