We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thanks Allan and Agnes Spence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Drumnadrochit Lodges
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“thanks Allan and Agnes Spence”
Reviewed March 1, 2011

High quality lodges,beautiful pinewood interior,2 bedrooms with double bed,1 room with 2 single beds,2 bathrooms(1 with shower,sink,toilet,2 bathtube,sink,toilet) livingroom with leather,reclinable sofas+ armchair also reclinable,tv set,cd player,dvd player,vcr.The kitchen it was brand new,equipped with quality appliances(washing mashine,dishwasher,freezer,fridge,microwave,toaster,oven cooking top).Kitchen is also well-equipped with ustensiles(spoons,forks,knives,teaspoons,can opener etc.) different size and shape plates,mugs,cups,goblets.glasses.And the wiew from the lodges is breathtaking.if you are looking for tranquility,good aer to breath ,amazing scenery then this is the right place.The village is fairly close with shops and restaurants,the Loch Ness,Urqhart castle,Fort Augustus and Inverness is not far either.And in the end but not for the last we would like to thank for the friendly,helpful and flexible attitude from Allan and Agnes Spence. We would recommend the Drumnadrochit Lodges whitout any hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZSOLT_NAGY2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
71
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2010

I spent three nights at the lodge, with my parents and my two young kids. The lodge we stayed in was very clean and tidy upon arrival, and the kitchen was very well equipped, providing just about everything we needed. For us this was very important, since we did a lot of cooking. Having recently stayed in other self-catering apartments, I must say that this one sets a very high standard.

The views and location were also great. I had no issue with the coin operated electricity supply, but for persons not from Europe, this could be an issue. Many would prefer to pay more per night and not have to worry about it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulhosein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2010

I have just returned from a long weekend at Drumnadrochit Lodges and I can say, without any doubt, that this is the best self-catering accommodation I have ever stayed in. It far exceeded my expectations - not just because of the amazing views, but because of the exceptionally warm reception we received from Allen, how well-equipped the lodge was and how quickly we felt at home. The lodge truly felt like a home from home and the children were at ease from the moment we arrived. As for the electricity charges mentioned in previous reviews, I would have to point out that this is made clear on the website before you book and that I did not find the electricity to be expensive at all. All in all, this was a wonderful holiday and certainly worth every penny and more. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this accommodation to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kthjwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

The lodge we stayed in was clean and fairly well equipped but watch out for the electricity charges (you will need to take masses of £1 coins). I'm sure in summer the lodges are fine but for the rest of the year they will remain cold unless you are willing to spend a fortune heating them.

The lodge we stayed in seemed to eat electricity and even simple measures such as energy saving light bulbs had not been taken. I understand that mains gas is not an option for heating but even then the electricity consumption seemed excessive. For example why is there an (ineffective) electric shower when the water heater has already done the hard work? To be honest we ended up using the bathroom as little as possible as it was permanently cold and damp; prefering where possible to use facilities elsewhere.

The linen was clean but the towels supplied were so thin as to be virtually useless. As such we ended up using our own towels that we had brought for our young son.

In the end this was my first experience of self catering accomodation I could not wait to leave.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahernafernah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllanSpence, Owner at Drumnadrochit Lodges, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
We have read your review with dismay and are sorry that your first experience of self catering did not come up to your expectations. We are also sorry that you did not feel able to make us aware of your opinions during your stay or on departure. Your meter box contained only £19 which for a week’s stay means that heating, cooking and lighting cost less than £3 a day – for perhaps only a little more you could have turned on the bathroom heater or heated towel rail so that it did not feel cold and damp – electricity always seems dearer when you pay as you go but on reflection I am sure that you will agree that the total power cost for a three bedroom 96 square metre lodge was not excessive – these lodges are fully insulated to permanent housing standards and are occupied comfortably all year round at temperatures going down to -18 degrees last winter – we used one of them as our home for six years so speak from personal experience. I am pleased that the facilities elsewhere i.e. the wash hand basins in every bedroom were found useful. I have also had the shower tested and it is considered fully effective and arguably can be more cost effective for guests since they do not need to heat a tank of water simply to have a shower. We are pleased that you approved of our linen but disappointed that the towels did not find favour – again if you had told us we could have changed them for another make. We are told that we cannot please all of the people all of the time but up to now we have come pretty near it but there is always an exception and we shall continue to strive to achieve our current success ratio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We couldn't have planned this trip any better. Allan and Agnes were wonderful hosts and the lodges, well, we had the premier lodge 3 overlooking Loch Ness and the view couldnt have been any more outstanding. The Loch looked different every day. The lodge was clean and very well equipped with whatever we needed.
We had an incident where one of us lost her passport and Allan took it upon himself to get us information on how to get a temporary one and helped in any way possible.
There is a unique pub down from the village called Poachers Inn where the owners and local patrons make you feel extremely welcomed and part of their family.
You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank booboo789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2010

The Lodges are well equipped with beautiful surroundings, Allan & Agnes, the proprietors are only too pleased to provide information/assistance a guest may wish for but at the same time they afford the guest all the privacy.

There is a lovely public house restaurant that serves excellent food and a service with smile.

It is a place one can go either as a tourist or to just relax and chill out and there are beautiful sites and places to visit like the battlefield of Culloden.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wita-bix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Couldn't have dreamed up a better stay. The weather was perfect, our host was discreetly available (and very thoughtful w/ the fresh flowers and milk in the fridge for our tea), the lodge was clean and warm with all amenities, view from every window was amazing. Planning a trip back during a different season for comparison.

Linda B - Paris, Texas

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaJBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
0.4 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
399 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ancarraig Lodges
Ancarraig Lodges
#1 of 1 in Bunloit
167 reviews
4.4 mi away
Highland Bear Lodge
Highland Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balnain
82 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lodges on Loch Ness
Lodges on Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Foyers
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drumnadrochit Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drumnadrochit Lodges

Property: Drumnadrochit Lodges
Address: Drumnadrochit Lodges Drumnadrochit Lodges Upper Achmony | By Loch Ness, Drumnadrochit IV63 6UX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us and enjoy the scenic beauty of the Loch Ness area. We are situated three miles from the village of Drumnadrochit, which is on the A82 on the west side of Loch Ness fourteen miles south of the city of Inverness. The village has several hotels and pubs, restaurants, shops, Post Office and Bank and is home to two Loch Ness Monster Exhibition Centres. Our lodges, to which many guests return time and time again, are in the countryside but convenient for the city "bright lights" so have something to offer all types of visitor. There are five spacious quality holiday lodges (graded Four Star Self-catering) set high on the hillside above Drumnadrochit and Loch Ness offering very comfortable accommodation for a refuge of peace and tranquillity or a convenient centre for touring, walking, cycling, bird watching, fishing, golfing or horse riding. Each substantially built lodge extends to 96 square metres and accommodates up to six guests as follows:- Type B Lodges - Nos 3,4 & 5 are situated near the top of the hill with patio doors looking out on spectacular views over Loch Ness. Premier Lodge No 3 is situated on the same site as Nos 4 & 5 but is apart from them with its own access and is separated from the others by trees and bushes. They all have 1 Twin Bedroom with wash hand basin, 2 Double Bedrooms, Bathroom, Shower-room with w.c., spacious lounge with TV etc, dining area and fully equipped kitchen including full cooker, washer/dryer, microwave, coffee maker, fridge, freezer and dishwasher. Type A Lodges - Nos 1 & 2 are on individual sites and have patio doors and windows looking out on the magnificent scenery of the surrounding countryside. They both have 1 Twin and 2 Double Bedrooms all with wash hand basins, Bathroom with shower over bath, spacious lounge with TV, dining area and kitchen with full cooker, washer/dryer, microwave, coffee maker,freezer, fridge and dishwasher. Bed Linen and Towels included. Cots and High Chairs available at no charge. No Smoking. No Pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Drumnadrochit Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drumnadrochit Lodges Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing