We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, relaxing stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Drumnadrochit Lodges
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed in Lodge 4 mid October for 4 nights. The lodge is set in an extremely peaceful setting with beautiful views of the Loch. Lodge 3 does have a slightly better view and we will be requesting this lodge on our next visit!!
The lodge has everything you could possibly need...a real home from home. A few people have complained about the electricity meter which needs topping up with £1 coins but we found this no hassle at all and only topped it up with about £8 over the 4 days and we constantly had the heaters on!
The only negative I can think of is the shower, it lacks any kind of power and takes a while to find the right temperature to suit your needs. I understand this is only a minor annoyance and was satisfied with a lovely peaceful bath instead!
It is in a very central location to allow day trips out and is ideal for families who because of having young children have to stay indoors on an evening! My partner especially enjoyed the reclining sofas......an absolutely luxurious experience after a day walking around all the sights!
Overall we would highly recommend the lodges if you are wanting to explore Loch Ness with having somewhere relaxing to stay as your base!

Thanks,
Katie, Craig and Ava

Room Tip: Lodge 3 has the best views and is more private than Lodges 4 and 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatieCraigAva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed in lodge 4 for three nights in Oct and were pleased with the accommodation. The lodge was warm and kept its heat very well which meant we did not need to put many pound coins in the meter (this process is a bit of nuisance however).

The lodge was spotlessly clean and the kitchen well equipped and there are great views over to Loch Ness. This lodge is located right next to no. 5 which was vacant during our stay. However, if guests want to ensure more privacy I would opt for lodge 3 which is located on its own (this one costs a bit more though)

Allan was very helpful in showing us round and checking everything was ok during our stay.

The path up to the lodges is very steep and while it was no problem during our stay, guests should bear in mind that 2-wheel drive vehicles are unlikely to cope with this in wintry weather.

One small annoyance was the shower which seriously lacked pressure. This may be unavoidable due to the way the lodge is configured but may begin to grate after a week - especially if coming home muddy after enjoying the great outdoors!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JockEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

I must say that we were lucky to have discovered Drumandrochit lodges and got the booking as well at just the last minute. This feeling of staying at the lodge for 3 nights was absolutely fabulous. Fanastic views over Loch Ness, awesome sunerise, fresh air, peace, wildlife,.. It was just the perfect get away from the busy city life. Allan was a great host and made sure that we all had a comforable stay. The standards set up by the Lodges are very high and the most impressive thing was the wooden interior that gives the perfect feeling of staying in tranquil environment surrounded by the best that nature has to offer. It is a great central base to explore scotland and we will definitely be back to Lodge number 5 to stay for a longer period of time. A perfect retreat in Scotland. We could not have asked for more. And yes.. being from Shimla (famous hill station) in India it reminded me so much of that place. Its been years that I have been to Shimla so staying at Drumnadrochit lodges made me feel like home away from home.!!!!

Anurag and Gan
(who set foot on Drumnadrochit Lodges in September 2011)

Room Tip: Lodge 5 give perfect views over Loch Ness
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anurag A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

This was our fourth visit and we stayed in lodge No.3. Allan & Agnes always make you feel really welcome. The lodge is fitted out to a very high standard and has everything you will need, even down to a pint of milk in the fridge when you arrive for a cup of tea. The best thing about Drumnadrochit Lodges though is the peace and tranquillity. If you want somewhere to really get away from it all then you'll struggle to find anywhere better. The view from the lodge over the loch and to the mountains beyond is stunning. There is so much wildlife around the hillside everything from bank voles and slow worms to deer and red kites soaring overhead. The real stars though are the pine martens, their daily visits we're just magic. Put out bird food and some peanut butter and the birds and other animals will come. Overall this is a fantastic place for a relaxing break and a great base to explore the Highlands. We will definitely be visiting again.

Room Tip: Lodge No3 is on it's own and has a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkJuneKeriSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

This was our second trip to Drumnadrochit Lodges, and we would recommend them most highly. Alan and Agnes make sure you are settled and comfortable, and have a rolling programme of maintenance and upgrading, so the lodges are comfortable and furnished to a high standard.

The setting is amazing, near the top of a tree-covered hill, with the lodges set amongst the trees, with four of the five lodges having views over the glens (with Loch Ness in The Great Glen). Its a haven for wildlfe, and we had deer grazing outside the livingroom window in the early morning, buzzards soaring over the hilltop, and even a hen harrier gliding on the updraughts. The garden is full of birdlife, including woodpeckers.

The surrounding area has something for everyone, cruises on Loch Ness, woodland walks in Drumnadrochit, forest trails for hiking and cycling in Glen Urquhart and Glen Affric, and as much hill (ie. mountain) walking as you could wish for.

We will certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_G525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed in number 3 with our parents and 2 children and found the lodge comfortable and spacious for our needs. It was nice to spread out after a couple of weeks in hotels. The view was amazing, Allan was a very kind host and introduced us to the little " Pine Martens" that our children sat around quietly each night desperate to see. So that we knew what we were looking for, Allan even came back with a few photos for us. We loved reading through the journal full of great ideas of things to do from previous guests. We were glad we paid the little bit extra for our superb view, it was worth every cent. Our sons picked rasberries and explored our little patch of paradise. We were very sad to say good bye to our wee lodge in the highlands!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petrice99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duisburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

We hesitated a long time to give a statement about the Drumnadrochit Lodges because when we tell anybody that these lodges provide a wonderful stay with all comfort you need to forget the normal course of life in between a terrific environment then this guy will also try this resting place high above the banks of Loch Ness ... ;-) But this behaviour would not not be fair against Allan and Agnes, two wondeful and very acommodating people, and so we will try to describe our residence in Alba's paradise:
+ calm location with beautiful views and wonderful native inhabitants (-> wildlife: hares, woodpecker, does, bats and of course sheeps ... and perhaps Nessie;-)
+ Agnes and Allan: very friendly and obliging
+ the furniture is very comfortable - you will not miss anything
+ when we arrived, everything was very clean ... unfortunately our little son changed this point;-))
+ for Germans (- we are such ones -) it was a new and little bit strange experience to have carpets in the bathrooms and the kitchen; but fot the feet this a real pleasure!
+ the kitchen contains everything and more we needed
++/- the "eletric thing/box/counter" however the box, that takes the Pound coins is called;-)) was strange in the first moment but not a problem and very fair to handle our usage
+ we enjoyed our stay and will come back ... that is a promise, not a menace;-)

Thank you very much,
Allan and Agnes!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamRob2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
0.4 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
3.7 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
15.0 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ancarraig Lodges
Ancarraig Lodges
#1 of 1 in Bunloit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
4.4 mi away
Highland Bear Lodge
Highland Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balnain
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lodges on Loch Ness
Lodges on Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Foyers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drumnadrochit Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drumnadrochit Lodges

Property: Drumnadrochit Lodges
Address: Drumnadrochit Lodges Drumnadrochit Lodges Upper Achmony | By Loch Ness, Drumnadrochit IV63 6UX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us and enjoy the scenic beauty of the Loch Ness area. We are situated three miles from the village of Drumnadrochit, which is on the A82 on the west side of Loch Ness fourteen miles south of the city of Inverness. The village has several hotels and pubs, restaurants, shops, Post Office and Bank and is home to two Loch Ness Monster Exhibition Centres. Our lodges, to which many guests return time and time again, are in the countryside but convenient for the city "bright lights" so have something to offer all types of visitor. There are five spacious quality holiday lodges (graded Four Star Self-catering) set high on the hillside above Drumnadrochit and Loch Ness offering very comfortable accommodation for a refuge of peace and tranquillity or a convenient centre for touring, walking, cycling, bird watching, fishing, golfing or horse riding. Each substantially built lodge extends to 96 square metres and accommodates up to six guests as follows:- Type B Lodges - Nos 3,4 & 5 are situated near the top of the hill with patio doors looking out on spectacular views over Loch Ness. Premier Lodge No 3 is situated on the same site as Nos 4 & 5 but is apart from them with its own access and is separated from the others by trees and bushes. They all have 1 Twin Bedroom with wash hand basin, 2 Double Bedrooms, Bathroom, Shower-room with w.c., spacious lounge with TV etc, dining area and fully equipped kitchen including full cooker, washer/dryer, microwave, coffee maker, fridge, freezer and dishwasher. Type A Lodges - Nos 1 & 2 are on individual sites and have patio doors and windows looking out on the magnificent scenery of the surrounding countryside. They both have 1 Twin and 2 Double Bedrooms all with wash hand basins, Bathroom with shower over bath, spacious lounge with TV, dining area and kitchen with full cooker, washer/dryer, microwave, coffee maker,freezer, fridge and dishwasher. Bed Linen and Towels included. Cots and High Chairs available at no charge. No Smoking. No Pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Drumnadrochit Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drumnadrochit Lodges Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing