We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fandabbydozzy”
Review of Kylesku Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kylesku
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kylesku Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kylesku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Another warm welcome from a lovely friendly hotel.
Fantastic staff and owners.
Can't wait to get back missing manuell!
Doesn't matter if raining. Beer, food, scenery and atmosphere make it all worthwhile!!
Big shout out to Tanja, Sonia, Joe, Jay, Heather, Carlie, Denise, Mark, Orshi and Amy.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank 1105pah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear 1105pah,
It was great to see you both again recently, and I'm really pleased you had such a lovely stay. We're all very much looking forward to seeing you again this summer, and looking forward to more fun and frolics!!
See you very soon,
Kind regards
Tanja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 609 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay at this wonderful hotel with our labradors Brewster and Rebus. All the staff are really welcoming to their two and four legged guests. The food is delicious and a good vegetarian menu is available if required. The accomodation is excellent and the views are incredible.One member of our party was celebrating her birthday and the birthday cake made by the hotel was the best ever. A big thank you to everyone at the Kylesku hotel for such a wonderful two days. We hope to see you all again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the loch are more expensive but well worth it for the view also the annexe with loch v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claychalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Claychalk,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. What great feedback for our whole team. I'm delighted you and your friends enjoyed your recent stay so much- and of course Brewster and Rebus!
We hope you will come and visit us again soon,
kind regards
Tanja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

What a gem of a place this is.

The staff were brilliant, Sonja French owner was lovely and friendly.
All the staff would ask you waht you had done that day, what plans had you for the next.

Room with a view!!! The loch facing rooms are great and worth the extra for the view.

The food was brilliant, well cooked and very well presented. The selection of local beer was good and well worth trying.

The sleep was excellent, it was so so quiet!!!.

The breakfast!!! Well it was delicious. Home made tattie scones and homemade lorne sausage. the pancakes that my Wife had were deloicious as well and made a change fro her from eating a cooked breakfast.

This place is well recommended and will stay again when we come back up to this area again

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rovership
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Rovership,
Thank you for this most fantastic review. It's great to know that you enjoyed your stay so much. We think this is a very special place to be, and delight in helping other people discover it too.
Great views, countryside, fantastic produce and fun people. This all makes it a very inspiring place to work and visit.
We very much look forward to welcoming you and your wife back,
kind regards
Tanja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed with friends at the beginning of November and cannot fault this hotel in any way. The owners ,staff, fellow guests and local people were sooooo friendly. Beautiful location overlooking the loch. Food was very good. Cannot wait to go again

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear John,
Thank you for your review- this feedback is great for us. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with your friends. I love the autumn up here- very special. I do hope you come and visit us again soon,
Kind regards
Tanja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This hotel is a bit of a treat for us. We stay in Assynt every year and having a meal here has become an anticipated highlight. The location is hard to beat and there is always a warm welcome from the owners who are always visible and go out of their way to make you feel welcome.
This year (2013) we have eaten at the Kylesku Hotel twice (March and October). The food has always been very tasty and beautifully prepared, making the most of locally sourced ingredients, especially fish/shellfish. On our early visit we chose the tapas of 7 fish dishes, the portions were small but very individual and creative – the kitchen team clearly have a passion for food!. My other half just loves their Cullen Skink and King Scallops while I can recommend the Beer Batter Haddock and Calamari. The wine list is quite extensive and good value considering the remote location of the hotel. Our meal of 2 starters, 2 mains, a side portion of chips, a bottle of wine (we splashed out on this a bit) and coffee in October came to £82- not unreasonable and well worth it as a treat.
Whether you are planning a stay and/or a meal be aware that currently the hotel closes over winter from end October/first week in November to the beginning March, although Tanja was telling us that following some planned refurbishment they hope to be able to extend their season further into the winter in future.
We are already looking forward to our return visit next year and this time I’ll remember to email you beforehand about the possibility of sea urchins!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HeatherC064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear HeatherC064,

Thank you for your kind comments and your continuous support.
You are right in saying that this part of the world is full of surprises. The landscape, the fresh shellfish landed on our doorstep and all the fabulous local produce are all very inspiring. My kitchen team is all about the respect for the produce but also enjoying ourselves with it and creating dishes which represent this feeling.
The wine list is always evolving and we are planing to update it again for the 2014 season.
We are indeed planning some major works for the Kylesku Hotel with the view of opening a little longer in the near future.
We look forward to hearing from you regarding the Urchins.

Kind regards
Sonia VIrechauveix
Chef & Owner, Kylesku Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just returned from our fourth visit to Kylesku. The term beloved of estate agents " stunning location , early viewing essential" just doesn't beginning to describe this gem , tucked away in perhaps the most beautiful scenery in the West Highlands, the location is not just beautiful but has a languid tranquility that make it very special . While the hotel itself , is in many respects modest, it is comfortable and welcoming. Guests are made to feel genuinely welcome by the owners Tanja and Sonia . Nothing's too much trouble and their staff are attentive and polite. The food while not inexpensive is first class and is all locally sourced and freshly cooked. The only downside is its popularity which makes booking rooms at short notice challenging . Very highly recommended .

Room Tip: Make sure you book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Frank,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I'm so pleased you both enjoyed your recent return visit to the hotel.
I hope you have a great winter, and we very much hope to welcome you both back in the new year,
kind regards
Tanja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

A fantastic hotel. Warm, friendly welcome and thoroughly helpful team of staff. Our room was large with contemporary furnishings and a large bed (specifically booked a room with a bigger bed). The room was fresh and clean with white bedding and towels.

Food was local and lovely and there was even a specific gluten free menu, only one we came across on our travels around 6 hotels in Scotland!!

The hotel is in a lovely scenic location! Next to the slip way into the sea loch, we were too late in the year for the boat trip. It is well located to visit several places on the west / north coast.

We were only here for one night, but plan to be back for longer. Thoroughly recommend this hotel (this is the first time I've felt compelled to write a review it was great).

Room Tip: Bedroom views of the loch are a bonus, but the bar, restaurant and cosy sitting room (with log burne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KyleskuHotel, Owner at Kylesku Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear Jennifer,
I'm delighted that you enjoyed your recent brief stay with us. I'm pleased too, that you like the decor of the rooms- we have been upgrading these over the past 2 winters.
As for the gluten free menu- you're very welcome! To be honest many of our dishes are easily 'tweaked' so that they can be gluten free, and as we prepare all our dishes from fresh ingredients it's straightforward to be able to make something special.
We hope to welcome you back soon,
kind regards
Tanja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kylesku
10.8 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
405 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Drumbeg Hotel
The Drumbeg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumbeg
89 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Overscaig House Hotel
10.9 mi away
Davar Guest House
Davar Guest House
#1 of 11 in Lochinver
259 reviews
13.4 mi away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kylesku Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kylesku Hotel

Address: Kylesku, Kylesku IV27 4HW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Kylesku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kylesku
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kylesku Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome in the heart of real Highland wilderness. Kylesku is a delightfully peaceful village on the shores of two large sea-lochs, Loch Glendhu & Loch Glencoul. Set in the heart of real Highland wilderness, it makes a perfect base for exploring Sutherland and North West Scotland.The Kylesku Hotel itself is an old coaching inn dating from 1680, and is situated by the former ferry slipway on the shores of the loch. The hotel, bar and restaurant are open to residents & non-residents alike. It is an independently run small hotel with current owners Tanja Lister & Sonia Virechauveix eager to provide a warm welcome.The views from the hotel overlooking the loch and the local mountains are awesome with the bar, restaurant & lounge providing a perfect vantage point for overseeing the local wildlife - an abundance of seals, red deer and birds, or even our more elusive neighbour, the local otter.We are passionate about food, and with local fishing boats landing daily in Kylesku, seafood is a speciality. Fresh langoustines, lobsters, spineys, crabs, mussels and haddock are available, alongside quality meat & game. We also offer a choice of vegetarian options, all of which can be washed down with wide selection of wines, beers & malt whiskies. We are proud to be included in the 2012 Michelin Guide to Eating in Pubs. Our aim is simple: to tempt you with the freshest, local, quality food, in welcoming, friendly and comfortable surroundings. We hope our wealth of local knowledge will help you to get the most out of your stay here. There is something for everyone, be it walking, climbing, fishing, wildlife watching or simply combing the many deserted white sandy beaches of the North West Coast. We are happy to help you to plan your itineraries whether by car, on foot or pedal power.Our hotel is also featured in the 2012 Good Hotel Guide and in Claire MacDonald’s famous recipe book Scottish Highland Hospitality, where she states that “Kylesku Hotel combines everything I consider to be essential for a visitor to the Highlands - comfort, really good food in an old hotel with all the present-day amenities, and truly spectacular scenery wherever you look.” ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kylesku Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing