We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we needed”
Review of Golf Links Hotel

Golf Links Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Golspie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golf Links Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Golspie
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed in September 2011 with our 11 month old daughter. We were taken to view the room before we stayed to make sure our travel cot would fit. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The evening meal, was dissapointing, but the breakfast was lovely. The owner has a vast DVD collection which he allows you to select from and take to your room, something i havent come accross before but a nice personal touch! The Hotel is in a great location right on the beach so be sure to take a gander.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJohnSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Golf Links Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 55 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2011

Very disappointing, great location and views and very clean, but the room was cold the one small radiator in the room was ineffectual and only every luke warm. The water pressure was very low and it barely trickled from the shower. Breakfast was ok but the evening meal menu was straight from plastic bags from the freezer - poor quality. Did mention the problems with the room on checkout - they were obviously aware of them - to add insult to injury an extra £3.92 was added to the bill because we paid by debit card! At a total of £134.67 we ended up feeling like we'd been mugged! This was by far the most expensive B&B that we stayed in during our trip and we stayed in some really lovely hotels, had great fresh food and warmth!

Room Tip: Don't choose no 17
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jb54_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Room okay, but hotel lacks Highland hospitality. Food from microwave., poor menu and bar over priced. Would not go back

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Pleasant, friendly welcome on arrival. Room was comfy and a good size with clean bathroom. Location is fantastic for a walk along the shore. Great sitting room also offers a brilliant view of the sea.
Breakfast was good but dinner was usually re-heated frozen food. Vegetables in particular could have been much better. Stay in the hotel but eat elsewhere!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front to get the best view of the sea
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wl3687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We could not reach Brora, on the East Coast of Sutherland, so we stopped en route and by chance found this little and cosy hotel, in an otherwise quite grim village.

Tha Hotel is clean and beautifully located by the sea. It has its own parking plus plenty of places just accross the road. THe room was correct, quite modern and well equipped. It overlooked a rear garden, very quiet. The special feature: bedside lamps that switch on/off with a touch on the base: quite a treat.

Dinner on the other hand was not very good, especially for its price. Risotto was floating in different vegs and a lake of tomato sauce and the chicken breast was incredibly pale (undercooked). But the restaurant room is indeed very pleasant and quite large. Tables are surprisingly large, which makes it pleasant to eat on.

Would recommend for a short stop en route to other parts of Scotland.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deomon57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This hotel is better than some supposedly "high class" hotels and the rates are good. Our room was very clean and well appointed. There was a good choice of tea, coffee, etc. in the room and there was even an electric blanket provided. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth1096493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

we stayed one night last week, lovely setting by the shore. Room was clean and comfortable . Lounge spacious and lots of books to borrow, as well as usual TV and a bar with an outstanding range of Malt Whisky. Breakfast was fine. Conveniently placed if travelling further North. Recommended

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_ClarkPortishead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golspie
5.4 mi away
Sutherland Inn Hotel
6.4 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
469 reviews
5.7 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
212 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
198 reviews
6.5 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf Links Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Links Hotel

Address: Church Street, Golspie KW10 6TT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Golspie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Golspie
Price Range: $88 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly hotel situated on the sea front with stunning views all 9 rooms are en-suite with tea coffee, tv, dvd, hair drier, we have a lounge bar with over 160 malts and good beers a residents lounge plenty of parking and a large garden if it is relaxation your after this is the place. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golf Links Hotel Golspie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing