We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely - and individualistic - place...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blar Mhor B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golspie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blar Mhor B&B
Ranked #1 of 9 Golspie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Lovely - and individualistic - place...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The house and gardens are every bit as charming as the website suggests, if not more so. Geordie and Irene are very welcoming hosts, and the whole house is beautifully and immaculately decorated. The windows are sparklingly clean and fresh cut flowers in strategic places waft a subtle fragrance around communal areas. The decor is quite individualistic, and manages to stay just within the realms of good taste.

Facilities were provided very well - this place holds the record for me of the number of additional pillows and cushions and pillows in the bedroom. My only suggestions would be to supply a toilet brush in the bathroom, and to fit curtains rather than a flimsy blind in the bedroom, as the sun shines through brightly in the morning.

Geordie explained the place had grown up in rather an ad-hoc manner over the years. This could explain the charming individuality, It might also explain the rather cramped arrangements for breakfast, with guests squeezed into the same room where the cooking was going on. Not really a problem, as it was a bright pleasant room, but I did wonder why the radio needed to be on - adding to the sound level, when it was already quite noisy due to a boisterous family taking breakfast that morning.

Overall, a very nice stay in an attractive and welcoming environment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hwylasbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    16
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
39
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nijkerk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

All in all a great stay.

Phoned the owner and obtained a room at the last minute.

Very friendly people and fantastic clean and spacious room. Views from room were great.

Owners referred us to a place for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alberthofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed here for one night with some American friends. What a great place, set back from the road and on the edge of town so a very quite location. Lovely house, luxury rooms, a really good breakfast and a lovely couple who run it. What more could anyone ask for?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have stayed here with two friend during a road trip in Scotland.
We have called the same day to book a room for three and, luckily, we have found one.
The owners have been really kind with us, waiting for our late arrival and reserved us a great place to stay. Rooms are really big, luxury furnished, clean and comfortable. We have head a problem with the shower since it was quite hard to have a stable warm temperature but it was not a big deal.
The building is really nice and it gives you the real taste of living in Scotland! Breakfast was good as well and we have had a really pleasant chat with the owners, who were so friendly and kind.
I definitely suggest this hotel is you plan to stop in this area during your trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HenriK84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very modern, clean, and freindly. Breakfast cooked well. Free wifi in all rooms. Comfy beds.and ver reasonable priced. Have stayed here twice now and love it one of the best B&Bs I have ever stayed inn.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmungall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We only had one night at Blar Mhor, but we enjoyed our stay there. Our room was clean, the beds comfortable, the breakfast was good (how nice to be offered strawberries to accompany your cereal!) and our hosts were most friendly and helpful. The B&B is set very well back off the main road, so traffic noise is not a problem at all and there is an attractive approach drive to the house. There are two or three local places in the village where you can get dinner. Altogether very satisfactory, and would be a good base if you were staying for longer in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary19scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed here on my Land's End to John o'Groats cycling trip. I got a warm welcome and my bike was safely stored. The single room was clean and tidy with tea and coffee making facilities but all a bit dated, and the en-suite shower room was somewhat sad looking and also in need of renovation and updating. The only positive thing was that there was an excellent shower, which looked new.
I can't comment on the breakfast as I left early, cereals and toast having been left out for me to help myself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrbasstrombone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golspie
6.0 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
6.5 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sutherland Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
6.5 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blar Mhor B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blar Mhor B&B

Property: Blar Mhor B&B
Address: Blar Mhor Drummuie Road, Golspie KW10 6SY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Golspie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Golspie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Blar Mhor B&B Golspie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing