We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boo tee full”
Review of Mackay's Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mackay's Rooms
Ranked #1 of 12 Durness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived at Durness on a dull wet autumn afternoon. A lovely little hamlet with the handsome Mackay's sitting in the heart.
In beautiful inside matched the handsome outside.
The room was lovely the owners and staff were so welcoming and the breakfast was very tasty. Being a coffee lover had to say 10 out of 10 for the coffee.
My other half was a bit concerned about the glass door on the toilet but I found it amusing.
Thank you for having us.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluff28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 409 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

This was a lovely boutique hotel, a very warm welcome from Fiona and all the staff very accommodating. Rooms were lovely, had a great nights sleep, food was delicious. Drinks were a bit overpriced but overall I would highly recommend a night here.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regularslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We turned up in Durness with nowhere to stay,and were lucky enough to find a family room for 3 of us at MacKay's.

This was an unexpectedly fantastic boutique hotel, with a warm and cosy atmosphere. The rooms were lovely and comfortable,and the fresh scones for breakfast were a treat.

We dined at the hotel in the evening,and when I explained that I wasn't feeling well,the waitress was very helpful when I ordered slightly off menu. My 2 friends very much enjoyed their meals.

This was a lovely find,and the owner clearly took great pride in her hotel. We will definitely try and return.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeeperLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

MacKay's is an awesome place to stay with fabuolous clean and well laid out rooms. The restaurant is very good, the food, the choice and the qualkity is outstanding. Really enjoyed the stay and would recommend to others. After driving up the West Coast and thorugh areas of oustanding beauty this is the cherry on the top.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brotherbill99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in July. It's a lovely hotel, beautifully and tastefully decorated to a very high standard. The welcome and service are second to none. We dined both nights in the restaurant (make sure you book) and had two absolutely fantastic meals. I read a review elsewhere claiming that the restaurant prices were way too high, but in my book they are spot on considering the excellent quality of the food. I had scallops and black pudding starters both evenings, and each was wonderful, yet totally different - we mentioned this to the waitress, and the chef took the trouble to convey his thanks (and pleasure) that we had enjoyed the dishes so much. If you are planning on staying here, note that the rooms are very pricey, and whilst of a very high standard, the sound insulation does leave something to be desired (considering the price).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stopped only for a casual breakfast, but were wowed by the place, the staff and the quality of the food! There is a relaxed ambience conducive to holiday enjoyment, created by quality décor and furnishings that reflect the best of the area, as well as personal touches, such as old family photos showing how Mackays has adapted its business as requirements have changed. Staff have time to chat, and make customers feel special, and the product- the food was the best the area could offer- who could ask for more? Service excellence is my area of business consultancy, and these guys know what they are doing- well done them!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ModernPeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights here. Would not fault the food and service and staff very welcoming. Room was good with one or 2 niggles:no plug near enough to mirror for drying hair! Fantastic wet room but extractor took forever to clear steam and mirror in there . No shower cap or cotton wool and a cheap cardboard box of tissues which detracted from the overall effect.We were apparently in a upmarket room (room 1) as it has a view. The view is over a public car park and houses as the hotel is located on a corner on the main road through Durness-which admittedly is not busy. There was a sitting room but this was small and dark provides access for the bedrooms upstairs.There is a small conservatory room adjacent but this has very little seating.Thankfully we had lovely weather and were out for long days.Whilst on holiday in Scotland we also stayed in 2 B&B s which were far superior in their finishing touches .Durness is definitely in the wild (and very beautiful) north and there is limited accommodation on offer. Mackays would not be our first choice if we return to this part of the world.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tair50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durness
19.1 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
346 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
367 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Durness Smoo Youth Hostel
19.7 mi away
Farr Bay Inn
Farr Bay Inn
#2 of 3 in Bettyhill
77 reviews
19.4 mi away
Farr Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackay's Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackay's Rooms

Address: Durness IV27 4PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Durness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Durness
Hotel Class:4 star — Mackay's Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mackay’s Rooms is one of those rare finds one makes or hears about very occasionally. Located in the rugged and spectacular scenery of Durness, Mackay’s is a truly luxurious individually styled B&B where guests can come to escape from the stresses of daily life. Guests who stay here have an opportunity to experience Scotland’s real untamed natural environment in the comfort of world class accommodation- modern highland chic! A warm welcome from Robbie and Fiona Mackay, their family and friendly staff awaits all visitors to their highland retreat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mackays Rooms Hotel
Mackays Rooms Durness
Mackay's Rooms Durness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing