We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”
Review of Mackay's Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mackay's Rooms
Ranked #1 of 11 Durness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is a lovely boutique hotel which is far superior to how it's title sounds. Delightful and spacious room ( No 4), spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable, and with the crispest of sheets.

The interior design of the hotel is superb and with a colour scheme that reflects the feel of the surrounding countryside. The attention to detail all over is superb.

Excellent breakfast, friendly staff, and overall an excellent place to stop over and reflect on the beauty of this part of Scotland. Good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    71
    19
    13
    1
See reviews for
51
260
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

If you are looking for a stylish hotel, comfort and fine dining then this hotel is well worth paying for. It seems extraordinary to find this level of quality at the furthest corner of Scotland and at the end of winding single track roads.

We stayed here overnight about 10 years ago and always said we would return, so planned a longer stay this time. It was even better than before - friendly welcome, log fire (in May!), big sofas, huge bed in our room and wonderful fabrics everywhere. We were very sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a 6 ft bed, and windows of three sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingstonKatharine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiona m, Owner at Mackay's Rooms, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank-You, Thank-You, Thank-You for taking the time to write such a fantastic revew. We look foward to having you back to stay soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We were staying nearby in campervans so it was great to come to the restaurant here for a posh meal to finish our holiday. The warm fire was very welcome as it was very cold with a north wind outside. Pre dinner drinks warmed us up then we all had the fantastic lamb main course washed down with the delicious Malbec. The rhubarb panacotta was highly recommended by my friends too. My cheese was delicious. Expensive for the area at 187 for four people. Shame non residents can't have coffee in the sitting room after dinner too.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank minikitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

A fabulous small hotel. Very friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. Very good sized room, well appointed and comfortable. Great 9 hole Golf course nearby, well worth the visit with it's beautiful views. Eating was a pleasure at this hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We brought my father here as part of our Mackay heritage tour, and we could not fault it. The living and sitting rooms were gorgeous and welcoming (especially with the amazingly good gin and tonic quickly handed to us) and the rooms were large and unique. The bed was amazing!
Thankyou to all the wonderful staff for making my father's milestone birthday so memorable!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyL_e_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

An outstanding roadtrip lucky find after a late cancellation. A fresh modern idiom pervades in this relaxed and friendly yet very efficient boutique restaurant with rooms. Great bedroom (No 1) with modern bathroom more redolent of the type found in Covent Garden - Elmis products homemade shortbread and an ipod and dock in the room. The food is well sourced and executed with modern presentation. Dinner and breakfast both of high standard with a perfectly served espresso. It's great to see that the owner/host and her staff are blazing a trail away from the tartan cliche and they deserve the patronage of a new generation who are inspired to travel to this magnificent area.
Andrew Carnes

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

After a four hour hike, this was a very appealing place to walk into. The restaurant opens at 12:00... So no early morning breakfast. The soup was amazing, and just what I needed to warm up. The chicken baquette was a healthy and tasty sandwich, followed with Scottish Pancakes. Everything was delicious! The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Rbingrbong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durness
13.5 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
337 reviews
19.1 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
310 reviews
13.3 mi away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
352 reviews
0.9 mi away
Durness Smoo Youth Hostel
19.7 mi away
Farr Bay Inn
Farr Bay Inn
#2 of 3 in Bettyhill
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackay's Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackay's Rooms

Property: Mackay's Rooms
Address: Durness IV27 4PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Durness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Durness
Hotel Class:4 star — Mackay's Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mackay’s Rooms is one of those rare finds one makes or hears about very occasionally. Located in the rugged and spectacular scenery of Durness, Mackay’s is a truly luxurious individually styled B&B where guests can come to escape from the stresses of daily life. Guests who stay here have an opportunity to experience Scotland’s real untamed natural environment in the comfort of world class accommodation- modern highland chic! A warm welcome from Robbie and Fiona Mackay, their family and friendly staff awaits all visitors to their highland retreat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mackays Rooms Hotel
Mackays Rooms Durness
Mackay's Rooms Durness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing