We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of luxury in the Highlands”
Review of Mackay's Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mackay's Rooms
Ranked #1 of 11 Durness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A touch of luxury in the Highlands”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Everything throughout the hotel oozed class. From the rooms with the wet rooms, smart toiletries and huge beds, to the snugest lounge and welcoming fire to the amazing food , everything was faultless.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stickyweeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    71
    19
    13
    1
See reviews for
51
260
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Logan City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

A very nice and clean room with very good quality fittings but rather small for the price - no desk and chair which we always appreciate. We felt well cared for and breakfast was good. However, when we went to make a cup of tea in the room, the only power point was near the floor - so struggled to make it on my haunches and also to organise charging of various techy stuff. Altogether, very nice but we consider it overpriced for what we received.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JoanSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

four of us stayed a couple of weeks ago for 2 nights , the stair case light bust for 2 days very dangerous , I told reception twice , our Venison was as tough as boots two of us couldnt eat it , we returned the meal un eaten to kitchen no offer to replace or credit or apology, and end the visit to charge a £3.00 credit card charge on a bill just short of a £1,000.00 was nonsence only one who did this on our 14 days in Scotland, staff super , very comfy bed & nice room no 4 if I remember , out the back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiltern Hills UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

if you want to go to the 'back of beyond' [which many, including us do] then this appears to be the only place of quality to stay. Set right in the centre of the small village it's a really nice place with excellent helpfull and jolly staff and an eclectic guests profile. Decor unusual but cosy [dark] and everything to the highest quality and specification.

Would have had !00% marks except for 3 significant points - pork and venison [locally sourced we were advised] so tough we [4 of us for 2 nights/meals] complained, but no appology, explanation nor allowance on bill offered.

Light over very dark and steep stairwell broken, but despite asking for rectification, still out for our 3 days there - take a torch

To charge £3 for use of credit card on a bill of £600+ is petty

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FussyfromTurnipEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is an extraordinary find amid the wildness of northern Scotland. With beautiful surroundings, and only a few steps to the sea, the hotel, its cottages, the isolated certified "green" Croft 103, and the low-cost "Bunkhouse" for hikers, cyclists, etc, represent a perfect base for exciting fishing and to see the many sites in the area. We stayed in the self-catering cottage, looking out to the ocean, just up the hill from the hotel: it is very sylishly decorated, and the sleek kitchen contains everything you might need for a week's stay. A well-equipped village market is also just down the hill, and has a good selection of dry ingredients, vegetables, and wine. The hotel will order any fish or meats you require.

The hotel rooms are lovely with serene color schemes (each is different), cushy beds, and luxe bathrooms. The restaurant is a gourmet paradise, with an accomplished chef, Sharon, and the some quite attractive servers - ours was called Katrina - who turned out to be the owner's sister. She was so fantastic we tried to take her home with us!

The cottage's three bedrooms are outfitted with comfy beds, plenty of pillows of varying firmness for every taste. Each has a flat-screen TV as does the living area. The hotel also provides WI-FI.

On our Scottish journey, we stayed in several high-end hotels in the cities, full of chic, pretentious staff and guests. Nothing could compare to Mackay's, the facilities, staff, and most of all, the owners, Fiona and Robbie Mackay. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephine8647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Another Hotel on our "worldtour of Scotland" experience, buiding of excellent quality and style.
Stylish but very welcoming.
Room 6 small but exeptionally clean, and well funrished, an excellent bed, and a shower do die for, especially after all the dissapointing experiences in other hotels during our 1,000 mile trip.
Free wifi, fantastic restaurant, with local produce, and can reccoment the lobster.
Excellent breakfast and real coffee.

Service was second to none.
Will visit again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riemert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Mackays offered welcome warmth away from a pretty stormy afternoon in the far north of Scotland. We had been there for dinner once during a camping trip at nearby Sango Sands and vowed to treat ourselves to a proper stay. So, for our 5th wedding anniversary, Mackays it was. An e-mail enquiry, followed by a phone call, assured us that our dog would be welcome at a small additional charge. A tiny word of warning here - you are discouraged from taking your pet out for an airing via the sitting room area and front door except early in the morning or late at night. There is a policy, the terms of which we were never informed about before being given short shrift...This is in case of other guests with pet allergies, apparently. If there is such concern over this issue, perhaps pets should NOT be welcomed - can you guarantee that the rooms will be free of pet hair etc? Besides, there seems to be a resident, rather large golden retreiver.
Anyway, apart from this slight discomfiture, the room was tastefully and comfortably furnished. The dinner was splendid, despite a fellow guest giving everyone in the room the benefit of his experience - but he wasn't Mackay's fault! Having dinner in the double glazed warmth while the wind and rain lashed outside was brilliant. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious.
Recommended with a tiny caveat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durness
13.5 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
338 reviews
19.1 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
311 reviews
13.3 mi away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
352 reviews
50.7 mi away
Northern Sands Hotel
Northern Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunnet
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Steading
The Steading
#10 of 18 in Dornoch
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackay's Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackay's Rooms

Property: Mackay's Rooms
Address: Durness IV27 4PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Durness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Durness
Hotel Class:4 star — Mackay's Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mackay’s Rooms is one of those rare finds one makes or hears about very occasionally. Located in the rugged and spectacular scenery of Durness, Mackay’s is a truly luxurious individually styled B&B where guests can come to escape from the stresses of daily life. Guests who stay here have an opportunity to experience Scotland’s real untamed natural environment in the comfort of world class accommodation- modern highland chic! A warm welcome from Robbie and Fiona Mackay, their family and friendly staff awaits all visitors to their highland retreat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mackays Rooms Hotel
Mackays Rooms Durness
Mackay's Rooms Durness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing