We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special experience!”
Review of Mackay's Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mackay's Rooms
Ranked #1 of 12 Durness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is an extraordinary find amid the wildness of northern Scotland. With beautiful surroundings, and only a few steps to the sea, the hotel, its cottages, the isolated certified "green" Croft 103, and the low-cost "Bunkhouse" for hikers, cyclists, etc, represent a perfect base for exciting fishing and to see the many sites in the area. We stayed in the self-catering cottage, looking out to the ocean, just up the hill from the hotel: it is very sylishly decorated, and the sleek kitchen contains everything you might need for a week's stay. A well-equipped village market is also just down the hill, and has a good selection of dry ingredients, vegetables, and wine. The hotel will order any fish or meats you require.

The hotel rooms are lovely with serene color schemes (each is different), cushy beds, and luxe bathrooms. The restaurant is a gourmet paradise, with an accomplished chef, Sharon, and the some quite attractive servers - ours was called Katrina - who turned out to be the owner's sister. She was so fantastic we tried to take her home with us!

The cottage's three bedrooms are outfitted with comfy beds, plenty of pillows of varying firmness for every taste. Each has a flat-screen TV as does the living area. The hotel also provides WI-FI.

On our Scottish journey, we stayed in several high-end hotels in the cities, full of chic, pretentious staff and guests. Nothing could compare to Mackay's, the facilities, staff, and most of all, the owners, Fiona and Robbie Mackay. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josephine8647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
There are newer reviews for Mackay's Rooms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 403 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

Another Hotel on our "worldtour of Scotland" experience, buiding of excellent quality and style.
Stylish but very welcoming.
Room 6 small but exeptionally clean, and well funrished, an excellent bed, and a shower do die for, especially after all the dissapointing experiences in other hotels during our 1,000 mile trip.
Free wifi, fantastic restaurant, with local produce, and can reccoment the lobster.
Excellent breakfast and real coffee.

Service was second to none.
Will visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riemert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Mackays offered welcome warmth away from a pretty stormy afternoon in the far north of Scotland. We had been there for dinner once during a camping trip at nearby Sango Sands and vowed to treat ourselves to a proper stay. So, for our 5th wedding anniversary, Mackays it was. An e-mail enquiry, followed by a phone call, assured us that our dog would be welcome at a small additional charge. A tiny word of warning here - you are discouraged from taking your pet out for an airing via the sitting room area and front door except early in the morning or late at night. There is a policy, the terms of which we were never informed about before being given short shrift...This is in case of other guests with pet allergies, apparently. If there is such concern over this issue, perhaps pets should NOT be welcomed - can you guarantee that the rooms will be free of pet hair etc? Besides, there seems to be a resident, rather large golden retreiver.
Anyway, apart from this slight discomfiture, the room was tastefully and comfortably furnished. The dinner was splendid, despite a fellow guest giving everyone in the room the benefit of his experience - but he wasn't Mackay's fault! Having dinner in the double glazed warmth while the wind and rain lashed outside was brilliant. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious.
Recommended with a tiny caveat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

There's not much choice of really nice accommodation up in the wilds of the north coast of Scotland, but this place was really nice. The room, although a bit on the small side (other rooms were bigger we noticed), was spotless and tastefully furnished with a big Tv and lovely bathroom. It was a pleasure to spend time in it. Free wi-fi too.
The restaurant was a highlight for us - tasty and interesting evening dishes (including vegetarian), and a filling breakfast cooked to order.
We'd love to return one day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christanya2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We read about MacKay's in the Telegraph and as there is a dearth of decent places to eat and stay in the Durness area we thought we should give it a try, the short and spectacular trip up from Dornoch a bonus.
The only problem is we had our well travelled Labradoodle with us- taking dogs to stay at hotels in the Highlands can be problematic-strange really especially compared to "down south"-more of that later.
Friendly booking on the phone a few days before and first impressions on arrival were all promising.Room not ready (we were early) so we had lunch.Doodle had to stay in the car outside and we were given a bit of a "lecture" on where the Doodle could go...nowhere really except for our bedroom..and we don't expect to see him going backwards and forwards through the public areas...so dogs are OK if seen but not heard...but we love dogs here...mmmm...
Nice lunch, home made soup and sandwich, friendly staff,loved our bedroom, great bathroom, everything clean and fresh.
Wild and windy walk along the amazing beach and dunes to Faraid Head followed by interesting dinner.I had local mussels followed by very local lobster.All good but very uninspiring accompaniments to the perfect lobster-potato salad (??)and tired green salad sort of let it down a bit.Wife had goats cheese tart,dry and uninteresting, which was a surprise, especially for nearly £15.Great sponge pudding saved the day somewhat.
OK wine list.
No doodle issues overnight and a very pleasant breakfast followed.
Check out was spoilt by a very silly and unexpected surcharge for "credit cards" even though we were asked to give a credit card to hold our booking..not many people pay hotel bills with debit cards or cash so I would up the room rates by £5 and drop that idea!
We really liked MacKay's and would go back without hesitation,I do think they could still go up a notch or two on their food, just a few simple changes and attention to detail.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brummyboy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Durness Hotel. Friendly welcome, fantastic room, excellent food, clean, warm and stylish. If you are travelling in North West Scotland - what more could you ask for. Definitely the best in the north west of Scotland. Will highly recommend Mackays to anyone who appreciates good food and quality accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent a week at MacKays whilst fishing the Dionard. The hotel is very modern and well designed. The rooms are modern and well designed. We found everything quiet at night.The welcome from Fiona and her team was truly wonderful. They are good hard working people. The food was excellent and the menu changed each night. Locally produced food was available. The lobster was exceptional. We would highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: We had two rooms and both were good
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durness
13.5 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
358 reviews
19.1 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
338 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Drumbeg Hotel
The Drumbeg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumbeg
81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Durness Smoo Youth Hostel
19.7 mi away
Farr Bay Inn
Farr Bay Inn
#2 of 3 in Bettyhill
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackay's Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackay's Rooms

Address: Durness IV27 4PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Durness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Durness
Hotel Class:4 star — Mackay's Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mackay’s Rooms is one of those rare finds one makes or hears about very occasionally. Located in the rugged and spectacular scenery of Durness, Mackay’s is a truly luxurious individually styled B&B where guests can come to escape from the stresses of daily life. Guests who stay here have an opportunity to experience Scotland’s real untamed natural environment in the comfort of world class accommodation- modern highland chic! A warm welcome from Robbie and Fiona Mackay, their family and friendly staff awaits all visitors to their highland retreat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mackays Rooms Hotel
Mackays Rooms Durness
Mackay's Rooms Durness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing