We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still closed due to repairs”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Smoo Cave

Smoo Cave
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Durness
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mur-de-Barrez, France
Level Contributor
113 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Still closed due to repairs”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

And although the remedial work was inside and above the cave, you couldn't even get down to the shore to look into the cave from a safe distance. UK Health & Safety gone mad again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    253
    62
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Grand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

One of the first things I did when arriving in Durness was visit the famous cave, it's beautiful, from above you can see the mouth and the cliffs surrounding the cave, you go down with a long staircase and into the mouth of the cave, to your right you can enter the waterfall chamber (for free!) or you can take a guided tour of the caves (do not enter on your own!)

My best tip is to go at mid day the sun shines directly on the waterfall making it look magical!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GracefulBlackbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burwood East, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Call Colin and he is there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was an exciting adventure for our family of seven from Australia. The caves were amazing and the history tour by Colin was a highlight of our trip to the highlands, especially the boat ride into the caves, Colin gave a great presentation of the history of the caves ,

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenn526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Visited by Earth Scientists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

It was a nice "excursion" for us. The guide, a funny small scottish guy who speaks many languages, could tell much about the formation of the cave. It is not a long tour, but we found it interesting to see that the cave is still hiding it's history.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JHT_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Smoo Cave GeoCache”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

While in Durness back in September of 2012, my wife and I paid a visit to Smoo Cave to claim an earth geo-cache, the cave is well worth the stop, most of the cave can be seen without paying an entrance fee, if you wish to see the inner cave which requires a boat ride a fee is required, but we saw what we needed to claim the geocache find and like a true scot we came away with our money still in our pockets. There is a stair case that must be descended and a short bridge to cross to access cave, I don't recall if it is wheelchair accessible, sorry about that.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelDruid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoo Cave also viewed

Durness, Caithness and Sutherland
Durness, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Durness, Caithness and Sutherland
Durness, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Smoo Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing