We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you are in the area”
Review of Smoo Cave

Smoo Cave
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Durness
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Only if you are in the area”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Walked down a well constructed path, which was quite steep so those with difficulty walking may find this a bit of a challenge. The waterfall in the cave was quite impressive as it had been raining, but there was no boat tour available when we were there. Personally I think it may be worth seeing if you want to stretch your legs and you were in the area, but I would certainly not go there just to see them.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank UKD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    288
    73
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“first aiding”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

we had to do a first aid post here no injuries but the scenary was ace

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank cathyThursoscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“First Visit”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We walked to the cave from our motorhome campsite. Quite a number of steps down to the cave. There is a chap who will take youon a tour of the cave but at £4 adult £2 child its a bit expensive for what the tour is...in a flimsy dinghy. You can walk a short way intot he cave yourself and see the waterfall inside.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank countercomedian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great day out”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Took my son there and we had a lovely day and met a man called Colin who runs the wee boat trip further inside the cave which we did not do! my son was a little bit too young and did not want to go in, which was a shame Because Colin was very intresting and had alot of imformation on the area and knew everything about the cave and the history there.
.We did go inside and across the bridge and walk way in to the main cave and saw a wonderful waterful and walked across the top where you can see down into the cave .
We also went to Durness beach and Coco Mountain shop where u can get the best Hot Chocolate

my son and i had a brillant time and is well worth the Visit we will go back again as we did not have enough time to everything we wanted to do in Durness.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An interesting little trip.”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The cave itself was fantastic and we were shown round by a rather ...eh... quirky ... guide. Worth a try.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank luca01324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoo Cave also viewed

Durness, Caithness and Sutherland
Durness, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Durness, Caithness and Sutherland
Durness, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Smoo Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing