We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An impressive cave” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smoo Cave

Smoo Cave
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Durness
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
East Anglia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“An impressive cave”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

We visited in March when the boat trip was unavailable - the place was also deserted which made it a better experience. We were able to hear the noise of the waterfall in the inner cave (and could see it quite clearly from a small platform) and spent some time beachcombing in the pleasant bay in front of the cave. There is a cliff top walk from the bay but this requires another climb uphill on the opposite side from the steps from the carpark. I'm 56 years old and 'well built' and managed the steps with no problem. Tackling the cliff top walk as well would have been too much for me.
If you are interested in Geology this limestone cave in an area of schists, granite and gneiss presents some different features. It was a rewarding conclusion to a fabulous drive along the North coast road.
There is a 'swallow hole' a little way from the car park where the river above disappears into the cave below. This has a viewing platform.

The public toilet block in the car park was locked up (Time of year? though other toilet blocks around Sutherland were open)
The cave is free to enter at all times, but I understand that there is a small charge for the boat ride in season.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    242
    59
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Stunning natural sea cave with an impressive waterfall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stopped off here for a quick visit, and was glad I took the time to do so. The cave is interesting and the waterfall impressive, though I suspect that during the peak season it is probably a bit crowded with tourists.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
369 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Waterfall Underground is Impressive along with Caves!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

This would not be one for anyone with Disabilities, or even a bit infirm.
However, if you manage the walk down the steps, (which can be slippy), you go into these caves, and experience thunderous water pouring down from above, the spray from which will soak you if you so wish.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JamzyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Large sea cave that is easily accessible”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We visited on a lovely day before the "start" of the tourist season, so you get the place pretty much to yourself. It also means that any "events", boat trips to the innermost part of the cave are not available. As a large, easily accessible cave, it is well work the slight effort to go down (and come back up) the steps. Of course, if you go quietly there will be lots of other things to see, like birds and some unusual plants growing here because of the limestone rock - very unusual in Scotland.

Key thing to remember, it does often rain in the West Highlands of Scotland, with the best sunny weather usually in May and that's also usually before the midges get too bad.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank WBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“best £3 attraction i've seen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

I took my partner to Smoo Cave when we were on a touring holiday. In advance, never having seen the cave for real, i convinced her it was absolutely impressive. And I was so right. Entrance to the outer and one inner cave is free. The outer cave could easily house a large house. A bridge and walkway takes you into another, water-filled cave. I'd seena sign advertisinga 33 tour, but, frankly, didn't really see the point, until i saw the boat. In the inner cave, a small inflatable dinghy is moored. Your £3 gets a guide, a hard hat and a trip in the boat. the guide rows across the inner cave lake, into a tunel, you dismbark and follow a path into another cave to where the Allt Smoo disappears from overground into the cave system. On a good day, sunlight bursts through the opening and lights up the cave.
the guide is a bit strange, but immesely knowledgeable and chats away about the geology and cave structure, including attempts to explore other underwater caves.
When the tour's finished, head up to the raod and see if you can find where the Allt Smoo disappears - that's how far inland you were - and if you find the right place at the right time, you can see the tour party in the cave below.
Excellent and highly recommended

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank kiltedladdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoo Cave also viewed

Durness, Caithness and Sutherland
Durness, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Durness, Caithness and Sutherland
Durness, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Smoo Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing