We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply fantastic...!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
kitchen/ living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
kitchen/ living room
kitchen/ living room
a wonderful seaview
kitchen/ living room
shower room
King size bed with a good quality mattress
rush hour on Balnakeil Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Beach Rental -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Durness, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Suzi B
Winchburgh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic...!”
Reviewed June 2, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
4
people found this review helpful

On the beach! Absolutely loved our stay at Balnakeil Beach Bothy. Small but perfect. Furnishings and household equipment all 5 star, we had no issues whatsoever. Beautiful chocolate cake on arrival. Loved the sheep & their lambs right next door and all the rabbits running around. Stunning sunsets every night but sadly no aurora!
Amazing long walks on the beach and adventuring round the local area (we've stayed several times in Durness and slightly wider afield).
Cocoa Mountain (up at the Craft Village) amazeballs as always and the lovely bits & pieces in Mudness.
Loved the Bothy so much we're booked to experience it again in January - different weather, different light and probably lots of warm clothes needed.
Thanks again Elliott Houses for supplying such an idyllic wee holiday hideaway...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise6...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed January 29, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic location, peaceful, relaxing holiday, the beautiful Bothy was very clean and had everything you need it's also pet friendly.
A very memorable place, will definitely go back..
We were also blessed with the northern lights.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UkKirky
uk
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful bothy with stunning sea views”
Reviewed December 4, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This was one of our favourite places we stayed on our tour of scotland. The Bothy overlooks the sea from a beautiful lounge kitchen area with picture window. The beach is a stones throw and is wild and beautiful with lovely white sands and dunes.

The weather was wild outside but we were toastie warm inside and found the bothy warmed up quickly with the heating. There was good attention to detail with a well equipped kitchen, tv with sky, good wifi, lovely toiletries, slippers and gowns. We loved the touch of the home made chocolate cake on our arrival it was delicious!

The area around the both was beautiful and there were plenty of places and walks to explore nearby. We enjoyed visits to the nearby cave and walks up the beach to the headland.

The bothy is a small romantic den situated amongst stunning scenery that won't fail to leave an imprint on your soul, we loved it..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolrab49
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 1, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Difficult to find anything wrong with The Beach Bothy, it has everything, comfort, seclusion, widlife , if you want peace and quiet this is impossible to beat

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz S
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hobbit house surrounded by rabbits!”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This house is popular, I booked a year in advance. It is tiny which should be no surprise as pics make this clear! Suitcases will go in the boot of your car, and don't bring too many clothes or shoes! Walking boots, beach shoes and one other will do! Small fridge, washing machine but no dishwasher, micro wave and electric cooker, wifi, furnishings by Anta. Bedroom, small shower, and one room for kitchen and living room make this a house for those who really get on with their partners or for solo travellers! Needs knife sharpener and hair dryer and I could have done with extra blanket but no one returned my calls to mobile. Rabbits all around and lively walks, even for me in worst summer in 43 years! Large tv useful when rainy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Tasteful fixtures and fittings
Liked least: Not being rung back when I left a message on first day.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ton Koot...
Weesp, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really small”
Reviewed May 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
4
people found this review helpful

This property is really small. We could not stall our empty suitcases in the house.
It is weel equiepped and beautifully designed. Mixed feelings.....

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn P
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The most amazing place!”
Reviewed March 27, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We loved this cottage. Yes, it is small but it is very comfortable and has everything you could need. It is beautifully fitted out, with a large window looking straight on to the beach. The kitchen has everything you need, from a gorgeous little red Smeg fridge to plenty of equipment. There is a comfy sofa (a couple of cushions would be good here) and plenty of TV channels. The bathroom is tiny but the shower is good with plenty of hot water and large towels and bathrobes. The bed is comfortable and you can lie in comfort and look through the window up at the night sky. The location is stunning - a few seconds and you are on the beach. We walked a lot - on the beach, up to Faraid Head and through the sand dunes. Plenty of birds to see and friendly sheep just outside. We are definitely coming back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful cottage in stunning location.
Liked least: No criticisms
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing