We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but effective”
Review of Loch Croispol - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Loch Croispol
Cuisines: British, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simple but effective”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

As it's name implies, the Loch Croispol Bookshop, Restaurant & Gallery utilises the by now familiar combination of cafe / restaurant, bookshop, and gallery. However, unlike many in this genre, it is spacious and uncluttered. The quite limited menu offers typical cafe fare of panini, baked potatoes, burgers, macaroni, and fish and chips. I ordered the haddock and chips, and my wife went for the macaroni. Service was friendly and efficient, and our orders arrived in an acceptable time, obviously freshly cooked. The macaroni had a crispy crust as it should have, the haddock was cooked to perfection, and the chips, which appeared to be hand-cut, were thick, golden, and crispy. I can't comment on the desserts, as unfortunately we didn't have room. The toilets were spacious and immaculately clean. Overall a excellent little restaurant that excels at doing the simple really well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlistairM217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Calm, clean and friendly.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I love this place. Amazing to find a real bookshop out in the wilds of Scotland. Pleasingly friendly and helpful staff. Nice clean toilets. Basic food with chips. Nice soup and home baked cakes (I enquired). All the comforts of a city cafe without the noise and pollution. Today's papers, email connection and somewhere to sit while having a sneaky read of the books.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The sign outside says ' food for the body and soul' so I pictured organic, whole food, artisan like the little village and refreshing! Gosh, what a shock! The smell of old deep fat fryer oil and bulk cooking then follows up woth a 'get everywhere' menu of mass produced fish and chips and macaroni cheese! There is a lesson for these operators here! People come to the craft village because they have selected to come to a wonderful part of the country and further an artisan craft village. Dishing up bland school dinners does not meet the expectations of your customers and simply sends the over the green to the organic chocolate cafe! Would be sad to see this establishment not get its act together in an oasis in a wonderful part of my home country! Sad to see this!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Alasdair-Roxburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Relaxed stop”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Fairly limited menu but staff are great and you get to look at the books and free newspapers whilst you wait for your food. I had soup which was warming and tasty. Chips were good too, but have been an off day for the previous reviewer. Hubby had an all day breakfast, not overly large but the sausage and black pudding were very tasty. All in all good value for money.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sockknitter5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Much as I would love to support small places like this I can't support the food. The people were nice and children were able to sit and read. We had toasties and it takes a special skill to make a bad cheese toastie. Children liked the sausages but the chips were so bad they left them all. It should have been a warning when we saw a plate with all the chips left before we ordered. I wish I had said something constructive at the time but didn't.

Helpful?
2 Thank teawith2sugars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Croispol also viewed

Durness, Caithness and Sutherland
Lairg, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Durness, Caithness and Sutherland
Durness, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing