We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Weekend Break”
Review of Aiden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aiden House
Ranked #3 of 12 Durness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Decided to visit Durness for a short weekend break, we arrived at Aiden House to be greeted by Alexandra. Lovely warm welcome followed by a tour of the house, absolutely spotless. Beautiful log home, wonderfully warm and very well set out. Settled into the room and then decided to go to the pub for a welcome drink, Alexandra wouldn't let us walk and took us down there herself!! Had an extremely comfortable nights sleep on a beautifully firm bed.

All in all we had a wonderful weekend away and will definitely be back. We would recommend this B&B to anyone who is looking for a high quality establishment.

Be warned though, if you sample too much of the fantastic breakfast feast you'll never want to go for a walk!!! Or leave!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alectroll66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for Aiden House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 350 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Arrived unexpectedly early in the area, Alexandra was out of the b&b , gave her a quick ring and before I put the phone down, Alexandra had come straight round to see us and let us in
What service!!!!
Another great nights stay and the perfect breakfast
On top of that even gave me a throat sweetie for my gravely voice

Thanks again and see you soon

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank steve29673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed on a business trip with two others. My review mirrors their opinion also.

Modern, comfortable spotless accommodation.

Food was incredible.

Alexandra & Kenny were very friendly & even drove us to the pub & arranged a lift back so that we could have a drink after a hard days graft.

Not one negative thing to say.

Would not hesitate in staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D7NCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We really enjoyed our one night stay there: lovely and spacious room, superb breakfast, lovely hosts!! Would definitely recommend! Also, the scenery in the west coast of scotland is gorgeous!! Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R0dr1g0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed in the area during a business trip, Alexandra went out of her way to drive us to the local hotel and arrange for us to get driven home.
Fantastic nights sleep, extremely peacefull considering it was blowing a gale, wonderful breakfast and fantastic hosts
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve2967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a long overdue review from our stay early last June. Two couples traveling the highlands and we stopped in Durness on our way up to the Orkneys. We arrived mid-afternoon to Alexandra's wonderful hospitality. I totally agree with most reviewers that the rooms were spacious and the house was gorgeous and immaculate. Wonderful warm wood and most everything felt new and modern. Fantastic views from our room at the top of the stairs and the weather was stunning (luck). We walked all over the area, got a great tip from Alexandra for dinner (Kenny was off fishing) and then tucked in to one of the more remarkable breakfasts ever. She is truly a magician with fish and her haddock was to die for. She then gave us a great reference to a dinner spot in Inverness (Rockpool) as it was her favorite and three days later, we had another fantastic meal and made friends with the front man, a great friend of hers. All in all, a memorable stop and we plan to go back to spend a bit more time our next trip to Scotland.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soccerman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

One of the best B&Bs my wife and I have ever come across. Interesting house and interesting hosts. Extremely well kept rooms. Good location. Enjoyable views from our window. The hosts (Alexandra and Ken) were pleasant at all times, and great and informative conversationalists. I particularly enjoyed the fishing chats and chats about the design and building of the house. We have stayed in 100s of B&Bs and this is easily one of the best. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durness
13.8 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
358 reviews
19.4 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
340 reviews
13.8 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Durness Smoo Youth Hostel
19.9 mi away
Farr Bay Inn
Farr Bay Inn
#2 of 3 in Bettyhill
74 reviews
23.3 mi away
Armadale House B&B
Armadale House B&B
#1 of 1 in Armadale
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aiden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aiden House

Address: Aiden House Durine, Durness IV27 4PW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Durness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Durness
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aiden House B&B was built in 2010 from Scottish Douglas Fir & all rooms are en-suite. It sits on the hill with amazing sea & mountain views & also on the NC500. Alexandra & Kenny look forward too welcoming you to there family home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aiden House Durness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing