We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice area”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Durness, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
StuartStr...
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice area”
Reviewed February 18, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely time up in Durness. The house was comfortable and warm with a multifuel stove in the kitchen and an open fire in the sitting room. The local shop delivers coal and it was waiting for us when we arrived so we were cosy from the first night. Plenty of nice walks and stunning beaches in the area and Smoo Cave is well worth a visit. The drive down to Ullapool is lovely as well . Would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2015
Thank you for your review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Transvaal House. The cottages sounds like it was very welcoming, and, the fireplace is a great feature during the cold winter evenings. We would love to get you booked in again for another stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diana w
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“well equipped and comfortable”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Booked through Sykes cottages. Pick up of keys seamless. House chilly as all older properties can be but heaters and coal fires available. Would prefer heating to be included and wished this projected cost was added to rental agreement however trivial complaint. Property was exceptionally well stocked with the exception of towels for some reason. There were a range of kitchen utensils that I had no idea what they were for and am looking them up on google! The property was well located with lots to explore in the area. If you are travelling with smaller children take some games as the ones in house are past their best with too much missing to be useful. The view from the kitchen was great and I liked the kitchen best as roomy.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheadle hulme
Reviewed April 18, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lancashire
Reviewed March 14, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bigglad
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“We came for the aurora and found it !”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I was invited to join a group of people to stay a week at Transvaal in Durness and what an incredible week it was. The main reason for the trip was to see the aurora and we did do on 4 out of the 7 days we stayed.

The house was brilliant. It was clean and there was enough coal/kindling to light each of the two fires (kitchen and lounge). In addition, there were storage heaters but it was a balancing act working out which was the cheaper as electricity was extra and the coal/kindling costs started to add up quite a lot by the end of the week.

Rooms were very adequate and comfortable but too cold without any heating when the temperature outside drops.

The kitchen was fabulous complete with Morsoe fire and enough cutlery, cups, pans to keep several coach loads of people happy. There was also a dishwasher, washing machine and separate fridge and freezer with a cloth hanger over the fire.

The garden was super - laid to grass with a compost heap to put the fire ashes on and the view out to the horizon was enough to capture the aurora without needing to travel far.

Area itself was beautiful and most people very friendly indeed. The local Spa was well stocked and the owner "John" could not do enough for us. Prices were well above the normal but hey, we were on holiday and it was remote - no complaints. Filling the car up was quite a shock at £1.56 a litre ;)

A nice beach less than a mile east from Transvaal - zero pollution and a great vantage point for the aurora. Smoo cave a little further down with "Caveman Colin" who was a wealth of information and a real top bloke. One pub which was open serving food - again, prices a little higher than normal and we ended up buying food from the Spa and cooking it ourselves. A shame, it would have been good for the pub to agree a cheaper price if the 4 of us ate there every single night - still, nevermind.

About 400 metres to the west of Transvaal along the same road is Cocoa Mountain, an incredible chocolate factory with hand made chocolates and a "dribbled" hot chocolate drink that is to die for. We did spend over £140 between ourselves on chocolate and yes, it really was that good.

A further half a mile down the road is another beach again, with spectacular views of the aurora over a graveyard and part demolished church.

It was a 14 hour drive for us to get there but will we return ? You bet and would happily stay at Transvaal again. It was very comfortable and there was a very warm community spirit evident that was very noticeable.

There was no wifi and none picked up around the house. O2 and Orange had a marginal signal and GPRS was hit and miss. Half a mile west and you lose both. Vodaphone did have problems during our visit.

Steve BB

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The aurora
Liked least: costs to keep the place heated - would have been cheaper sticking with electric
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilmarnock
Reviewed January 5, 2012 for a stay in November 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hexham
Reviewed October 24, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing