We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Winter Break”
Review of Smoo Cave Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smoo Cave Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Durness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant Winter Break”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband & I have just returned for a 4 night stay at the Smoo Cave Hotel. We have had a fabulous experience staying there; the welcome was warm and friendly, the room was comfortable and warm (the weather was cold!).
The bar staff were friendly and knowledgeable and the food was delicious.
We absolutely recommend this hotel for a winter or summer holiday - we are going back next year!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    58
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
36
85
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Our summer 2013 visit was a a capricious one & the owner did everything to accommodate our late arrival & change of rooms. Hospitality was second to none, the food was excellent & the accommodation clean, warm & homely. Highly recommended.

The locale itself was a place of outstanding natural beauty with the most spectacular beaches & amazing rugged scenery. Durness is should definitely be on everyone's bucket list. One cannot visit Durness without making the trip to Cape Wrath on the Rickety Rackety boat & of course Smoo Cave. If I were to visit again, I would wear a beekeepers headnet to protect against those midges.

I also recommend a visit to Cocoa Mountain - it was there where we had what was quite possibly the best hot chocolate ever.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roodurmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week in Durness, and had seen mixed reviews about this place, but we decided to give it a chance. The scallops were the best I have ever had, and my partner was very impressed with the haggis scotch egg for his first time trying haggis. Could not have faulted the food or service, the staff were friendly and hospitable, we were very impressed. Definitely a place to pop in to if your ever up that way.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank emsb1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We called in on a wet, cold day and the staff were very friendly. We both had soup and a pudding and the food was delicious. Everywhere was clean and this is a good place to consider stopping off at when exploring the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Ate in the restaurant which was very nicely decorated and clean.Small cosy lounge for pre dinner drinks.Good quality food.Excellent value.Huge portions.Scallops exceptional and sweet.Friendly barman.Busy local restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lexy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on our first night in Durness. Nice food, but expensive. We both had a chocolate pudding for dessert, it was small, and not worth the £6.50 we paid. The lasagne for the main meal was good, but a little dry. There was only us and another couple in the whole restaurant, I think that says it all!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the Smoo Cave Hotel 3/9/13
After driving all day on unformillier roads we were met at the door like old friends by a very enthusiastic, freindly and attentive Chole she was just a joy.
The room was comfortable, the atmosphere was relaxing and the bar was great fun, the resturant was packed and the food was the best. The staff here are what makes a memerable stay and could teach some of the staff at the big chains and posh looking hotels a real lesson on what travelers and tourist realy want when they come to Scotland
After we had this hugh breakfast and ready to get back on the road we discovered we had a flat tire, the cheff got us back into the bar out the cold and arranged for a mechanic to come, repair and fit our flat tire, he did it like a mate would
We just love this place
On our return to Australia we'll be telling anyone traveling Smoo Cave's the place

Room Tip: Just go and have a thrill, if your worried which side of the place is the sunniest, God's sake s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blake F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durness
12.3 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
17.9 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
13.8 mi away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mackay's Rooms
Mackay's Rooms
#1 of 11 in Durness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Durness Smoo Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smoo Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smoo Cave Hotel

Property: Smoo Cave Hotel
Address: Durness IV27 4QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Durness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Durness
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Smoo Cave Hotel Durness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing