We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it!”
Review of Smoo Cave Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smoo Cave Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Durness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a family meal there on a Saturday and the place was packed, but Chloe was very attentive and friendly. The food was good and we all enjoyed ourselves very much. The staff in the bar were very friendly as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keeve_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    67
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
43
95
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

There are two waitresses at the Smoo Cave Hotel, one of them is obviously foreign as she didn't quite understand customers requests, luckily enough we had a lovely young local waitress called Chloe, Much praise to Chloe as she provided outstanding service and friendliness! Food was of an excellent quality, served very quickly and tasted Devine! We will definitely be returning. Thank you Chef(s) and Chloe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The evening meal I had there was of average quality, however the staff were friendly and accommodating. We were there on a Tuesday about 8.30 pm and the place was very busy, with a lot of menu main course options no longer available. So it is a good idea to make an early reservation during the peak season.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have just had dinner at the Smoo Cave Hotel; food was very good but the service made it even better! So many thanks to Chloe who's friendly and cheerful nature made the whole evening very enjoyable - keep up the good work...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stopped here for lunch on a whistle stop tour of scotland last week, and after many hours of driving what a lovely welcome we got. Food was tremendous and the staff really friendly and helpful.
Will definitely be back, fresh seafood is to die for!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Had a great laugh with all the staff and Boss, best bar in town with good breakfast, great for motorbiking stay over.The hotel is right at the top of the cliff with excellent views of the coast line.The friendly staff help where outstanding, all local people with local knowledge of the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Smoo Cave Hotel in Durness, Scotland is the perfect place to enjoy the highlands. The accommodations are picture perfect, clean and the staff are amazingly friendly. Great food, great pub. It was our home away from home. also in one of the most picturesque settings ever.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbiebrokken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durness
12.3 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
345 reviews
17.9 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
318 reviews
12.4 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Armadale House B&B
Armadale House B&B
#1 of 1 in Armadale
18 reviews
0.3 mi away
Durness Smoo Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smoo Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smoo Cave Hotel

Property: Smoo Cave Hotel
Address: Durness IV27 4QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Durness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Durness
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Smoo Cave Hotel Durness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing