We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, friendly place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morven B&B

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morven B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Durness
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Morven for one night. The room was spacious and clean and the bed comfortable. The owners are very friendly and accommodating, as much for us, as our German Shepherd.

I practically got two breakfasts squeezed on my plate so didn't go around hungry. As I'm training our dog, we got a demonstration of sheep herding, which was fantastic.

The downside is only one bathroom. It's large, modern and kept clean though.

Overall, a very nice stay over in a great location, with the views, we only appreciated in the morning.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ADAMandLYNNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed 2 nights sept/oct with my son and daughter at short notice. We had room 3 at the front of the house which comfortably slept all 3 of us and we found it very clean and warm. Although not being en-suite, for us it was not a problem.
Morag and Neil were very welcoming and the cooked breakfasts were the best we've had. Would definitely look to stay again at this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Friendly and comfortable place to stay, with the convenience of a nice pub next door! Room was good and though we had a shared bathroom it was clean and well presented. Convenient for (practically sitting over) Smoo cave and a short trip in the car to the rest of Durness. But with the pub / hotel next door no need to travel far.

A great place to stay in an amazing, wild and remote area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abumonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We much enjoyed our one night stay at Morven and greatly appreciated the friendliness of Morag and Neil who made us feel very welcome. Morag's big breakfast certainly set us up for the day! Yes, it is important to know that one doesn't have en suite, but that shouldn't detract from the clean and comfortable accommodation and the warmth of the welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eroomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everwhere
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with my family in August 2013. My wife, daugher (1yr old) and I had a large room at the front of the house (Double bed and 2 single beds), and there was still room for a travel cot. Rooms were clean, although not en-suite we did have a sink in the room which was good. Morag and Neil were extremely friendly and terrific hosts. Full breakfast was superb. And the views were beautiful. I woke up with my baby at 5am and we watched the sunrise over the sea, listened to the lambs bleating in the field outside the house and watched a few rabbits hopping by... I would have paid double just for that experience. The house is quite far from the town, so a car is a must, however the Smoo hotel next door served good food, which solved the evening meal debate. I would also recommend Sango beach (which is the first beach you get to after Smoo Cave). We had the first bay to ourselves for the whole day... in August. If it wasn't for the chilly water, you would think you were in the caribbean... a truly beautiful place with golden sands and crystal clear water, we had a wonderful couple of days there. I think Durness is a must for any tour of Scotland... Awesome place.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the house, then wake up at dawn to see the sunrise over the sea, listen t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I just came back from a touring trip of Scotland with my family and the five of us (three teenagers) stayed three wonderful nights at Morven. We toured Cape Wrath and this part of the highlands by day and were taken care of by Morag and Neil the rest of the time. Breakfast was a masterpiece, cheerfully served by both hosts. Each day tailoring each of our breakfasts to the teenage whim of the day without our asking. Amazing. The rooms are clean and comfortable and perfect for our odd number of travelers, We stayed in a room with one large bed and the kids stayed in a room with one large bed (for the girls) and a single bed (for my son).

Neil and Morag are great conversationalists and we felt that their home and their land was ours during our stay. They let us have a picnic on their land near the water where they keep their flock of sheep and were even treated to a sheep herding demonstration when the flock was moved from field to field. Neil is quite an accomplished trainer of sheep dogs, as his numerous trophies in the family/common room attest.

The Smoo Cave Hotel two doors down is a great place to congregate and the perfect companion to Morven B&B.

All in all a great experience for my family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelty, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just had 2nights B&B at Morven, as guests of Morag and Neil excellent down to earth hosts
Cannot fault the spotless accommodation, with great views from the windows and right next door to a hotel with bar and serving great affordable food
Only fault (just joking) was the huge breakfast provided, I had to ask Morag to cut back on the food
Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durness
18.0 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
13.8 mi away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
16.5 mi away
Borgie Lodge
Borgie Lodge
#4 of 4 in Tongue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mackay's Rooms
Mackay's Rooms
#1 of 11 in Durness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morven B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morven B&B

Property: Morven B&B
Address: Durness IV27 4QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Durness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Durness
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Morven B&B Durness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing