We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“christine@john from fallin stirling”
Review of Morven B&B

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Morven B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Durness
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“christine@john from fallin stirling”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

my husband i were at the morven last year we like to go fishing and heading back up this may again morag who has the b@b is awesome she makes you feel at home and her breakfasts are to die for i cant wait and the rooms are very comfortable .

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    17
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
19
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

a lovely and more welcoming couple we've yet to meet. monumental breakfast and mrs mckenzie cant do enough to oblige.we're on our way back this august.woo hoo.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomaschiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2011

This is from my 2 day stay experience.
The room which had a double bed and one single bed with view to the cliffs and beach was comfortable with sufficient storage space.
Location: It is at the outer border of Durness. You do have the Smoo Hotel next door, but if you are after the Balnakeil beach, then this is more than a mile away. Balnakeil village is approx 2 miles away. The fuel station and the Spar store are a mile away.

Breakfast was top class.

Hosts were friendly, but i've been in more friendlier B&B's . If you are looking for that true Highland B&B experience, the keep looking. In short, the 3 star rating on this B&B is totally justified. Nothing more, nothing less.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FelixRoundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

We phoned the same day we needed a room and were lucky to get one at Morven. Situated just out of Durness, near Smoo Caves and in fact next door to Smoo Hotel.
Morag and her husband greeted us warmly, told me not to worry about my hiking boots as I struggled to remove them before entering the house.
Our room was a large room with double bed and single bed (Family but costed as double), plenty of wardrobe and drawer space , handy if you were staying longer, a wall mounted TV and washbasin in the room, again with storage for toiletries. Not ensuite, but the shower room and toilet were downstairs and was clean and well laid out.
Our breakfast was enormous and nothing was too much trouble.
There was a lovely lounge/conservatory with flat screen TV and plenty of books, magazines and DVD's.
Wished we could have stayed longer.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Afartribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alloa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

I stayed here with my son on a hillwalking trip for 2 nights. The breakfast alone is worth it. The room was spacious and comfortable with terrific views. There's a tv and washbasin with shared bathroom. Breakfast is served at a time to suit the guests. Meals can be had at the hotel next door. The owners are friendly and helpful with advice. It's a great base to see this part of the country with Smoo cave a 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlloaSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2008

This B&B was excellent - just like a visit to your aunty's - very welcoming. The room was nicely decorated, clean and comfortable but only had a wash-hand basin en-suite as the bathroom is shared with other guests. There was also a guests lounge with Sky TV.

We had the best full Scottish breakfast ever! Delicious and plenty of it. Unfortunately, they don't provide an evening meal but there is a place right next door which does.

The accommodation is situated in a very rural location. Very peaceful but near to local attraction - Smoo Cave. We also took a trip to Cape Wrath. A short ferry trip and then an 11 mile mini-bus trip over some very rugged roads to the lighthouse. The journey there was quite a memorable experience!

  • Liked — Excellent accommodation, terrific views
  • Disliked — no en-suite
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigburd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durness
12.3 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
346 reviews
18.0 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
321 reviews
12.4 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Armadale House B&B
Armadale House B&B
#1 of 1 in Armadale
18 reviews
0.3 mi away
Durness Smoo Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morven B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morven B&B

Property: Morven B&B
Address: Durness IV27 4QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Durness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Durness
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Morven B&B Durness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing