We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Rosslyn Villa(Dornoch)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dornoch Hotel(Dornoch)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (831)
Filter reviews
831 results
Traveler rating
398
272
97
46
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
398
272
97
46
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedtower roomlog firewhiskey barbar areavenisonno liftmusselslovely hotelmalt whiskyreal alesuperior roomresidents loungelocal producedining roomone night staycooked to perfection
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
712 - 717 of 831 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2010

On the strength of ther reviews on this site we booked a weekend at this super hotel .Our superior garden room was comfortable and we had no problem with noise. The food was first class as was the service. Philip and Simon and their staff have succeeded in creating a friendly welcoming atmosphere. We must particularly thank Marie who suggested we visit Duncansbay Head. The views were stunnning.In contrast John o'Groats was rather tired. If you want a photograph under the signpost you will be disappointed. You have to phone a local photographer to bring his along!!. Needless to say we made do with the alternative signpost painted in the jetty wall.
A great weekend in a great hotel. We will certainly book another stay soon.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagsLarbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in a Superior Garden room.

All staff try their utmost to ensure all guests have a enjoyable and memorable stay and our head chef Mikeal prides himself on using fresh and local produce.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again.
From all at the Dornoch Castle Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Having toured the Isle of Skye and then the mainland of Scotland this was the Hotel we were most looking forward to staying in. The Website and Trip advisor gave very good reviews. Our first impressions were well founded. The reception area was part of the old Castle. The staff were lovely and they showed us to a very clean well appointed room in the extension. The hotel isnt huge it has the restaurant/breakfast area in the conservatory which overlooked a lovely little garden area.

The room was a little on the small side but not uncomfortable, we did comment that the toilet cistern and water supply to the sink were a little on the noisy side. Dinner was lovely we had 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast. The staff were extremely friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Once we got to bed we soon realised that the room was quite noisy, floor boards creaking toilet flushing etc. After a broken nights sleep we decided to speak to the manager in the morning, we explained our displeasure with the 2 rooms our part had been given. The manager very quickly offered us an alternative room in the main part of the building.They were both lovely extremely comfortable, clean and quiet, we all slept like logs ! we did appreciate the way in which the Manager dealt with the issue even offering to carry our bags to the new rooms. I do think the way in which people deal with this kind of thing can make or break your impression of a hotel.

All in all we had a fantastic time at the hotel ( the village was lovely too ) i would definitely reccomend it but you may want to ask for a room in the main part of the building.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarthaKettering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments. We here at the Castle try our best to ensure all guests have a memorable and enjoyable stay with us.

I am glad that you enjoyed your 2 night break and also that any matters were resolved quickly.

Thank you and we hope to see you again in the future.

From all the Dornoch Castle Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Although we didn't stay at the hotel we went for a meal. I cannot praise it too highly. The welcome was friendly and efficient. We had not booked but that was not a problem. The food was absolutey wonderful and the price very reasonable. We had been to a 'posh' restaurant earlier in the week for my birthday and paid twice as much for inferior quality compared to this restaurant. I cannot recommend it too highly. An absolute gem!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jintyjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2010

Dear Guest

Firstly thank you for your very kind comments. We here at the Castle try our utmost to provide a relaxing and enjoyable experience for our guests.

We hope you can visit us here at the Dornoch Castle Hotel again.

Kindest Regards
All staff at the Dornoch Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

We stayed two nights at Dornoch Castle and were thrilled with the entire experience. The hotel itself is gorgeous, on a small street opposite Dornoch Cathedral in a small quaint town. The staff were beyond helpful, sourcing vegetarian food for us in the restaurant and for our early morning breakfast on the go when we checked out. Our room was lovely, with heated towel racks and nice sea kelp soaps & lotions. We were delighted to learn of the eco-consciousness of the establishment, as they had recently transitioned to a new greener heating system, which worked quite well in the bitter cold of mid-February. The bar is a gem, as is Simon, the man behind it. He will enlighten you with his passion for whisky and introduce you to new tastes to broaden your palette. His advice and wonderful stories were a highlight of our stay. You can sit by the stone fireplace to warm up with your drink, or walk outside in the courtyard if the weather permits. I recommend visiting the nearby town of Tain and the Sunflower Cafe for their great Chip Bowls. And no trip to Highlands would be complete without a tour of the nearby Glenmorangie Distillery! If we're ever lucky enough to be out this way again, we wouldn't hesitate at returning to Dornoch Castle hotel. It's definitely worth the price if you want something truly special and out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aleka333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2010

Dear Guest,

After reading your kind comments we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your two night stay with us at The Dornoch Castle.

All staff try their best to ensure guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay, and its comments like yours that really make it worth while.

We hope that you will be able to visit us again in the future.

Thank You!
Kindest Regards

All Staff at Dornoch Castle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

We stayed for a night recently during a tour of the north of Scotland. It's a lovely looking hotel with comfortable rooms, and Dornoch is a sweet town with the most gorgeous beach.The service and staff are friendly and pleasant and it would have been a relaxing stay except that when we were in the restaurant for dinner my son's Nintendo games console went missing from our room. We normally put these things and other valuables away but we were running late to meet a friend, and somehow, at the end of a holiday in the wilds of Scotland, we had been lulled into a false sense of security. He left it on his bed before dinner where was playing with it, and on return the case was there but it was empty. We spoke to the reception staff who tried to reassure us that no one could have entered our room, and that `oh yes, I can see the spare key is still here'. It's a reminder that all hotels are public places and we have learnt a lesson!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LLSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Managing Director at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2010

Disappearance of Game Console- Dornoch Castle Hotel 14th April 2010

We thank you for bringing the disappearance of your son's game console to our attention but must make you aware of the following points.

We are more than happy to accept criticism of service where it is due, and do our utmost to respond to any adverse comments positively.

However, having investigated the above issue which you have raised with our senior receptionist, we completely and utterly refute the comments which you have posted on TripAdvisor.

The majority of our employees have worked here for over a decade without the slightest inference of any wrong doing and all are extremely shocked that you have insinuated that anyone here could be thought to be connected to the disappearance of any item.

If you are completely convinced that this disappearance actually occurred on our premises, we would advise that you take matters up with our local police station with whom we would be happy to cooperate and in the meantime we would kindly ask that you remove your comments from TripAdvisor lest they be considered defamatory.

Colin Thonpson
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews