We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dornoch Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We spent 5 days touring Scotland and this was our very favourite hotel. The staff were warm and welcoming. The food was really good. And the open fire made for a lovely, cosy atmosphere.
We'll definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Good Evening,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Dornoch Castle hotel.

Everyone at the Castle are delighted that during you 5 days in Scotland, we were your very favourite! We really appreciate that you found the staff to be warm and welcoming too – our guests always come first.
We are also pleased you enjoyed our love open fire in our old stone-work bar area. It is very relaxing and can be extremely cosy!

We are glad that you would visit us again and hope to see you soon!

Best Wishes
All of the staff at the Dornoch Castle hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    240
    75
    38
    17
See reviews for
101
436
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
invergordon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Went for a light lunch today with my daughter .we had a cup of homemade potato and leek soup and choice of sandwiches it was delicious . The service was excellent and there was a lovely homely atmosphere . The meal was reasonably priced and there was plenty of choice . Our waitress cold not have been nicer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennerzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Good Evening,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on the Dornoch Castle hotel.

We are delighted that you were able to enjoy a nice lunch with a great atmosphere on your recent visit! The bar area is lovely and cosy, especially on a cold day or even if you just fancied a nice relaxing drink with friends.

Your comments on your waitress have been passed on and we are very pleased to hear you felt that she was friendly. We try very hard to ensure all of our guests enjoy their time with us.

We hope you will return in the near future.

Kind Regards
All of the staff at the Castle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Scotland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here recently. The staff and management made us so welcome from the moment we arrived. The food was very high quality with service to match. Our room was lovely with one of the comfiest beds ever. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finnmcool9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Good Evening.

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Dornoch Castle.

Your comments are much appreciated by all of the staff, especially those in regards to the welcoming you received and evening meal you were able to enjoy. We are also glad that your room was to your liking and that you found the bed was comfortable! Our housekeepers do their best to ensure everything is perfection for our guests!

We do hope to see you again at the Dornoch Castle hotel.

Kind Regards
All of the staff at the Dornoch Castle hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Popped up for a night after buying a voucher for hubbies Christmas. Dinner was first class we were easily tempted to go over our food "allowance", room comfortable if a bit tired but just right for the price we paid! Fantastic range of Drams in the bar and glad to see some of my favs and took the opportunity to try some new ones! Staff attentive and helpful, we can wait to make a return visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SRuncie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Good Evening,

Thank you for your review of the Dornoch Castle hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your evening meal was first class and the staff were helpful. We were also glad to hear that your room was comfortable. We do our best to ensure all of our guests leaving having had a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

We are also happy that you were able to enjoy your favourite tipple and that the boys – Simon, Phil and Scotty – were able to help with recommendations. They really love a good Whisky natter.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Dornoch Castle in the near future!

Best Wishes
All of the staff at the Dornoch Castle hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

My buddy and I checked into the Dornoch Castle Hotel for the one night. Arrivied early evening and enjoyed a fantastic meal. Retired to the bar for a nightcap and ended up sampling a few of the many whisky's available. We were there to golf the next day and we met a couple of guys in the bar who passed on their knowledge of the Royal Dornoch course. The bartender then provided us a complimentary sample of a 30 year old Brora Whisky! Very enjoyable and nice touch! When we checked in we were advised the room we had reserved was damaged and we were both being upgraded to King Rooms! My room was spotless, with very modern WC and funishnishing. In the morning our Scottish breakfast was again fantastic and the staff was helpful and friendly during checkout. Thank you so much to all the staff, I would stay here again and recommend the hotel to anyone traveling to the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Good Evening,

Thank you for your review of the Dornoch Castle hotel.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay – especially the evening meals and the whisky samples! Phil, Simon and Scotty love sharing their Whisky knowledge.

We are pleased that you were able to enjoy a Deluxe room. These are spectacular rooms and they really have character! The comments on the cleanliness of the room and the décor are very much appreciated too.

We are glad that over-all your stay was fantastic and hope you will join us again soon.

Kind Regards
All of the staff at the Dornoch Castle hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Visited here for the £40 per head (excl drinks) Valentine’s dinner. The restaurant, which is in the newer extension to the building, lacked charm and personality and seemed at odds to the beautiful welcoming reception. The staff were friendly and attentive but were slightly confused by a recent decision to change the table numbering which resulted in a few small confusions around food delivery and perhaps resulted in the staff being visible on the floor more than you would expect while trying to resolve the issues.

The food was generally very good with a particularly excellent (surprisingly so) champagne sorbet but I found my main course (beef fillet) to have too many flavours on the pate which resulted in a confused taste. Dessert was a mixed bag with my chocolate mousse being too rich for my own taste but my partner’s cheesecake being a complete winner. The little bag of chocolates at the end were a nice touch for something to take away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutdoorsyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Good Evening,

Thank you for your review of your Valentine’s Day dining experience.

We are pleased that you found the bar to be welcoming and that the staff were attentative, however we are disappointed that you found a few faults with your dinner.

We apologise that your meal was not to your liking and hope that this has not put you off returning in the future. We now have new chefs in the kitchen which are proving to be a real asset to the Dornoch Castle and a new menu which is newly priced and designed around all different palates. We hope you will return to try it out!

Kind Regards
All of the Staff at the Castle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

spent my husbands 50th birthday here, we stayed in the old courtroom. stunning original features with a sneaky modern on suite so all the mod cons with all the history and ambiance that this place has to offer. Service was great, our meal was stunning but in the morning breakfast and the service was a let down in comparison. We gave then this feedback when we settled our bill and the woman did say the morning staff were completely different to the evening staff and she would pass the info on. I hope this improved morning service. The only other niggle I have is that I booked the room for one night including dinner & breakfast and I believe the rate was £250 however, most of the quality options on the menu carried an extra cost, we were celebrating a once in a lifetime occasion and so ordered what we wanted and paid accordingly. As I said, they food was stunning, perhaps they should add an ext a £10 to the cost of the night instead of extra charges on the night! just a thought

Room Tip: try the old courtroom, the fire is real, huge and you can light it, no health and safety nonsense li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psychicempress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Good Evening,

All of the staff at the Dornoch Castle hotel are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

It is great to hear you had the pleasure of the Old Courtroom during your visit – it is flawless and really has the Old Castle feel to it!

We are glad that the evening meal and table service you received was great. We sincerely apologise however if you felt the breakfast service was not to the same standard. The staff in the morning is different to the evening staff, but this is no excuse and your comments have been passed on to the manager of Front of House staff.

We also appreciate your comments on the dinner, bed and breakfast rate and the extras you had to pay. We have now extended the amount you can spend on dinner to £70.00 for two persons without raising the room rate per night. We have also had an overhaul in regards to our menus and hope you will have the chance to check it out in the near future!

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay – we hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards
All of the Staff at the Dornoch Castle hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
5.1 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
23.9 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
13.3 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dornoch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornoch Castle Hotel

Property: Dornoch Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dornoch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle is located in the historic town of Dornoch across from the stunning 13th century Cathedral, boasting stunning views of the town. The central position of the hotel makes it ideal for exploring Dornoch, home to the world famous Royal Dornoch Golf Course, which overlooks the breath taking golden sand beach. Dornoch is also well situated for those looking to explore more of what the Highlands have to offer. The historic Castle is built on the site of the original Bishop’s Palace of St Gilbert, who founded the Cathedral in the early 13th century. The building eventually sold on and in 1947 became a hotel after some extensive work, which maintain much of the character of the Castle as a stately, historic and comfortable home. The Castle boasts a total of 22 en-suite bedrooms situated both within the original castle and the modern garden extension. There is a variety of room types available including; standard, superior, deluxe and our award winning Old Courtroom. Due to the castle’s layout each bedroom has its own special ambiance, great care has been taking in creating a distinctive character in each bedroom. The Castle's restaurant has retained an AA rosette standard, through the exceptional work from the chefs. The malt whisky selection is second to none and can be enjoyed in the cosy stone-lined whisky bar with the roaring fire to protect you from the Scottish winds, in the summer the walled garden is the perfect setting to relax during the long summer nights. Coming Summer 2016: The Dornoch Distillery will be opening soon on the grounds of the Dornoch Castle Hotel producing 'Old Style' Whisky and Hand Crafted Organic Gin from scratch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Dornoch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dornoch Castle Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing