We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but good quality accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Certificate of Excellence
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Expensive but good quality accommodation”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed one night here on a walk in basis and as we had the last room got a deal of about £50 discount. We stayed in room 10 which is in the tower and had a king size bed, lovely bathroom and lots of other touches such as a small drink of whisky in a decanter, coffee percolator and a good range of teas. The bed was comfy although the pillows were a bit flat and not appropriate for the standard of the room.
Breakfast the next morning was good, cooked fresh. However the cooked part came out whilst we were still having our cereal and I saw this happen for other guests.
The bar is very atmospheric and there is also another lounge area to sit in. Unfortunately wifi does not work in the rooms only in the public areas.
There is no lifts and some steps are steep so not suitable for everyone. Plenty of parking available. Dornach is lovely town with plenty of places to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valandroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Valandroy,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Dornoch Castle Hotel.

All of your comments are highly appreciated, especially those on the room and its extra little quirks and the standard of the breakfast you received. We are disappointed that you felt the service at breakfast wasn’t great whilst you were eating your cereal – we apologise that this has happened, this is not something that happens on a regular basis.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our Lounge area and bar as we try to make it as cosy as we can for our guests. Due to the thickness of the castle walls we have struggled to stretch the wifi signal through all rooms in the past, however, we have managed with quite few of the rooms since your recent stay, so fingers crossed we can eventually get access anywhere in the building.

We are sorry that you felt the steps were steep and not suitable for everyone, however we do have rooms on the lower floors which can be requested when reserving. We feel that adding a lift to the Castle would not be in the fitting with such an unique building.

We are all very pleased with your comments and hope you will return to us in the very near future.

Kindest Regards
All of the staff at the Dornoch Castle hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    255
    84
    44
    18
See reviews for
113
471
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had an enjoyable stay here. Great building and location. Our room was clean and serviceable. It was nice to have a welcome sherry and the tea/ coffee/hot chocolate selection was very good.
The bar was welcoming and it was good to see real ale as well as the expected range of whisky. We ate in the restaurant and the food was good both for dinner and breakfast. We found staff to be friendly and helpful.
I feel, like others, it was expensive. You are definitely paying for the history and location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiltshiremoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Wiltshiremoose,

Thank you for your lovely comments on your recent stay at our Castle.

We are extremely pleased to hear that your room was to your standards and that you enjoyed all of the extra little touches. We like to ensure that our guests get the most out of their stay.

Your comments regarding the range of Whisky that we have to offer are appreciated highly as the boys; Simon and Phil – along with our awesome barman, Scotty - take great pride in their collection, forever adding to the list. We are also pleased that you were able to have a relaxing meal in our Garden Restaurant during your stay and are glad to hear that it was good for you.

As a tight-knit team, we would all like to thank you for the comments on the staff. This is what we aim for over and above all and it’s great to hear that we are doing it well!
We hope you will return to our 15th Century Castle in the beautiful town of Dornoch in the future.

Kindest Regards
All of the staff at the Dornoch Castle hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Last week (16 to 21 August) was my second stay this year in this fantastic hotel. I must have been coming for around 13 or 14 years and never been disappointed in the Hotel or Dornoch. I hope I am still fit and able to visit the hotel again early next year.

Room Tip: I you cannot climb stairs then check, when you book, that there is a downstairs room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Jean S,

Thank you very much for your review!

We are very very pleased that you enjoy your regular stays with us and we do hope you will continue to return.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes
All of us at the Dornoch Castle hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverkip, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

A good hotel in a great location in the centre of Dornoch. Very good staff and super clean room and clean throughout the hotel. The bar is cosy although pretty expensive for a drink. The Hotel restaurant was pretty good for an evening meal although again fairly expensive for what it was.

Breakfast was great with a good selection and quick service.

A fine small hotel and although a little expensive. We would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Mickdo,

Thanks a lot for your lovely comments on the Dornoch Castle hotel.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the majority of the aspects of our 15th Century treasure and we are also pleased that you will return in the future. We are saddened to hear that you felt the meals and drinks were on the expensive side. Mikael, our head chef does his very best with all locally sourced and fresh ingredients and we would like to think that this shines through.

We do hope this has not deterred you from eating with us again in the future and hope to see you again soon!

Best Wishes
All of the staff at the Dornoch Castle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Ended up in Dornoch on a coincidence and as we didn't want to bother driving around looking for B&B's we spend the night in a room at the Castle Hotel.
The room was a standard twin bedroom - average but had what we needed for one night.
The hotel was clean and tidy throughout. Location couldn't be better.
The price was too high for a standard room if you compare to B&B's (and such a comparison is okay in my opinion). At that price for a standard room I would choose a B&B instead.
Wi-Fi only works in the bar and the common room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlayerCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear SlayerCopenhagen,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Dornoch Castle.

We are pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be clean and tidy. All of our housekeepers work very hard in order to offer clean and comfortable accommodation for all of our guests.

We do apologise if you felt your accommodation was not of a very high standard and was on the average side. When booked in advance we are able to give recommendations and advise on our best rooms and offers. When you arrive in the middle of the summer without reserving there is a very big chance that most of our rooms are already taken.

Dornoch is a beautiful town with a lot of history behind it and we are very proud to say that we are right in the center of something so great. So, if you decide to return to Dornoch in the future, give us a wee call and we will be more than happy to recommend something special for you!

Hope to see you again in the future.

Kindest Regards
All of the staff at the Castle hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our evening meal was fantastic. Attentive but not overbearing staff, beautifully cooked food and a good wine selection. Breakfast was ok, in hindsight I wish I had chosen the scrambled eggs and salmon as this looked lovely, our Scottish breakfast was ok, but didnt reflect the same quality food as the prev evening, also the serving team were nowhere near as attentive as the evening ones. Dont get me wrong, it wasnt bad, it was just that our evening meal was so memorable!
Our room was lovely, yes at the top of lots of stairs with no lift but what does it matter? - it would be sacrilege to put a lift into such an old building! The room itself was spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. We loved that there was a dram waiting for us! Would def revisit.

Room Tip: The garden rooms were more like chalets in the garden, we wouldn't have been happy to have one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netballgoalshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Netballgoalshooter,

Thank you kindly for all of your lovely comments, especially those on your evening meal and the service you received. Our chefs are proud of their rosette and do their very best year in and year out to maintain this. We do however apologise that you felt your breakfast and service was not to the same standard as your evening meal – we try very hard to offer the same standards throughout and are sorry that this didn’t seem to be the case on this occasion.

We are also very pleased to hear that you liked the room. Our rooms are all so unique and we are delighted that enjoyed all of the little extras too.

We do hope you will return to the Castle soon!

Kind Regards
All of the staff at the Dornoch Castle hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed at the Castle for one night. Reception was in the bar, which was okay, reception staff were pleasant and helpful, even when informing us we were on the third floor and their was no lift, receptionist also offered to help us with our bags.
Our room was large and spacious, and the complimentary sherry on arrival was a very nice surprise. There was also bath robes, very fluffy and cosy and flip flop slippers, which was a nice touch.
Our evening meal was very nice, we had friends with us and the staff were able to accommodate our guests last minute. Serving staff were friendly which made the atmosphere relaxed.
Cooked breakfast was acceptable.
We had a very nice stay here and would consider booking again if we were ever that far North again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMcL007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear AMcL007,

Thank you for your time taken to review your stay at the Dornoch Castle hotel.

We are glad to hear that you found reception to be helpful on arrival; we are more than happy to help with luggage as it is a bit of a walk up the stairs. We have considered a lift, but they weren’t around back in the 15th Century and we feel that it wouldn’t fit with the atmosphere in the rest of the building. With regards to reception, our cosy bar seemed like the perfect place for our first meet with guests.

Your comments on the room and the wee extra touches are very much appreciated as we love to go the extra mile for our guests. We are pleased you enjoyed the room and the evening meal with your friends.

We do hope you will join us again in the near future.

Thank you,
Kind Regards
All of the staff at Dornoch Castle hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.2 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
220 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
370 reviews
4.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 6 in Tain
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dornoch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornoch Castle Hotel

Property: Dornoch Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dornoch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle is located in the historic town of Dornoch across from the stunning 13th century Cathedral, boasting stunning views of the town. The central position of the hotel makes it ideal for exploring Dornoch, home to the world famous Royal Dornoch Golf Course, which overlooks the breath taking golden sand beach. Dornoch is also well situated for those looking to explore more of what the Highlands have to offer. The historic Castle is built on the site of the original Bishop’s Palace of St Gilbert, who founded the Cathedral in the early 13th century. The building eventually sold on and in 1947 became a hotel after some extensive work, which maintain much of the character of the Castle as a stately, historic and comfortable home. The Castle boasts a total of 22 en-suite bedrooms situated both within the original castle and the modern garden extension. There is a variety of room types available including; standard, superior, deluxe and our award winning Old Courtroom. Due to the castle’s layout each bedroom has its own special ambiance, great care has been taking in creating a distinctive character in each bedroom. The Castle's restaurant has retained an AA rosette standard, through the exceptional work from the chefs. The malt whisky selection is second to none and can be enjoyed in the cosy stone-lined whisky bar with the roaring fire to protect you from the Scottish winds, in the summer the walled garden is the perfect setting to relax during the long summer nights. Coming Summer 2016: The Dornoch Distillery will be opening soon on the grounds of the Dornoch Castle Hotel producing 'Old Style' Whisky and Hand Crafted Organic Gin from scratch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Dornoch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dornoch Castle Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing