We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Loved it here, stayed the weekend!

Place is stunning and the food & service was second to none!!

Would love to come back with my husband =)

Being able to stay in the themed rooms knowing who had occupied them before was right up my street..

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NirvanaGirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 805 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

It was Easter, the clocks were going forward and April Fools Day all happening the same weekend, I could not resist going away on my first trip of 2013. I headed off to Dornoch and the Dornoch Castle Hotel. Despite the cold weather I had a lovely welcome from the staff and a real log fire in the lounge. The bedroom I had was newly decorated and the garden was looking very colourful despite the freezing temperatures. The shops were open! What more could I ask for? Thank you all in Dornoch - the Castle Hotel and the Cathedral for a lovely five days.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel occupies a prominent position Castle Street offering parking on the main road and in a small enclosed car park owned by the hotel.

There is no “front desk” to welcome new arrivals. Instead, reception is located within the bar area, which can be slightly confusing to new visitors. That said, the bar area is welcoming and in the winter provides a roaring fire as a focal point. All staff were very friendly and helpful.

A short tunnel allows guests to move easily between the rustic bar, which is part of the original castle, and the modern restaurant which has been added to the rear of the hotel. Food is good with an imaginative menu and reasonable selection of wine. Our room was to the rear of the hotel, above the restaurant, which could become a little noisy as the evening wore on. However, from this side of the building we were able to enjoy a most welcome sunset in early March. Our room was a generous size, neither too hot nor too cold and the plumbing worked. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Dornoch.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Good Evening Douglas J,

Thank you for your lovely review of the Dornoch Castle Hotel.

We are delighted that you would recommend our hotel to anyone who is visiting Dornoch! Our staff aim to be friendly and helpful at all times so we are happy to hear that you found this to be the case.

Our evening Table d’hôte menu changes on a daily basis and this allows the chefs to continually create new and interesting dishes that will appeal to a wide range of customers.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,
All of the staff at the Dornoch Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Myself and my husband had dinner, bed and breakfast here to celebrate his birthday. We had been here before but this was the first time we had stayed overnight. The welcome was very good and the room was lovely with a nice view over the garden, it was a standard double room and quite large with a double and single bed. The dinner was very good and the staff were very attentive. The breakfast was excellent, the only complaint from me was the lack of grapefruit juice but then that is a personal thing. All in all I would recommend this hotel and Dornoch is a lovely place so would be ideal if you wanted a base to explore the far north of Scotland.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jintyjan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Good evening jintyjan2,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us at the Dornoch Castle Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff to be attentive. We are happy to help in any way possible. We try to cater for all of our guests needs and will look at extending our range of juices on offer at breakfast time.

We do hope that you will return to stay with us in the future.


Kindest Regards,
All of the staff at the Dornoch Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Restaurant review only - Big spacious light and airy restaurant with large windows and a pleasing absence of heavy tartan drapery, dark wood panels and so forth. We had excellent mussels in cream and garlic sauce (West coast mussels), fillet steak and venison.

The menu is Prix Fixee, but with several supplements. Price was around £25 for two courses. We had a bottle of Petit Verdot from Australia for £22, but it was a bin-end and so I don't know what the regular wine list price is/was. The wine list is quite extensive, though, and some interesting choices.

There is a dark and noisy bar attached to the restaurant - warm and lively with a big log fire.

Enjoyable meal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Intrepidity060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Intrepidity060,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. We aim to offer a pleasant and relaxing atmosphere in our restaurant and feel that the décor helps to achieve this.

We do have a rather extensive wine list which we hope offers something that will please every palette! We aim to make our bar area as welcoming as possible to ensure that all guests can enjoy a relaxing drink by the open fire.

Kindest Regards,
All of the staff at the Dornoch Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed a lovely evening at Dornoch Castle and were welcomed into the lounge by the glowing log fire and friendly staff. Lots of candles completed the atmosphere and we would happily have sat there if food was not high on our list of priorities. The meal was delicious, perfectly cooked local venison and a cheese board big enough to share. Breakfast was worth getting up for with fresh fruits and a great kipper. The smiling staff were helpful and if work had not been calling, we would have been happy to go for a walk and come back to sample the pile of homemade scones that were waiting in the lounge. Would definitely like to go back.

Room Tip: Ask the staff, they were very helpful when I phoned to book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marion_s661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Good Evening marion_s661,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Dornoch Castle Hotel.

We work hard to ensure that we create a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere in our bar area that can be enjoyed by all of our guests and customers.

Our staff aim to offer the highest level of service at all times and always do so with a smile! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your meal and your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards,
All of the staff at the Dornoch Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My sister was getting married on Saturday 30th March and they had booked us in to the Dornoch Castle Hotel. We stayed the Saturday night through to Sunday and cannot fault it at all. The staff where so friendly and could,nt do enought for you (what ever it was). The bedrooms where superb, our bed was nice and comfortable the room was very clean and they left a compliementry (small) cariff os Sherry, along with the tea/coffee/hot chocolate and shortbread biscuits. Down in the restaurant we went for the scallops, absolutly amazing (done to perfection). For main we had the Scottish beef fillet, asked for medium rare and again just perfect and melt in the mouth, just about managed to sqeeze a sweet in which was also 100%. We had an excellent nights sleep followed by a full Scottish breakfast which set us up for the day (as we where travelling back to Luton). I recommend this hotel 100% and would not hesitate to return in the future. EXCELLENT !!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sukisue55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Good Evening sukisue55,

Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor review!

We are delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your stay. The staff always enjoy having a wedding party to cater for and are happy to hear that every aspect of your stay was even better than you had anticipated.

All of the staff work together in a tight knit team to ensure that the service, meals, rooms and overall experience are all that could be expected and more!

We always appreciate feedback from our guests and hope you will return soon.

Kindest Regards,
All of the staff at the Dornoch Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.3 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
13.3 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
389 reviews
4.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dornoch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornoch Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range: $167 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dornoch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle is located in the historic town of Dornoch across from the stunning 13th century Cathedral, boasting stunning views of the town. The central position of the hotel makes it ideal for exploring Dornoch, home to the world famous Royal Dornoch Golf Course, which overlooks the breath taking golden sand beach. Dornoch is also well situated for those looking to explore more of what the Highlands have to offer. The historic Castle is built on the site of the original Bishop’s Palace of St Gilbert, who founded the Cathedral in the early 13th century. The building eventually sold on and in 1947 became a hotel after some extensive work, which maintain much of the character of the Castle as a stately, historic and comfortable home. The Castle boasts a total of 22 en-suite bedrooms situated both within the original castle and the modern garden extension. There is a variety of room types available including; standard, superior, deluxe and our award winning Old Courtroom. Due to the castle’s layout each bedroom has its own special ambiance, great care has been taking in creating a distinctive character in each bedroom. The Castle's restaurant has retained an AA rosette standard, through the exceptional work from the chefs. The malt whisky selection is second to none and can be enjoyed in the cosy stone-lined whisky bar with the roaring fire to protect you from the Scottish winds, in the summer the walled garden is the perfect setting to relax during the long summer nights. Coming Summer 2016: The Dornoch Distillery will be opening soon on the grounds of the Dornoch Castle Hotel producing 'Old Style' Whisky and Hand Crafted Organic Gin from scratch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Dornoch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dornoch Castle Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing