We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We booked a champagne break at this lovely hotel and requested the 'old courtroom', it was delightful! The room itself was wonderful, just like stepping back in time (with all the mod-cons) open fire, 4 poster bed, well designed to accommodate the en-suite (with jacuzzi bath). Staff were helpful and offered a warm welcome, attentive at meal times and unobtrusive when required. All in all a great experience and we'd be more than happy to return. Also very good at returning the things I left behind!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dylo-di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Hello Dylo-di,

Thank you very much for your lovely review!

We are all delighted with all of your comments, especially those about the room and the staff! Everyone pulls together to offer the best service possible and the housekeepers do there upmost to ensure all of the rooms are clean and welcoming!

We are also very pleased that it was a great experience for you. We hope that you will return in the near future!
Kind Regards
All of the staff at the Dornoch Castle Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (799)
There are newer reviews for Dornoch Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 799 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed in the Dornoch Castle Hotel for one evening - Room seven was clean, tidy. This is an old fashioned hotel so please do not expect modern fixtures or fittings. The toilet was set in the turret which was quite quirky and the bed was a lovely large slay bed. The water jet bath is ok however go for the four poster bed if you have the choice.

The best part of the Castle experience was the service. My partner's diet is gluten free and the staff were very attentive to our needs. So much so that they sent one of the kitchen staff off to the shops to stock up on gluten free bread for breakfast. Very kind.

Room Tip: Room seven has a slay bed, quirky bathroom and w/c. Close to the street lights so if you need comple...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A1tchison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed for a single night, sharing a twin room. Decor was ok, but room was small and the bathroom had basic plumbing problems (which we fixed ourselves). We didn't report them because we knew what was wrong! Noisy pipes caused by valves being set (installed) incorrectly. Simple room checks should have picked this up. We had dinner, bed and breakfast and both meals were pretty good, if not great. The staff were attentive, but somehow not quite engaged. We had to remind our dinner attendant a couple of reminders of what we had ordered. We arrived at the end of the dinner serving session (having called ahead to confirm) but they seemed more interested in finishing the session than making our dinner enjoyable. Not sure she was concentrating fully on the job? The general feeling we got was that the hotel needs a general update, especially in terms of decor and fittings. The staff were friendly enough, but we didn't get the sense that they were especially proud of their workplace or particularly interested in making it better. The single night cost £150 for dinner bed and breakfast for a twin room which is OK, but even at this rate I felt a little disappointed by the over all experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived to find a small and fillthy room net on window was as old as hotel dust all over mattress on bed was gone on one side when I booked and read reviews it said how spacious this hotel was our room was tiny I just could not stay so they did nothing to make us any happier not to add insult to injury my itison voucher was kept 89 pounds wasted shame the receptionist has a real attitude problem we couldn't sat y so we moved on would never recommend to anyone and I will. Be taking this further as the advertiser superior rooms look lovely on net. But in reality cheap tacky and unhelpful Moyra Smart

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moyra Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Moyra Anne S

I read your review with regret and I would like to clarify the comments you have made.
Firstly I would like to start with your comment about the room being dirty. I can confirm that the room was not dirty, I Inspected the room personally after you had left. Our Housekeeping department work very hard to ensure the cleanliness of our rooms to a very high standard.

With regards to rooms size, we are a castle hotel and do not advertise large bedrooms. Each room is different and some are larger than others; if room size is an issue for you then perhaps you should have mentioned this at time of booking.

Secondly you mentioned that nothing was done to make you any happier, even though the receptionist had offered an upgrade to our deluxe double, at the reduced cost of £60.00 which you then declined. You were very rude to the receptionist, and in my opinion you reacted horribly even throwing the room key at her when you stormed out of the hotel.

Finally I find you comment of ‘we would never recommend to anyone’ extremely malicious considering you only spent 30 minutes in the hotel. We have sold a large amount of the ITISON Vouchers and the majority of our guests have commented on how wonderful their stay was what a great deal they received and that they would love to return again.

Regards
Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed for one night, itison deal. Never felt it was a deal. Friendly efficient staff. Evening meal very good. Breakfast ok.
Lovely big room, some of furniture very tired and you nearly landed on floor- cushions had done there time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichtAberdeenshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights - 14th and 15th Feb, and had the wonderful Valentines menu. The food was excellent - both the evening meals, and the breakfasts. We had a garden room, which was fantastic. Loved the little touches such as the sherry and chocs on a tray, and the gorgeous teddy bear :-) The staff were all very friendly, and great at their jobs, special mention to Scott the barman - who kept us up late tasting the many malts etc on offer....!! All the guys are soooo knowledgeable about the various malts, and when we did the tour of Glenmorangie, the tour guide knew them well!! Hope to return later in the year, but would thoroughly recommend the hotel. Wonderful place - thanks for a great break.
Make sure you visit Dornoch beach, its soooo pretty, and you can walk for miles....

Room Tip: We loved the garden room, but to be fair didnt really see any other rooms to comprae...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Attended a friends wedding at Dornoch Castle recently, a beautiful building with a lovely roaring fire in the entrance lounge/bar. The food at the wedding was excellent, best roast potatoes I have ever had and my picky husband said the same. The staff and owners were all very friendly and helpful. Our room had older decor and furnishings but was clean, warm and spacious, bed was huge. Its a shame we couldnt have stayed longer to travel around the town, would return with the family again though.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mungoandalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.3 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
228 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
198 reviews
13.3 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
380 reviews
4.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dornoch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornoch Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range: $164 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dornoch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle is located in the historic town of Dornoch across from the stunning 13th century Cathedral, boasting stunning views of the town. The central position of the hotel makes it ideal for exploring Dornoch, home to the world famous Royal Dornoch Golf Course, which overlooks the breath taking golden sand beach. Dornoch is also well situated for those looking to explore more of what the Highlands have to offer. The historic Castle is built on the site of the original Bishop’s Palace of St Gilbert, who founded the Cathedral in the early 13th century. The building eventually sold on and in 1947 became a hotel after some extensive work, which maintain much of the character of the Castle as a stately, historic and comfortable home. The Castle boasts a total of 22 en-suite bedrooms situated both within the original castle and the modern garden extension. There is a variety of room types available including; standard, superior, deluxe and our award winning Old Courtroom. Due to the castle’s layout each bedroom has its own special ambiance, great care has been taking in creating a distinctive character in each bedroom. The Castle's restaurant has retained an AA rosette standard, through the exceptional work from the chefs. The malt whisky selection is second to none and can be enjoyed in the cosy stone-lined whisky bar with the roaring fire to protect you from the Scottish winds, in the summer the walled garden is the perfect setting to relax during the long summer nights. Coming Summer 2016: The Dornoch Distillery will be opening soon on the grounds of the Dornoch Castle Hotel producing 'Old Style' Whisky and Hand Crafted Organic Gin from scratch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Dornoch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dornoch Castle Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing