We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and romantic weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My girlfriend made me the surprise to invite me to the dornoch castle hotel for 1 weekend. What a fantastic weekend it was.
If you are looking for a nice and romantic break, here is the place.
She booked the room with the fireplace. WONDERFUL!
We ate at tje restaurant both night. Waiters are very friendly and and helpful. The food was absolutely fantastic. Probably the best i had so far in UK. Great product, tasty... very good. And specially for the price which is very reasonable.
All the staff was very helpful and friendly andsuggest us some visit to do.
If you are looking for a nice weekend to surprise you boyfriend, girlfriend, wife or husband, do not hesitate, this is the good place to book.
Will definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baptiste G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Good Evening Baptiste G,

Thank you for your lovely comments on your recent stay with us at the Dornoch Castle Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed it and that you had the opportunity of staying in our award winning deluxe room!

Your comments on the waiting staff are much appreciated, as are your comments on all of the other staff! We all do our very best to make our guests feel welcome and do what we can to make your stay more enjoyable!

We are very pleased with your comments on the meals and breakfasts you had during your stay too; we source most of the food that we serve locally!

We hope you will come for another romantic stay at the castle again soon and would like to thank you once again for a great review!

Kind Regards
All of the Staff at the Dornoch Castle Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (798)
There are newer reviews for Dornoch Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 798 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was a very warm and friendly hotel, staff were amazing, we stayed in the Catherdal View room between Christmas and New Year it was very nice, bathroom was a bit chilly...but what do you expect in a tower. The open fires are lovely, the place is immaculately kept. The restaurant food is to die for, the menu changed slightly every evening, breakfast was freshly cooked with good variety.
Overall our stay was good and we would definately visit again +++

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomthegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Hello 'Tomthegirl',

Thank you for your lovely review!

We really appreciate your comments; especially on the staff and the meals you had during your stay!

We were really pleased to hear that you felt everything was immaculet - Our housekeepers work very hard to maintain a high standard of cleanliness through-out our Hotel!

Once again, thank-your for taking the time to write such a kind review! We hope you will return in the very near future.

Kind Regards
All of the Staff at the Dornoch Castle Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband booked this for me for my sixtieth birthday. The hotel staff were well aware it was for my birthday, but made no effort what so ever to make it special in any way for me.
The breakfast was very disappointing. No selection of pastries or bread. The portions were very small, the one rasher of bacon was very thin and very very well cooked, so was the one sausage . One morning they had no mushrooms and they never offered us anything else, just a space on plate where they should have been!!
You would have expected nice fluffy WHITE towels but no, towels were very grey, should have been white, but that was a long time ago I feel sure. Also the towelling bath robes were also very grey and shabby looking.
Due to workers staying there, you had people constantly walking past your room from 5. 45 am every morning,making it impossible to sleep
So what should have been a pleasant experience was not and my sixtieth birthday will be remembered for all the wrong reasons!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Mary A,

I read your review with regret, for a number of reasons;

Firstly, your husband booked directly with me in November of last year and nothing at all was mentioned about your 60th birthday. When a guest reserves a room for a special celebration, we always make an effort to make their stay a memorable one. Unfortunately, if we are not advised of such an occasion - it makes it impossible to do so.

Secondly, you state that you were unhappy with your breakfast for a number of reasons. Why did you not speak to our restaurant supervisor, who was on duty each morning of your stay. She made several check backs with you to make sure everything was alright for you and your reply to her each time was “everything is fine – thank you”.

Finally, your husband checked out whilst I was on duty and on handing him the bill, I asked if he had enjoyed his stay, to which he replied; “we’ve both had a great time, thank goodness we’re getting the train home as it’s a very long drive!” He then settled his bill and cheerily left the hotel.

I find it very frustrating that when asked on several occasions, you were not forthcoming with the issues mentioned in your review. Instead of giving us the chance to resolve the problems, you left Dornoch Castle letting us all think that you had enjoyed your stay – then turned to Trip Advisor, leaving us with a terrible review.

I would like to discuss this matter with you directly, please contact me on 01862 810216 or ashley@dornochcastlehotel.com

Ashley Macdonald
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Mix the dream of staying in a Scottish Castle with the desire to know all there is about Single malt whiskey and the answer is visit Castle Durnoch. Open fires, four poster beds, thick plaid curtains, sherry and chocs in the room, a jacuzzi with underwater lights, gourmet food, many many drams and last, but by far the most important element - the very warm and friendly hosting of the Highland's best whisky safari. We stayed 3 nights, and were driven to visit 4 distilleries (Dalmore, Glenmorangie, Pultenay, Balblair) and had one tasting in the hotel: Clinelish/Brora....cos it was flooded. On the last evening we had a whisky themed gourmet dinner and a quiz afterwards. All breakfasts and lunches and travel included. I cannot recommend this trip too highly. We enjoyed every minute of it. The sons of the family who own and run the hotel were great; knowledgeable and fun. I knew nothing about whisky and thought it was not to my taste. It is now! Especially a malt liqueur on ice. Take an extra suitcase or bag to fill with the wonderful aromas and tastes of Scotland. We flew south from Inverness airport laden with goodies. A five star experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Took advantage of a TravelZoo deal and the hotel was perfect for a relaxing winter break. The staff were helpful, the room was spacious and comfortable and, best of all, the food was the best we've had for a long time. Really enjoyed the whisky tasting too. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Would agree with other reviewers that it's best to ask for a castle room rather than the annexe.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stoneywifie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are always very pleased to receive positive feedback from guests.

We are glad that you thought the staff were helpful and that your room was nice and comfy, and we are also happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal too!

It is great that you were able to experience some of the different whiskies behind our bar and even better that you enjoyed it! We hold Whisky Safaris too which have also proved a great hit with locals and also people from all around the World!

Thank you for your comments! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Castle in the future!

Kind Regards
All of the staff at the Dornoch Castle hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Groupon deal
We has a great stay and the hotel, the village & the beach are picturesque. There was a real old fashioned bonfire night torchlit walk to display at night led by a piper - it was Disney meets Brigadoon in all the right ways !!!! Spent teh night in upstairs lounge in front of log fire playing trivial pursuits with beer, wine, hot chocolate & wagon wheels .... beat that !!!!!!

Hotel was just the right balance of comfort, warmth & welcoming ... here comes the but .... except for a rather curt / rude receptionist on the Saturday morning - 3rd Nov - we were even too scared to ask for our free groupon bottle of wine !!!!

The night barman / porter stayed up late to welcome us at 1am on Friday night well above & beyond the call of duty - the breakfast staff were very helpful and cooked a braw scottish breakfast and the housekeeping kept the room spotless. Sunday morning receptionist restored the scottish warmth so left feeling better for her approach & charm

Room Tip: Garden Rooms looked a bit remote from hotel - might suit some - but liked the main hotel
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Good Evening,

Thank you very much for your review!

We are all very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Dornoch and got to experience the bonfire march, led by Willie the piper!

We are glad you felt you could relax in the lounge with board games and some warm beverages during your stay! We try our best to make the public areas warm and welcoming to guests. We would also like to thank you on the comments about the cleanliness of the room and the ‘braw’ Scottish breakfast too!

I am however very sorry to hear that you felt the receptionist on the Saturday morning was rude to you. This has been addressed and will not happen again. This is not our usual standard as we take pride in our service and friendliness to all of our guests.

Last but not least, we are very happy that you appreciated our Bar Man Scotty staying up to welcome you! Nothing is too much trouble at the Dornoch Castle Hotel.
We sincerely hope you will return to the Dornoch Castle Hotel in the near future!

Kind Regards
All of the Staff at the Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We took advantage of the special two night break and at the last minute added another night - glad we did. Staff were all very friendly as were the locals, food was excellent, log fire in the Old Courtroom was a great novelty. Overall could'nt fault the stay. Highliy recommeded for a romantic break. You must visit the Jail next door for shopping. It took me a couple of days to realise what was in there, its an Alladdins cave full of nooks and crannies fantastic for Xmas shopping.

Room Tip: Go for the Old Courtroom its great for an authentic "castle " feeling
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marjsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your time you have taken to write this review.

We are delighted that you had the opportunity to stay in the Old Courtroom – it is beautiful!

The staff are also happy to hear that you found them all very friendly and the food to be excellent too!

We are also happy that you were able to use the log fire - we look to have unique features and are always trying to improve and build on that.

Thank you very much once again and we hope you will return in the future.

Kindest Regards
All of the staff at the Dornoch Castle Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.3 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
228 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
198 reviews
13.3 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
380 reviews
4.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dornoch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornoch Castle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range: $164 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dornoch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle is located in the historic town of Dornoch across from the stunning 13th century Cathedral, boasting stunning views of the town. The central position of the hotel makes it ideal for exploring Dornoch, home to the world famous Royal Dornoch Golf Course, which overlooks the breath taking golden sand beach. Dornoch is also well situated for those looking to explore more of what the Highlands have to offer. The historic Castle is built on the site of the original Bishop’s Palace of St Gilbert, who founded the Cathedral in the early 13th century. The building eventually sold on and in 1947 became a hotel after some extensive work, which maintain much of the character of the Castle as a stately, historic and comfortable home. The Castle boasts a total of 22 en-suite bedrooms situated both within the original castle and the modern garden extension. There is a variety of room types available including; standard, superior, deluxe and our award winning Old Courtroom. Due to the castle’s layout each bedroom has its own special ambiance, great care has been taking in creating a distinctive character in each bedroom. The Castle's restaurant has retained an AA rosette standard, through the exceptional work from the chefs. The malt whisky selection is second to none and can be enjoyed in the cosy stone-lined whisky bar with the roaring fire to protect you from the Scottish winds, in the summer the walled garden is the perfect setting to relax during the long summer nights. Coming Summer 2016: The Dornoch Distillery will be opening soon on the grounds of the Dornoch Castle Hotel producing 'Old Style' Whisky and Hand Crafted Organic Gin from scratch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Dornoch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dornoch Castle Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing