We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming historic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming historic hotel”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Reception was very welcoming and the young man carried 2 heavy suitcases - well you have to pack to cope with all weather possibilities in Scotland - up 4 flights of stairs and refused a tip! Room 12 was warm with a very comfortable 4 poster and 2 single beds in a room the other side of the ensuite, but was up the aforementioned 4 flights of stairs so a degree of fitness and agility was required. Dinner was excellent with a very good wine list. Decor throughout was on the tired side, so the overall impression was rather pricy for what was on offer.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Good Evening Anne P,

I would like to thank you for your kind reveiw.

We are very pleased that your arrival was efficient with someone on hand to help you with your luggage! No tip needed, we are here to help!

We are also happy that your room was cozy and comfy for you.
We are delighted that your meal was excellent and that the wine list was good too.

Thank you for your comment on the décor – we are always working to improve this and try our best to stay up to date. The restaurant has also recently been redecorated!

Thank you once again for a lovely review.

Best Wishes,
All of the Staff at the Dornoch Castle Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    255
    84
    44
    18
See reviews for
113
471
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

3 of us on a cycling holiday stayed for one night, we arrived tired and grubby after a 30m cycle, what a warm reception we recieved we were really looked after by all of the staff, especially at the bar our glasses were kept topped up at all times which was much needed. We only fancied a light meal so opted for the cheese board and just sat in the bar and relaxed, thankyou.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppygrundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Poppy,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are delighted you felt really looked after by all the staff, we really try our best to make everyone feel at home! We are also very pleased that you felt you could relax in the bar with drinks and a cheese-board after an eventful day!

We hope you will return to the Dornoch Castle Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
All the staff at the Dornoch Castle Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I held our wedding reception at the Dornoch Castle Hotel in October, and had the most fantastic day. It was everything that we had hoped for and more. The staff at the Castle were extremely helpful throughout, offering good advise and suggestions in the run up to the big day and really went the extra mile for us.

The setting in the Castle is really spectacular and ideal if you are getting married in Dornoch Cathedral. Our guests commented that the food and the service were excellent and that they had never been offered a choice of meal previously at a wedding. We also very much enjoyed our stay in the Old Courtroom with its spa bath and four poster bed. Very romantic.

Thank you to Ros, Colin and all the staff at the Dornoch Castle Hotel for making our special day such a wonderful day to remember.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJR040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Good Evening,

Thank you very much for your review!

We couldn’t be happier to hear that you had the best day you could have hoped for at the Dornoch Castle Hotel!

During the run up, Ros – the wedding co-ordinator – works very hard, along with the rest of the staff to ensure everything runs smoothly for your big day!

We are very pleased that your guests enjoyed all of the food and the service provided. We are also happy that you found The Old Courtroom to be romantic and enjoyed it very much! It has won awards in the past.

Over all, I am delighted with your gleaming review and hope you will return for the anniversaries that are yet to come!!

Thank you very much and Kind Regards
All the Staff at the Dornoch Castle Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here on a discounted voucher which had us accommodated in a garden room. Despite other comments to the contrary the room was fine - not massive but very clean and presentable. Yes the plumbing was very noisy but it didn't stop us sleeping. We plan to go back but this time we'll be opting for a bigger room in the older part of the castle based on other recommendations but don't be put off by the negative comments about the garden rooms.

During our 2 night stay at the hotel we decided to eat in the restaurant both nights. We weren't disappointed on either occasion. Ham hock terrine and scallops the first night were both amazing although personally I found the wilted greens served with the scallops to be a bit too bitter and overpowered the delicate flavour of the scallops. My partner's choice of homemade soup the following night disappeared without a murmur but lots of happy nods. I opted for the Dornoch salad leaves and although it was a lot of money for some leaves it was really tasty. Main courses of mushroom risotto (lots of different types of mushrooms), chicken, pan fried loin of venison and lemon sole were all good choices and we had no complaints. It's a bit pricey but the quality of the food (plus their own take on an amuse bouch - canapes) and the delightful staff meant it was in our opinion money well spent. Breakfast was also superb - a good freshly cooked highland breakfast complete with local Dornoch butcher's sausage went down a treat both days and set us up well for the day ahead.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawndyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Dawndyloo,
Thank you very much for your comments.

I am very glad that you felt your room was clean and presentable. I am also very happy to hear that your evening meals in particular were very good. Not to mention your hearty breakfasts. Our chef Mikael is the proud owner of a rosette and tries his very best to maintain a very high standard of food service!

We were also pleased that you thought our staffs were delightful. This is their main goal alongside giving you the best service possible!

You talked about the plumbing being noisy – we are aware it is due an upgrade in the very near future and are working to do this in order to improve our Garden Rooms.

Once again, thank you very much for the time taken to write such a nice review!

Kind Regards
All the Staff at the Dornoch Castle Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spean Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Having stayed in the Dornoch Castle Hotel before a couple of times before, we had no misgivings about attending a recent family wedding held in this establishment.
The owners and the staff were as warm and inviting, as the open fire in the reception area was. The family wedding covered two nights, with an informal buffet the first night and a full wedding reception the next day. The staff and owners couldn't have been more pleasant or helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. Although it was obvious there was much work to do with the hotel full and the wedding to organise, you were never once made to feel as if you were in the way, at all. The pre-wedding buffet was tasty, but the Wedding Feast the next day was excellent. With canapés and bubbly on arrival after the church, which all looked appetising and a good pre-dinner tantaliser. The food at the reception was both delicious, beautifully presented and plentiful. The best I have had at a wedding reception in a long time. The staff did a very good job of getting it all served out to such a number, and it was hot when it arrived in front of you.
Well done to all at Dornoch Castle Hotel, and thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hello Spean L,

Thank you very much for a wonderful review!

We are all ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay at the Castle.

Weddings can be a lot of work, but when we tend to our guests, we will do what ever we can to make their stay that little bit more comfortable. Nothing is too much hassle!

We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed the Buffet, but mainly the meal served after the reception. All of our chefs work very hard to maintain their rosette, and it really pays off!

We are very happy with all of the points mentioned in your review and appreciate the time taken to write it!

We would like to see you return to the Castle in the future!

Best Wishes,
All of the staff at the Castle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiltern Hills UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

staying in a real castle was something we always had wanted to do and this was it. We splashed out on an expesive room in the old keep part of the castle. It was huge, well furnished and decorated, and had a proper four posteter bed, and a real log fire set in the grate. Jacuzzi bath for two and complimentary bottle of champers [the real stuff] together with good food in the restaurant made for a memorable 2 night stay.

ps: WC off the bathroom like a small broom cupboard under the stairs - no window - good thing I'm short, but bearing in mind this wouldn't have been in the mind of the designers/builders 400 yrs ago - you can forgive

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FussyfromTurnipEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dornochcastle, Front Office Manager at Dornoch Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hello!

Thank you ever so much for this lovely review!

Having stayed in the Old Courtroom, you could really experience the true feeling of a 15th Century Castle!

We make sure that we only use the best products and provide the best service that we can! We are glad you appreciated the Champers!

We are very pleased that all aspects of your stay were memorable!

The small loo in the Courtroom is in the old turrett giving it that little extra Castle feeling! We are sorry you felt it was very small, however - we try to keep the Castle rooms as real and Castle like as possible!

We hope you will return to the Castle for another memorable stay in the future!

Kind Regards
All of the Team at the Castle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I had wanted to stay here after visiting the area on a previous trip earlier in the year. So when the opportunity came up I rang to book a room only to be told they only had one room available that weekend, however the lady sold it to me on the basis it had a garden view!!
We arrived rather late on Friday evening after being held up, we were warmly greeted by the bar manager Scotty, and shown to our room. The room itself was quite dated and worn but not a deal breaker, for me sometimes that adds character. The bar was nice and relaxing and the food in the restaurant quite good(although very fish heavy so quite restricting for someone like me who doesn't like fish) but that's just my personal taste. We enjoyed the evening and retired to bed. Be aware of ro 15!!! Every time anybody else uses their bathroom it started the plumbing. Screaming in our room add that to the fact the walls are paper thin and our room had to be passed to get to other rooms we didnt get any sleep after 4am. The garden view turned out to be a view of a flat roof and conservatoy. I didn't complain as I'd previously been told they were full. Saturday night I ensured a bottle of red enjoyed with our meal would help, however we still had the same problem Saturday night. So on check out I mentioned it (after id paid the bill of £300 for 2 nights) only to be met with a very hostile and frosty response, absolutely no apology. Basically tuff you stayed here now we don't care if you come back. I have to feel very let down before I write negative feedback after all this is someone's business but on this occasion it's very justly deserved. After reading other feedback on here it's apparent it's not just a one off but they would rather just keep on taking money than deal with the problem.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.2 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
220 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
370 reviews
4.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 6 in Tain
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dornoch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornoch Castle Hotel

Property: Dornoch Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dornoch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle is located in the historic town of Dornoch across from the stunning 13th century Cathedral, boasting stunning views of the town. The central position of the hotel makes it ideal for exploring Dornoch, home to the world famous Royal Dornoch Golf Course, which overlooks the breath taking golden sand beach. Dornoch is also well situated for those looking to explore more of what the Highlands have to offer. The historic Castle is built on the site of the original Bishop’s Palace of St Gilbert, who founded the Cathedral in the early 13th century. The building eventually sold on and in 1947 became a hotel after some extensive work, which maintain much of the character of the Castle as a stately, historic and comfortable home. The Castle boasts a total of 22 en-suite bedrooms situated both within the original castle and the modern garden extension. There is a variety of room types available including; standard, superior, deluxe and our award winning Old Courtroom. Due to the castle’s layout each bedroom has its own special ambiance, great care has been taking in creating a distinctive character in each bedroom. The Castle's restaurant has retained an AA rosette standard, through the exceptional work from the chefs. The malt whisky selection is second to none and can be enjoyed in the cosy stone-lined whisky bar with the roaring fire to protect you from the Scottish winds, in the summer the walled garden is the perfect setting to relax during the long summer nights. Coming Summer 2016: The Dornoch Distillery will be opening soon on the grounds of the Dornoch Castle Hotel producing 'Old Style' Whisky and Hand Crafted Organic Gin from scratch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Dornoch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dornoch Castle Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing