We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amalfi Bed & Breakfast

Amalfi Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amalfi Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 19 Dornoch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
AUCHINLECK
1 review
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Good folk, good food, good accommodation, what more do you need? Some Bed & Breakfast places might be of equal standard to Amalfie, but I don't think there can be any which are better.
If Bed & Breakfast places get stars, then Edward and Marelle should get them all for Amalfi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rab M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
14foxy, Owner at Amalfi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Thank you so much! We enjoyed having you stay with us! I have found the Gaelic/English translation for 'sgoinniel' !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
60
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Simply terrific. A charming and totally comfortable home, delightful hosts (good food and great golf and dining info from our hosts). The house is a 3-wood from the first tee at one of finest golf courses in the world, and not much farther than that (maybe 1/4 mile) to the center of town and several very good restaurants.

Room Tip: It is not open in the winter, as the owners spend a half-year in Los Angeles. A great life!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
14foxy, Owner at Amalfi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you - we aim to please!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Hotel quality accommodations, friendly folks, nice chat over breakfast, espresso was great. Close to the golf club, nice walk to the beach and in to town. Would definitely stay again. Had fun exploring family history in the area.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
14foxy, Owner at Amalfi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you - glad you enjoyed your short stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, MD
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

After 25 years of talk, my brother and I finally made the trip to Royal Dornoch and their two fabled golf courses. The golf exceeded our expectations and we are dying to get back soon to this northernmost "Royal" golf outpost.

But, even more pleasant was our stay at the Amalfi B&B in Dornoch. The small guesthouse only has three rooms but they are immaculate and nicely appointed. Breakfast is authentic Scottish in every way and delicious--a choice of cereals, porridge, bacon, sausage, toast, potato scones, eggs (cooked to order), haggis, and black pudding plus the best coffee that I have ever had in my four trips to Scotland.

The location is amazing. Your are literally a few hundred yards from the Royal Dornoch clubhouse and their property actually is next to the 16th tee of the Struie course at Dornoch.

Setting all these superlatives aside, what makes this place wonderful are the hosts, Edward and Marelle Sierra. Edward is a Los Angeles native while Marelle actually hails from Dornoch. They are fun, funny, hospitable, interesting and very gracious. They gave us unerring tips on where to eat and even had great suggestions for two aging but enthusiastic golfers taking on the fabled links of Dornoch.

Over the years, I have stayed at perhaps hundreds of inns and B&B's. None comes close to the Amalfi in being such a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayekapostle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
14foxy, Owner at Amalfi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
The pleasure was as much ours - we really enjoyed your stay here, and feel we have made new friends! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

This is the way they pronounce PERFECT. In all respects Marelle and Edward were the perfect hosts. Very Clean and excellent breakfast. Highly recommend! Easy walking distance to village and golf course.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
14foxy, Owner at Amalfi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! Maybe you were the parefect guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Although I am not a usual reviewer I do feel compelled to comment on the Amalfi B&B. In short everything that you would want, good clean and well appointed room, welcoming, friendly (especially to my 2 chiledren who wanted to stay forever !) and within a stones throw of the 2 Dornoch courses (and others in the area). Both Ed and Marelle were great hosts and the breakfast was one of the best ever provided. Finally for the golfers Ed`s golf knowledge is second to none and always usuful ahead of a round on the Championship course. If you need a B&B in Dornoch look no further.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kennyr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
14foxy, Owner at Amalfi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Always nice to hear comments such as yours - we appreciate the time taken to write your review!
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Nice location for golfers playing royal Dornoch. Rooms and bathrooms are nice. Breakfast was great. Now the negatives:
No other rooms (living room, etc) are available to guests. We inadvertantly left on a light over night and we told under no uncertain terms that what we did was unacceptable and that we need to be more careful and not repeat that. "try to do better today" In addition my son made the mistake of walking through the kitchen the first morning. He was told that he shouldn't do that. He quickly apologized, but the response that came back was "well, it's too late now."

We felt on edge the whole time there after that.
If you can handle the personality of the owner the accommodations are ok enough. I would not go back there, though. We did not feel welcome, just tolerated.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jointdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
14foxy, Owner at Amalfi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
As the owner of Amalfi I am always grateful when a guest takes the time to review my bed and breakfast. I am happy that they enjoyed their breakfasts, and the rooms and bathrooms were satisfactory.
However I do feel some of this guest’s remarks have to be put into context. Firstly, my website makes no mention of a resident’s lounge - if guests require this facility they should look for (and expect to pay for) a guest house. Typically B&Bs do not provide this facility. Secondly, and I am sure all b&b owners will empathize with this one, the issue of the light left on overnight. This was not simply a light but the shower room light, which meant the extractor fan was whirring away for some 10 hours. I was concerned the motor might overheat after that length of time. We knew the guests were in, and hoped they would put the light off, but it obviously didn’t concern them sufficiently. There was no big issue made of it but it was mentioned, just hopefully to prevent a repeat of this on the next evening. Thirdly, I do not recall the exact wording used when one of the guests used the kitchen as a shortcut to the dining room, but I think he took it rather too seriously. This often happens, and if it bothered me I would put a ‘Private’ sign on my kitchen door, so I think he was being rather over-sensitive.
These guests were only booked in for 2 nights, and playing36 holes of golf each day, so feeling ‘on edge the whole time after that’ given that we hardly saw them again until breakfast the next morning seems a little exaggerated. They omit to mention that a cooked breakfast was placed in front of them at 6.45 am, which is something that should not be expected from every b&b.
I have never had my personality questioned in the past, and I feel hurt by this comment, especially as at breakfast the following morning the atmosphere was very jovial, and at no time was there any indication of discord.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.2 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
0.3 mi away
at No 9
at No 9
#1 of 19 in Dornoch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalfi Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Bed & Breakfast

Property: Amalfi Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5 River Street, Dornoch IV25 3LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amalfi, a friendly family-run B & B, owned by a Dornoch native and the closest B & B to Royal Dornoch (300 yards) yet only 400 yards from the town square. The rooms are clean and spacious. The breakfast is wonderful, including fresh bread made daily. Your comfort and satisfaction are our priorities; we take pleasure in achieving that ‘home from home’ atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you to Amalfi, arriving as guests and leaving as friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amalfi Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalfi Bed & Breakfast Dornoch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing