We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amalfi Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 18 Dornoch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed here at the start of the month. We were not disappointed, the hosts were excellent and the room was great. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aldav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 148 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2011

We have just returned from a weeks golf in dornock. We stayed at the Amalfi B&B whitch is only a five iron distance from the first tee at Royal Dornock. We found on arrival a very warm welcome from the owners, Marelle & Edward. The rooms very clean and tidy as you would expected. The breakfasts are as good as any 5star hotel I have stayed in. From the home made bread to the locally sourced produce. Thanks to Marelle Edward, I hope to return one day soon. Paul from Ayr

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakeman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This B&B was perfectly located to the centre of the most lovely village. This accomomodation was beautifully kept and the breakfast was amazing.Our host was so welcoming and went out of her way to ensure our stay was perfect. Situated next to the golf club and the beach was just fantastic and was quiet at night for a greatt sleep!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snapper13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The B & B was perfectly located at the beach end of Dornoch, so quiet & peaceful & within walking distance of the beach in one direction & the town centre in the other (& very near the golf course, if golf is your reason for being there).

The accomodation was clean & comfortable with all needs well catered for (including the comfort of heating, when needed, even in late June) with a lovely lounge & breakfast room overlooking a large, lawned garden, complete with cat-chasing peacock!

Marelle, our hostess, was very welcoming & accomodating (if you'll excuse the pun) & made us all feel at home.

The icing on the cake, perhaps, was her unbeatable filter coffee in the mornings - a rare treat in UK catering!

Room Tip: There are only three rooms (one double, one twin & a family room) - all are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epic-zero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Spent 4 nights here on family trip in June. Everything was very good - clean and comfortable rooms with nice little touches such as the wine glasses - very useful Marelle! It was nice that the heating was on too as it wasn't very warm during our stay but we didn't suffer because of this. Breakfast was fabulous and we still miss our morning haggis! Marelle was very friendly and helpful and we couldn't have asked for a better stay. Will definitely stay there again if we go back to that area.

The only reason for the 3 stars for Sleep Quality is because I have a bad back and the mattress was a bit soft for my taste but I know everyone else in our group was very comfortable so this should not detract from a very good review.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonandJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Great location, close to beach and golf course. We received a warm welcome from our hosts, Marelle and Edward. We had a family room which was very spacious and a roomy bathroom. The wonderful breakfast was cooked to order and served at a communal table shared with other guests. We stayed 2 nights on our tour of Scotland but would have happily stayed here longer.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pandys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights B&B and what a warm welcoming B&B to stay in. Marelle was so lovely, we felt really at home and my partner had one of the best Scottish breakfast in a long while.

Location is great for a wonder round peaceful Dornoch and a great base for travels around the area. We will defo be back at some point in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacMacG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dornoch hotels
0.3 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
at No 9
at No 9
#1 of 18 in Dornoch
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fionn Lodge
Fionn Lodge
#2 of 18 in Dornoch
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
2 Quail Guest House
2 Quail Guest House
#3 of 18 in Dornoch
81 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Steading
The Steading
#7 of 18 in Dornoch
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalfi Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalfi Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5 River Street, Dornoch IV25 3LY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Dornoch
Price Range: $109 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amalfi, a friendly family-run B & B, owned by a Dornoch native and the closest B & B to Royal Dornoch (300 yards) yet only 400 yards from the town square. The rooms are clean and spacious. The breakfast is wonderful, including fresh bread made daily. Your comfort and satisfaction are our priorities; we take pleasure in achieving that ‘home from home’ atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you to Amalfi, arriving as guests and leaving as friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amalfi Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalfi Bed & Breakfast Dornoch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing