We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hogmanay in Dornoch.”
Review of The Eagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Eagle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Stayed in The Eagle between Hogmanay (31/12) and 03/01.

This is a very cosy hotel and I enjoyed my stay immensely. This hotel used to be run privately by the people who now own The Bank House across the street. The landlord is a lovely woman and any time we needed more towels etc it was provided at once. There was also a problem with the toilets and this was swiftly dealt with.

Not bad considering it was Hogmanay and the bar was hugely busy.

I noticed that someone complained about the breakfast and I thought it was alright but nothing to really write home about. Dinner was not too bad, wasn't too impressed with their Steak Pie though. The club sandwich was delicious!

Saying all this though I will be back for Hogmanay 09/10 and I'm looking forward to it. I will post a couple of pics of the bedrooms too.

What you must understand though is that this hotel is a bit old fashioned. The interior is dated but it is extremely comfortable and very warm. The beds were also very comfy. If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact me.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blulightning747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 201 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2008

We stayed at the Bank House. Which was superb. Great room, comfy rocker chairs, fabulous bath. However we had to take breakfast at the Eagle Hotel. The staff were attentive and helpful but the quality of food was poor. Probably worst cooked breakfast I've had. Cheap coffee too. Breakfast - terrible. Room - Excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darter112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2008

Booked this hotel after finding the website and emailing the property. Requested a superior twin room to stay in with my mother. When we arrived at the hotel the pub looked a bit dated and on visiting the toilets for the bar didn't have very high expectations. Was greeted however by very friendly staff and taken up to a lovely family room. This had a main room with kingsize bed and comfortable rocking chairs. There was also an adjoining room with two twin beds and a lovely bathroom with whirlpool bath between the two rooms. The jets in the bath were luxurious. Breakfast was fairly standard but ok. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and thought Dornoch was lovely. The hotel was very central to the main village.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickitoriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

We had a group of four golfers for three nights. It was an ok experience at the Eagle. We were in the main hotel. The rooms were adequate. The beds were comfortable. On the down side, not much water pressure and our room was just above the kitchen so it smelled like fried food all the time. For what we paid, we probably got a fair deal. The food in the bar was good and the people nice. Service could be quite slow at times. Having said this, the Eagle is as probably as good as accomodations get in this area. The level of activity is just not there to support the quality of accomodations found further south. Of course, it is worth it to play Royal Dornoch...and don't miss Brora!

Based on the other reviews, make the request to be in the Bank House.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USCGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

We stayed three days in July in Dornoch and can't say enough good things about the town and the Eagle Hotel. We stayed in the hotel itself (£35 per person including breakfast). Nice room, though small. Our friends stayed in the hotel's "Bank House" annex across the street (£55 per person including breakfast). Their room was fabulous! Huge, and had a washer-dryer, and luxurious bathroom. Breakfast was very good, with lots of choices. The bar of the Eagle was a great place for dinner and socializing--many local people came there, and it was crowded but fun. The people who worked at the Eagle were so hospitable and kind, in spite of being in the very busy season, that they showed warm small town friendliness. We'll come again!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean5388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for one night. There is the hotel and the Bank House down the road which is part of it, where we stayed.
The room was a decent size with a nice bathroom, although the bed wasn't very confortable.
Breakfast was ok but the staff were rushed off their feet and some guests complained that they'd had to wait too long for their food.

I can't comment on the food in the pub/restaurant as although we went there for dinner, we were seated (squashed) in between 2 other tables of pub-goers. It was too busy and loud so we left and ate at the Dornoch Inn at the end of Castle Street (fairly priced, friendly staff but not brilliant food - nice enough though).

However as the Eagle was full of locals I am sure that the food would have been nice there.

All in all it was a nice hotel and I think you couldn't really ask for more in a small village. I would stay again as the rates were reasonable for what it was and the staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Elzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2007

As other reviews suggest, this is a friendly and comfortable place to stay (like much accommodation in the Highlands, a little stuck in the 70s, but clean and reasonably maintained). My main problem was the noise - not from the pub or the town, but the room next door. Every amorous move the couple made was audible to me in bed, trying to sleep - which was frustrating and frankly embarrassing. And they weren't trying to be noisy - the walls meant we could hear everything.

The food in the pub is only OK - Lonely Planet implies it's better, and perhaps they used to have more local/home-cooked food? Mostly seems basic/packet stuff now.

Do visit the lovely shops (Jail, and the one opposite) in town - much higher standard of goods and presentation than you'd expect from a small town.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.1 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
817 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
487 reviews
4.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
234 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
4.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 6 in Tain
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range: $118 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle is a small 9 bedroom hotelsituated in the heart of Dornoch. The ambient setting is a wonderful starting point for any globetrotter looking to take in the spectacular scenery with breathtaking views. Close by is the award winning beach and the world famous championship Royal Dornoch golf course.The Eagle boasts great hospitality home made food real ales, craft lagers and an extensive Scottish gin and malt whisky collection with surroundings that have a modern take on tradition keeping true to its heritage. All of our en - suite rooms have recently been refurbished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Hotel Dornoch
The Eagle Hotel Dornoch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing