We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non-Burgers!”
Review of The Eagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Eagle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Embo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Non-Burgers!”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I decided, against all the advice of locals, to try the food at the Eagle Hotel in Dornoch. It was Wednesday (Burger Day) we ordered the special burger at £10 for two. The manager (or whatever employee he was) served us our drinks and took our orders then disappeared. No customers (other than us) and no staff to speak to. The bell rang and we knew it was our order because there were no other customers. The manager (or whatever) went for our burgers and served us (quite politely). The meal was served on a wooden board (a bit unhygeinic we thought) but we tried the burger with salad, coleslaw & Chips.
The burger bun was cheap and sticky, the homemade burger fell out of the bun,in bits, when bitten and it was totally tasteless with no seasoning at all. The salad was OK and the coleslaw may have been homemade or bought in.
The manager (or whoever) was most apologetic, and said that he and the Head Chef agreed they were disgusting, and he did not charge for the meal. We were grateful for that gesture but will not be back, unless we hear any good reports.
We were also not very happy that we were the only two in the bar and the employee disappeared, leaving us on our own at all times.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emboalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    54
    28
    24
    19
See reviews for
51
57
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Hard to get accommodation that part of the world any time of year but decided on this hotel the room was very basic and coffee maker hadn't been cleaned from previous guest, didn't sleep all night due to banging which I assume was water pressure in another part of the hotel. Couldn't fault the breakfast and previous nights dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stoicstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Visited the hotel for dinner, the restaurant/ bar has been renovated and is very nice and modern. The member of staff was very nice. Food was delicious, well presented and very tasty. A decent portion size too. Reasonably priced

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine_C268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My Wife and i took advantage of the 2 Night Break advertised in Local Papers , it was much better than we were expecting for the price , It is a old Hotel but the service , food & Cleanliness allayed any fears we had , The Heating was excellent for a few cold nights in October , Staff were very pleasent & helpfull , I would find it hard to find any fault with the Hotel & the Breakfast was good , We had a evening meal in the Hotel on 1st night and enjoyed the Lentil & Red Pepper soup ( very hot ) Gammon Steak & Sticky Toffee pudding , in a nutshell for under £100 for 2 people for 2 nights B & B with 1 evening meal included, simply amazing value for money and we enjoyed the experience

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the Glenlivet Room without even asking at no extra cost , It is really a Family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecowikaniko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We waited over an hour for food, on a very non busy night. The staff kept telling us our food was just being plated up and wouldn't be more than 2 minutes, 15 minutes later we were still waiting. When the food did arrive we were very underwhelmed, the food was bland and under seasoned, if it wasn't for the in-laws I would have complained there and then but they just wanted to pay up and get out of there. My wife sent an email the following day with no response or apology from the hotel. Needless tosay we won't be eating there again and we would not recommend the place to anyone else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dornoch hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed at the Eagle for three nights and I enjoyed my stay very much.
I found the room to be spacious and the bed to be comfortable.
The food was of a high standard with the portions of a good size.
The staff at the hotel were polite and efficient with nothing being to much trouble.
Overall a cracking hotel which I look forward to returning to.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alimac19803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at the Eagle for two nights on a golf vacation. The room was basic but quite spacious for a small hotel. The restaurant had good food and breakfast was very good, and they opened it up early for us since we had to leave early on our day of departure. A small quibble was the bathroom. It was clean and spacious, but the layout made it difficult to use the shower without getting water on the floor, and the toilet seat wouldn't stay up ( a minor problem for the two of us male golfers on this trip). A good value hotel, and very close to Royal Dornoch links. It was also a short walk into the center of the city for other restaurants and good shopping.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gogiandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.4 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
759 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
191 reviews
11.4 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Hotel

Property: The Eagle Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle is a small 9 bedroom hotelsituated in the heart of Dornoch. The ambient setting is a wonderful starting point for any globetrotter looking to take in the spectacular scenery with breathtaking views. Close by is the award winning beach and the world famous championship Royal Dornoch golf course.The Eagle boasts great hospitality home made food real ales, craft lagers and an extensive Scottish gin and malt whisky collection with surroundings that have a modern take on tradition keeping true to its heritage. All of our en - suite rooms have recently been refurbished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Hotel Dornoch
The Eagle Hotel Dornoch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing