We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally shambolic”
Review of The Eagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Eagle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I have been going to dornoch for over 20 years and booked this 2 night break in the Eagle as it has been closed for a refurb and was advertising superior rooms.This Inn has changed hands several times over the past 2 years and has fallen into to the category of terrible.Our room was digraceful for the amount we paid.All money has clearly been spent downstairs and not 1 penny upstairs as they have a cheek advertising them as superior rooms. It was chaos from start to finish, with not getting our room key till 5.30pm as the cleaner hadn't shown up, to missing my golf tee off time on the Sunday as we were locked in as the key holder didn't turn up to open the front door to let us out,which I consider a total health and safety hazard.The food is now mediocre and staff untrained and unproffesional.Lots of much nicer places in Dornoch.

Room Tip: There is no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackihig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPI_Admin, Owner at The Eagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Hello.

Thank you for your feedback. We always welcome feedback, good or bad and I am disappointed that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations.

II would like to address your points one-by-one.

First of all, we have been owners of this hotel for the past 2 and a half years, it has not changed hands "several times" as you put it.

Second you state that you were "locked in" the hotel, although anybody will know that it would be illegal to have a building where there was no route of escape. In fact the room you stayed in was opposite a fire escape door, and EVERY one of our doors can be opened from the inside without exception.

Thirdly you say that you missed your tee-off time although if I recall correctly you came down for breakfast as breakfast service was finishing and we kept the dining area open for you to enjoy a late breakfast.

You mentioned that you did not get your key until 5:30. I apologise for this as we do advertise our check in time from 5pm.

In terms of staff training, you visited us on opening weekend and I can only apologise that the service was less than acceptable. This I agree with and have addressed.

In terms of the other items in your review, I am disappointed as I feel that on this occasion this site has been used for purposes other than an objective, balanced review for other travellers.

Regards

Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 199 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2012

Went in for meal for 5 adults. the place looks like it has just been refurbished and is very nice, service from waiting staff poor, no leadership, plenty of staff but no one had a clue what each other was doing. we had to wait 30mins for our order to be taken (which we had to ask them to do) when food arrived was very good and reasonably priced. we then asked for a desert menu, waited another 10mins and got a bill!!! Staff need to communicate better and someone needs to take charge

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bouncychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

The Eagle has had a complete make-over and the new bar and dining room are excellent BUT we sat for 25 minutes waiting for our order [not good when you have two very hungry children with you!!!]. Then we ordered desert [two scoops of ice cream] and waited a further twenty minutes before giving up and asking for the bill.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Tom_Tank_Engine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPI_Admin, Owner at The Eagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Hello.

Thank you for your feedback.

As I have mentioned in my other responses, I can wholeheartedly accept that the level of service at the time of your visit was less than acceptable, and apologise sincerely for that fact.

I can confirm however, that these issues have been addressed now and service is exponentially better. It is unfortunate that these issues never surface until you reopen the doors and serve real customers for the first time, however it has been a learning experience for us, and I'm happy to say an experience that has allowed us to change things for the better.

Kind Regards

Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

the eagle hotel do some very good meals but the hotel was a bit run down with windows that would not close because the handles were broken, (remember it blows very cold in scotland at times) plus the heating was turned off,
the last time i booked in at the eagle we arrived to be told "you will be stopping in the old bank house" this being 100 yds further down the road, we were shown the room and the manager disappeared we put the bags down in the room and spent the next hour cutting away ivy (that had grown in through the windows that had been left open all winter before we could close the windows, this is in april),
the room was very big just like in the olden day's when it was a bank about 20' x 20' and ceiling about 12' high, in the room there was one 4 foot radiator that just got warm after three days, we spent most of our time in the room in the bathroom as it was the warmest place,
my wife and i would never stay here again,
in the bar of the eagle hotel all the hoteliers were having a meeting one lunch time (remember this is the second week in april ) and we could not help but overhear what they were talking about and one hotelier say's "what are we going to charge them next year" talk about being greedy they never even started this season and they were talking about how much they could rip their customers off for the next year,
we have since stopped going to scotland for our holidays as all they think about is the golfers not just the ordinary customers who go for a quite holiday.

Room Tip: don't. stop somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick45_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPI_Admin, Manager at The Eagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

Good Afternoon Nick-45

Having read your review it is unfortunate that your previous stay in Dornoch was dissapointing for your self and your wife.
However the Eagle is now under new ownership and new management and we are currently undergoing a total re-furbishment witch will be complete at the end of March.
At this time i am unable to comment on previous management or ownership as this was before my arrival eight weeks ago.

We appreciate greatly the views of all guests new and old and have taken on board all comments made.

Kind Regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The A9 was blocked with snow so we popped in here on the off chance of a room last year and got lucky. Had a very nice warm comfortable room.
Good wholesome bar meals in the busy bar full of locals.
Great place to stay and not expensive.

Room Tip: Great bar meals and a nice big room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Teddybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I have been a few times for a meal and desperately want this place to be good, as I am a local. However...menu looks promising but everything seems to be microwaved to within an inch of it's life. Mashed potato like wallpaper paste with lumps in it. The place is also grubby, dead flies in window in winter!?
Dornoch generally lacks somewhere to go for a good meal (Castle is lovely but expensive!) and it says it all that the best place to pop out for tea is the cafe at the service station at Evelix on the A9!! Better going to Carnegie Lodge in Tain or even better keep going to the Shandwick a couple of miles past Nigg roundabout.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HebrideanPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EPI_Admin, Manager at The Eagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

We have read and taken on board, and appreciate the coments made by previous customers, all the necessary adjustments have been made to ensure that all our customers have an experience to write favourably about in the future.

The Eagle has recently gone under new management, and there is a substantial refurbishment that is going ahead on the 5th March 2012, the Eagle will relaunch shortly afterwards with a new outlook, new menus and all round great hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

This really is not a nice hotel. I stayed one night and had to endure karoke until 1ish am and then listen to the racket outside whilst the drunk punters dispersed. Food is is not enjoyable and staff are about as happy and friendly as a funeral director telling you your relative has suddenly come back from the dead.
Whilst watching the rugby we asked to have the tv sound put up and were told no its against the rules. We were the only 3 in there!
I'd like to say something positive but I can't.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the_globtrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.4 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
804 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
4.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#4 of 6 in Tain
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range: $117 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle is a small 9 bedroom hotelsituated in the heart of Dornoch. The ambient setting is a wonderful starting point for any globetrotter looking to take in the spectacular scenery with breathtaking views. Close by is the award winning beach and the world famous championship Royal Dornoch golf course.The Eagle boasts great hospitality home made food real ales, craft lagers and an extensive Scottish gin and malt whisky collection with surroundings that have a modern take on tradition keeping true to its heritage. All of our en - suite rooms have recently been refurbished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Hotel Dornoch
The Eagle Hotel Dornoch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing