We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dornoch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Links House at Royal Dornoch
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I recently spent a very memorable long weekend at Links House. Situated just next to the first tee of Royal Dornoch Golf Club, Links House captures your attention the moment you drive up. It is a lovingly restored old mansion and coach house with a well-maintained putting green between the two. As you enter, it gets even better. No detail has been left to chance. Stunning furnishings, art, and old books fill both the common rooms as well as the bedrooms. Though it is all new, it maintains an air of historic permanence. But perhaps best of all is the staff of Links House. Beverly (manager), Michael (jack-of-all-trades), and the chef (Darren, I believe), conspired to make the weekend truly amazing. From arranging transportation for the group to get to the various golf courses in the area, to plying us with tasty cocktails both before dinner and after dinner by the outdoor fireplace, to cuisine that can only be called "five star", each day we were there was better than the one before. Conclusion: you owe it to yourself to go to the Highlands and spend a few days at Links House. Whether you are a golfer or not, your stay there will be truly outstanding.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Links House at Royal Dornoch
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 187 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Links House in Dornoch, Scotland is a small, exquisite boutique hotel literally steps from the first tee at Royal Dornoch. Aside from its ideal location, the Links House offers a private, elegant atmosphere with spectacular service. It is beautifully decorated, well appointed, and no details have been missed. Our room was large and sunny, overlooking the private putting green and the bowling club across the road. The linens were first rate and the beds comfortable. The room was beautifully decorated and comfortable, with plenty of reading lamps and well thought out closet arrangements.

The staff is sophisticated and capable, very much in keeping with atmosphere the House. The chef is world class, and our meals were spectacular.

We will definitely return to Links House.

Room Tip: Every room is a good room!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley N, General Manager at Links House at Royal Dornoch, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you Susan for your very kind words and for noticing the detail that has gone in to Links House. As a team we are always focused on allowing our guests to relax and enjoy the peaceful surroundings whilst ensuring that every need is catered for. Under stated , quiet service is our goal and we continue to look for new ways to make this happen.

It is also fun to be at Links House which I hope you found too

Come back soon

Beverley Navarro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I just enjoyed a long weekend of golf, scenic countryside, fine meals, even finer wine and an ambiance in Dornoch, Scotland and the centerpiece of all of this was the Links House at Royal Dornoch. The attention to detail and thougthful decor was only exceeded by the understated but five star service from Michael and Beverly. And the food was among the best I've experienced.

I would highly recommend the Links House for golfers and non-golfers alike. The beauty of the Scottish countryside is well-complemented by the elegance and quality of the Links House.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a memorable stay at the Links House. We were completely spoiled, the sophisticated staff looked after our every need. From arranging golf tee times to coordinating a fly fishing excursion we knew we were in good hands. My husband left his golf shoes at another golf curse and the house manager had them returned to us right away. The food is excellent, with a focus on local ingredients. The entire experience takes place in a Manor House that makes you feel like you are visiting a wealthy relative who has impeccable taste. The setting is breathtakingly beautiful. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

After a 5 day stay at Links House, I have now experienced (for me) lodging perfection. Hard to articulate it, but I will try. Imagine Peninsula/Oriental quality rooms, add exquisite country home decorating, throw in a private butler - the impeccable Dutchman, Michael, an attentive concierge - the sweet and efficient Beverly, then add to that a fantastic restaurant serving local food by Darren, who will doing a "stage" at one of the best restaurants in the world in the off-season, and...if you can possibly fathom this...place a private putting green, a sporting house (or "Bothy") to store and dry clubs, fishing gear and (yes) painting supplies.....and put this all within 30 yards of the first tee at Royal Dornoch Golf Club and you may begin to comprehend the under-stated elegance, yet grounded sophistication of Links House.

There's a 55" flatscreen in the library next to original local oil paintings. Fire places everywhere. First edition books. BUT, view this gem as not just for golfing accommodations. You can truly have a Scottish Highlands sporting experience here with golf, trout/salmon fishing, stag stalking and hiking. (Just please ask about "The Holy Trinity"!!)

This is a destination-worthy hotel where the itinerant golfer can fly into Inverness (or drive from Edinburgh), play Dornoch, Nairn, Castle Stuart, Moray, Brora and Golspie and have a perfect mix of the better known and the hidden gems. Plus, the weather seems to be more moderate and less rainy in Dornoch's micro-climate.

There are not enough good, no make that great, things to say about the total experience at Links House. Sadly, I would bet that reservations will be tight in mid-season for years to come.

Room Tip: There is only one room that I would not want and that is on the first floor of the main house.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chi-Highlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I left Links House last week and I longed to return immediately. I left the most tranquil beautiful place we have been for a long time. Links House made this trip most enjoyable. This is a five star establishment. It is exquisitely decorated with fine antiques and beautiful and interesting art. Everything from the towels and sheets to the personnel who are there to serve you add comfort to your life. The food was unique and outstanding. The Chef is as good as any I have met at restaurants throughout the world. The wine, beer and Single Malts are the finest you will find in Scotland. Perhaps the best thing is the proximity to Royal Dornoch, one of the finest golf courses in the world. You are literally 100 yards from the first tee at this location. Your clubs are stored in a fine drying room on site and there is a beautiful and challenging practice putting green on the premises right near the outdoor fire place where an evening cocktail can be enjoyed. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMDIII3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley N, General Manager at Links House at Royal Dornoch, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your Links House Experience. It pleases us greatly that you felt the peace and tranquility of the house and also Dornoch itself. We set out to offer a different experience for our guests, often visiting the Highlands for the first time. We continue to review our service and improve and all feedback is valued.. We hope to see you back here.
Beverley Navarro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I booked a new hotel for our stay at Dornoch. Sounded fresh and upscale. Links House far exceeded our expectations in every way. This was a multi-year project development and no expense was spared to create a first class small luxury hotel. Only 8 rooms, with high quality on sight managers, Beverly and Michael. They were very helpful in booking tee times and even sent me a piece of clothing that I forgot. We had a memorable dinner with the owner and some of his friends produced by a young and creative chef. If you are interested in a wonderful and relaxing place to enjoy Dornoch and the surrounding area, this is it. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.2 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
198 reviews
13.3 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
380 reviews
11.3 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Links House at Royal Dornoch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Links House at Royal Dornoch

Address: Links House Golf Road, Dornoch IV25 3LW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range: $291 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Links House at Royal Dornoch 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Links House at Royal Dornoch combines luxury accommodation with the charm, grace & elegance of the world's finest hotels.Overlooking the first tee at Royal Dornoch Golf Club and with just eight bedrooms, a stay at Links House is like visiting your own country house. Each en-suite bedroom is finished with bespoke fabrics & every piece of furniture has been selected for its timeless beauty. Dinner served May - September 6.30 - 9.30pm Other months - 6.30 - 8.30pm Reservations essential ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Links House At Royal Dornoch Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing