We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good feed”
Review of Royal Kashmir - CLOSED

Royal Kashmir
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Orkney
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A good feed”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Having had a few take-aways from here in the past we thought we'd try the sit in.

We had a bairn with us so ordered a starter for him as soon as we arrived and it came quite quickly, however we had to wait a little while for ours as it appearred the kitchen was busy due to the number of takeways, probably due to it being a Friday night.

The mains were all excellent and the naan very tasty and fresh.

Would definitely go back but perhaps avoid a Friday.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OrkneyFangfarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    23
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We called here for a meal on a quiet Tuesday night whilst staying locally for a mini break.

The restaurant is located on a business park but within easy walking distance of the town centre. Don't be put off by the appearance of the business park - it's not very 'restaurant looking'.

The food was of quite good quality, service was warm and friendly. We gad popadoms and pickles, shared onion bhaji's to start then I had chicken tikka jalfrezi and my husband chicken tikka pathia. We shared a garlic naan and pilau rice. The food arrived quite promptly and we had plenty to eat. The quality was good, so better than average really but not what I would call 'very good'.

We were pleased with the meal and value for money though.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogart
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great sit in meal.”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Had a great meal in the Royal Kashmir. We sat in and were pleasantly surprised. Starters were delicious, mains too. Starters got served with the chutneys/dips too even when we hadn't ordered the poppadum's. All fresh and naan was piping hot and far better than some other places. Waiter was friendly and chatty and even offered us a complimentary drink at the end!
Also had take-aways before which are always nice and the set meals are a good deal. Meal for 2 will easily feed 3.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dornoch
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great service and food”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

i enjoyed my meals here and have gone back many times. good customer service and very welcoming. Food is very good only downfall was the cheese nan is lacking the cheese and a bit dry. good value for money tho.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“COSTLY MISTAKE!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Came here for family dinner in August. Had 4 main meals and 2 rices and nan . It was quite busy and we had to wait but we didn't mind as it was a very nice day that we went for a wee wonder. Came back afer 30 minutes ony to find that the meal was not ready. None of the staff were overly friendly.Finally we returned to Grannys to enjoy our meal only to be disappointed.

The nans were very dry definately not freshly baked, the 2 curries one of which was a bhoona was completely covered in oil, this of course leaked all over the bag. The portion size was not amazing for the cost only small pieces of meat. The tandoori was over cooked as well.

Will not be returning. The floating oil really put us off our food. Didn't feel healthy at all. Why would I pay to eat oil! It cost just short of £50!! Sticking to self catering! Costly mistake for us!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank seantheman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Kashmir also viewed

Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing