We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous beach”
Review of Dornoch Beach

Dornoch Beach
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Dornoch
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newcastle under Lyme
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous beach”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Lovely beach, really clean and my children certainly enjoyed it too, as well as my husband and I. There are plenty of rock pools to look in too, which my toddler found fascinating, and it was easily accessible...just as well with a double buggy!! I have fond memories of this beach from an earlier visit some years ago and now have even more.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    59
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wide clean beach with fabulous views”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The tide was just going out and gradually the shore emerged. The waves danced and sparkled in the afternoon sunlight on a very late autumn day. Access is discovered following a track via the golf course and eventually leads to parking overlooking the shore - good for the less mobile to enjoy. There is a coastal path to enjoy and families and groups were clearly enjoying the bracing air.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sandy1096757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach.”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

A lovely long stretch of golden sand....Wonderful place to walk and relax. The views are great and the beach is clean and unspoiled...no burger vans....plenty of parking and although there are a lot of dog walkers they all seem to be keen to keep the beach clean! It was a lovely day when we were there too which just made it more spectacular with the sunlight reflecting off the water.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tootleaboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The beach is wonderful to walk and forget about everything. Just relax and absorb the beauty that surrounds you.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tain, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A wonderful place”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

July's visit was just the most recent of many. We always take visitors here because it is so clean and unspoilt. had a mini nBBQ with the granchildren They love it as the can go mad and there is loads of space.
Always come here at Christmas with whole family to work off Chrissy Dinner. Many opf our friends do too as it;s a lovely place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Teuchter_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dornoch Beach also viewed

Golspie, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Dornoch Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing