We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service, lovely wee bnb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
2 Quail Guest House
Ranked #4 of 18 Dornoch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing service, lovely wee bnb”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Amazing service, lovely wee bnb

Kerensa is a wonderful hostess with a beautiful home (including some fabulous furniture). Every need was catered for. The breakfast was so good. I loved the soaps and my partner couldn't stop going on about how comfy the pillows were. Just right for 2 nights in Dornoch.

Han & Al

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wee-muileach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
42
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Booked here on the recommendation of other reviewers and we weren't disappointed. Nice clean room, and lovely public rooms filled with books. Delicious breakfast and outstanding personal service. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamTudors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Undoubtedly Kerensa is welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Michael's food at the Golf Club was also fine.
However, our over all experience was not the same as the reviewer in the Daily Telegraph (and other trip advisor reviews) on the basis of which we booked two nights.
Our room was on the first floor directly above the pavement and the main road. Although there is double glazing and internal shutters you can still hear vehicles passing by until quite late. We also found the room to be rather cramped and the shower room dated. The bed linen was clean but we prefer white pillow cases at least.
Dornoch is a wonderful area to visit but this B & B needs updating.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear or take earplugs if you are anything other than a heavy sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

On the main street, you could miss it from the outside. Once inside, it is beautifully appointed to precise details. Makes you feel very homely, comfortable and relaxed. The room was of a very good size supported by a lovey en suite. Breakfast, all locally produced products where possible, excellently offered. Well positioned and close by the excellent Royal Dornoch Golf club, a must for all golfers. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All three rooms are different to suit each couple's preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2Quail, Owner at 2 Quail Guest House, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest … I am very grateful for you taking the time to write a report on your stay with us.
Positive customer comments make all the difference, so thank you, your kindness is much appreciated.
Kerensa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knebworth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We can't thank Kerensa and Mike enough for a wonderful stay. The public rooms and bedrooms are cosy and very comfortable. Nothing is too much trouble and we felt very welcome. Most importantly, don't forget the breakfast, outstanding!
Come on, what are you waiting for? Book now!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2Quail, Owner at 2 Quail Guest House, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest, … Thank you very much. It is always appreciated when visitors take the trouble to write a review. Your positive remarks will make all the difference to those considering a trip to Dornoch and the Highlands. Kindest regards, Kerensa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Nice friendly welcome, comfy room, good breakfast and loads of tea.

Bedroom had big iron frame bed and was comfortable, furniture is like a country townhouse would and should feel and the room reminded me of a room in a similar village in Ireland nearly 50 years ago. So don't expect Ikea! In fact be grateful for that.
Loads of books around. Bathroom perfect

Great alternative to the hotels in Dornoch.

Room Tip: Don't worry about a room on Main Street side. Dornoch too quiet to be disturbed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluediamondtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2Quail, Owner at 2 Quail Guest House, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Blue Diamond, I much appreciate you taking the time to post a review. I am glad, despite your initial reservations over the style of decor, you did enjoy your stay and its surroundings, so thank you.
In her article, Fiona Duncan of The Telegraph was of a similar mind to you and went on to say, “… Contemporary it isn’t; idiosyncratic, consistent, well executed and refreshingly different from the norm it is. And it’s not a time warp; it’s the deliberate creation of its owner, Kerensa Carr, who is certainly not a little old lady …”
Kindest regards, Kerensa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
530 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We arrived in Dornoch and easily found this delightful, friendly bed & breakfast the welcome was friendly and warm The bedroom was well appointed and of an adequate size with a nice presentation of special bathroom toiletries, great towels and a superb shower. The location of the 2 Quail is excellent a very short distance away is the famous links golf course and of course the spectacular beach which was almost deserted

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IGW187351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2Quail, Owner at 2 Quail Guest House, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you very much. I really appreciate you taking the trouble to write a review and especially pleased it was a positive one. K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.4 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
771 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
219 reviews
4.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 2 Quail Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 2 Quail Guest House

Property: 2 Quail Guest House
Address: 2 Quail Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — 2 Quail Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Town Centre location, a stone's throw from 13th century Dornoch Cathedral. Three first class en-suite rooms with Free wi-fi. AA Five stars, UK Friendliest B&B finalist 2012 and Breakfast Award 2012/13, 'Scotland the Best', 'Good Hotel Guide' amongst others. Licensed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your 2 Quail Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Quail Guest House Dornoch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing