We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
2 Quail Guest House
Ranked #3 of 18 Dornoch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed on bed and breakfast deal and it was brilliant. The hotel is tiny, but the rooms are exceptionally well appointed and very, very comfortable, bordering on luxurious. The breakfast was excellent, served in the intimate dining room. Great value stay, and would definitely stay there again. Lovely.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2Quail, Owner at 2 Quail Guest House, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear David H … It is much appreciated when visitors take the time to send in comments. Thank you very much for your positive remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
39
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Very comfortable accommodations. Excellent breakfast. Kerensa is very outgoing. I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_London75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

2 Quail is a lovely, cosy, welcoming place to stay. Would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thasinallright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
109 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We were very impressed by our stay here. The house is comfortable and very tastefully decorated. Breakfast was excellent and was freshly made with good quality ingredients. There was fresh fruit and lovely prepared yoghurt. At £55 each per night, we didn't think it was expensive. And it it is very central: right next door to Luigi's if you want a meal. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and found the accommodation and breakfast to be of an excellent standard. Kerensa made us very welcome and provided an excellent breakfast. Our room was lovely, furnished with some antiques and we had a very comfortable bed. We would certainly recommend this B&B, just as long as you're not on a budget!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nette010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2009

I highly recommend this Inn. Everything was perfect. Our host was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottl728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2009

My friends I checked in for 2 nights on the 3rd to play golf at Dornoch. The rooms were charming, warm, and comfortable with lovely bathrooms and Molton Browns toiletries. Our breakfasts were excellent, with delicious fresh berries, quality cereals and yogurts, and perfectly prepared eggs. Most of all, Karensa is a terrific proprietress, fun and caring with a great sense of humor. We really enjoyed our 2 evenings of whiskey and conversation with her(we were the ones drinking the whiskey). We are very much looking forward to returning. Oh, and the golf at Royal Dornoch and Brora was pretty good too.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIRNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.3 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
757 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
216 reviews
4.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 2 Quail Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 2 Quail Guest House

Property: 2 Quail Guest House
Address: 2 Quail Castle Street, Dornoch IV25 3SN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — 2 Quail Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Town Centre location, a stone's throw from 13th century Dornoch Cathedral. Three first class en-suite rooms with Free wi-fi. AA Five stars, UK Friendliest B&B finalist 2012 and Breakfast Award 2012/13, 'Scotland the Best', 'Good Hotel Guide' amongst others. Licensed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your 2 Quail Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Quail Guest House Dornoch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing