We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great golf course but you feel like a battery hen here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Dornoch Golf Club

Royal Dornoch Golf Club
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Dornoch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Designed by Old Tom Morris in 1886, this challenging, historic course has spectacular views of the North Sea and goes almost straight out and straight back, with the angle changing subtly at each hole.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great golf course but you feel like a battery hen here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Cuching goes the cash register and another punter is processed!
Such a shame. This is a really great golf course and yet the welcome & the experienced has changed since my last visit some 15 years ago.
Top tip - give this a miss and go up to Brora GC instead.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank d_jones25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    31
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“#6 in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Easily the best golf course I have ever played, on a beautiful sunny spring morning, as a single since they only allow two balls until 9:30. Played great until I turned back toward the clubhouse and into the wind. Will go back again if I can find a way.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank visitorToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Must Play Course!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is one of the best courses I have ever played. The course was challenging but fair course. The views were breath taking, one of the most beautiful courses I have seen. I think if the course was closer to Edinburgh it would easily be on the tour. I would highly recommend playing Royal Dornoch to anyone.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beach_Life74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Royal Dornoch Golf Club”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Beautiful course. Love the fact that non golfers can accompany golfers on the course. My husband says it is the most beautiful and most difficult course he has ever golfed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Links Course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Exellent maintained course beautiful Situation classic lay out 9 holes out 9 in a must if you Play golf in Scottland

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoeLeTaxi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Dornoch Golf Club also viewed

Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Royal Dornoch Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing