We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take 2”
Review of Royal Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Golf Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Recap = Took father-in-law for a celebration lunch last October - outstanding! This time (14/04/14) it was more "in season" but we still turned up unannounced - just as good! food was 100% excellent, service was attentive, friendly to the point of personal but still not over the top and the views are fantastic. As a total bonus, the background music was a Blues compilation of such authenticity that I was transported! Could not recommend the RGH more strongly - even better that at second visit proved the first not to be a fluke!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank al_ramone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear that your second visit here last week was equally as enjoyable as your previous visit last October. As your probably know we have recently re-opened for the season so it is good to welcome you back. Your comments are very much appreciated by the team for which I thank you.
I hope it will be a case of ''take 3' before too long !

Kind Regards,

Robert Ratcliffe
Director & General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 234 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stopped in by the Royal Golf for lunch last week, probably the best risotto I have ever tasted. My son had a delicious burger with lovely chunky chips. The view over the golf course is probably the best in Dornoch and the restaurant itself was immaculate.
I felt it was a reasonable price to pay for such a high quality meal.
We hope to return for an evening meal soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank MMMMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for reviewing your lunch last week.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your risotto, which is chefs signature dish and has been extremely popular ever since we opened up 4 years ago. This is the one dish that has consistently featured on the menu. Glad to hear your son enjoyed his burger and chips. Chef makes his burgers from cuts of sirloin and fillet steaks so they are sure to be tasty and high quality. Probably the finest burgers in the highlands if not Scotland !
It is also true to say that the view from the Conservatory Restaurant across the golf course is stunning and definately the best view in Dornoch - I agree with you ! On a sunny day it is better than stunning if that is possible.
Thank you for calling in and I hope we will have the pleasure again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Robert Ratcliffe
Director & General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at the Royal Golf Hotel in Dornoch for just the one night and were made to feel as if we had been regular visitors by the whole staff. Everyone was so helpful and interested in why we had traveled to Dornoch. Breakfast was delicious....smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on lovely toast...a must!!

The views were spectacular over the golf course and the beach is just perfect....long, white sands.

Would hope to make a return visit in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Lynda,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to post such a complimentary review following your recent stay here at The Royal Golf Hotel, Dornoch. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I am naturally delighted that you had such a good time and especially enjoyed our speciality breakfast of smoked salmon and scrambled eggs !
I hope you will get the opportunity to visit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Robert Ratcliffe
Director and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, fabulous bedroom overlooking the golf course and the sea, excellent food and all the staff very friendly and helpful. There is plenty to do in the area and it has sime of the best golf courses in Scotland and plentiful long walks. The town of Dornoch is interesting and has plenty of places for eating and having a drink.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindahendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Linda,

May I take this opportunity to thank you for posting your most complimentary review following your recent stay at The Royal Golf Hotel Dornoch.
Naturally I am delighted that your enjoyed your visit to Dornoch and the hotel. You are right to say that there are some of the best golf courses in Scotland round here especially when you take into account Nairn, Castle Stuart, Brora, Tain and Golspie, not forgetting Royal Dornoch of course which is on our doorstep ! All are wonderful golf course in their own right.
Thank you again and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Robert Ratcliffe
Director & General Manger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

top notch place after a round of golf excellent service for food always good knowing your game is about to finish and you can call in advance ping food is ready as u walk in the door!
I have not been since july but I will be back this summer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuarty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Stuart,

Many thanks for your complimentary review posted recently. Naturally I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us and I look forward to seeing you this summer when hopefully the weather will as fine as it was last year.

Kind Regards,

Robert Ratcliffe
Director & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We recently stayed over the New Year festivities.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful, and did everything they could for all to have a wonderful time.
The food was plentiful and excellent.
A better location you couldn't get, with wonderful views too.
All in all, a great trip and stay.
I just wish, larger Hotels could afford the same civility to their guests.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grumpyoldvictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear New Year Guest,

Your review is very much appreciated and please be assured the team here do read guest reviews with interest; it gives everyone huge encouragement.
I am really pleased that you enjoyed your Hogmanay break with us. It was a pleasure to meet everyone. I hope you enjoyed 'Harrys Quiz' on the first evening.
All the best for 2014,

Kind Regards,

Robert Ratcliffe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just home from three wonderful days over the New Year at this hotel. I must start with the staff -Robert, Cameron, Gail, Siobhan, Vicky, Findlay and Sam. They were endlessly friendly and responsive to every request. I cannot praise them enough. Our room was large and well equipped with views across the championship course with the Dornoch Firth beyond. The public rooms are very well presented and comfortable. The cuisine presented by Sam from Sri Lanka is a highlight. Whether breakfast, afternoon tea, champagne and canapes or gala dinners the standard was exceptional. I hope we will return to repeat a wonderful experience.

Simon and Jean Andrews

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Simon and Jean,

Thank you very much for posting such a wonderful review following your Hogmanay break with us recently. It was lovely to see you both again. Your kind words and compliments are really appreciated by everyone at the hotel.

We hope to see you again before too long.

Kind Regards,

Robert and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.1 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
809 reviews
11.2 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
201 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
4.7 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Golf Hotel

Address: The First Tee Grange Road, Dornoch IV25 3LG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range: $128 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Golf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Golf Hotel, is perfectly situated overlooking the first tee of Royal Dornoch Championship Golf Course, the 6th best golf course in the world as judged by Golf Digest. All 22 bedrooms are en-suite and furnished to a high standard, most having superb views across the golf course and the Dornoch Firth beyond. Free WiFi internet access. The Conservatory Restaurant serves locally sourced,fresh seasonal food in an informal and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Golf Hotel Dornoch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing