We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short Visit”
Review of Royal Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Golf Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Short Visit”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at the Royal Golf Hotel in Dornoch for just the one night and were made to feel as if we had been regular visitors by the whole staff. Everyone was so helpful and interested in why we had traveled to Dornoch. Breakfast was delicious....smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on lovely toast...a must!!

The views were spectacular over the golf course and the beach is just perfect....long, white sands.

Would hope to make a return visit in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Lynda,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to post such a complimentary review following your recent stay here at The Royal Golf Hotel, Dornoch. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I am naturally delighted that you had such a good time and especially enjoyed our speciality breakfast of smoked salmon and scrambled eggs !
I hope you will get the opportunity to visit us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Robert Ratcliffe
Director and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    52
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
95
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, fabulous bedroom overlooking the golf course and the sea, excellent food and all the staff very friendly and helpful. There is plenty to do in the area and it has sime of the best golf courses in Scotland and plentiful long walks. The town of Dornoch is interesting and has plenty of places for eating and having a drink.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindahendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Linda,

May I take this opportunity to thank you for posting your most complimentary review following your recent stay at The Royal Golf Hotel Dornoch.
Naturally I am delighted that your enjoyed your visit to Dornoch and the hotel. You are right to say that there are some of the best golf courses in Scotland round here especially when you take into account Nairn, Castle Stuart, Brora, Tain and Golspie, not forgetting Royal Dornoch of course which is on our doorstep ! All are wonderful golf course in their own right.
Thank you again and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Robert Ratcliffe
Director & General Manger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

top notch place after a round of golf excellent service for food always good knowing your game is about to finish and you can call in advance ping food is ready as u walk in the door!
I have not been since july but I will be back this summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuarty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Stuart,

Many thanks for your complimentary review posted recently. Naturally I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us and I look forward to seeing you this summer when hopefully the weather will as fine as it was last year.

Kind Regards,

Robert Ratcliffe
Director & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We recently stayed over the New Year festivities.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful, and did everything they could for all to have a wonderful time.
The food was plentiful and excellent.
A better location you couldn't get, with wonderful views too.
All in all, a great trip and stay.
I just wish, larger Hotels could afford the same civility to their guests.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumpyoldvictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear New Year Guest,

Your review is very much appreciated and please be assured the team here do read guest reviews with interest; it gives everyone huge encouragement.
I am really pleased that you enjoyed your Hogmanay break with us. It was a pleasure to meet everyone. I hope you enjoyed 'Harrys Quiz' on the first evening.
All the best for 2014,

Kind Regards,

Robert Ratcliffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cupar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just home from three wonderful days over the New Year at this hotel. I must start with the staff -Robert, Cameron, Gail, Siobhan, Vicky, Findlay and Sam. They were endlessly friendly and responsive to every request. I cannot praise them enough. Our room was large and well equipped with views across the championship course with the Dornoch Firth beyond. The public rooms are very well presented and comfortable. The cuisine presented by Sam from Sri Lanka is a highlight. Whether breakfast, afternoon tea, champagne and canapes or gala dinners the standard was exceptional. I hope we will return to repeat a wonderful experience.

Simon and Jean Andrews

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Simon and Jean,

Thank you very much for posting such a wonderful review following your Hogmanay break with us recently. It was lovely to see you both again. Your kind words and compliments are really appreciated by everyone at the hotel.

We hope to see you again before too long.

Kind Regards,

Robert and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Lovely to sit and watch the sea, staff friendly. Food good basic fare.
Hotel overall looks tired, could do with a revamp.

Helpful?
1 Thank SheilaB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Sheila,
Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor following your visit here in November.
I have to be honest and say that this is the first time in four years since we re-opened in 2010 that anyone has said we could do with a re-vamp; slightly unfair when you did not stay in one of our lovely rooms, many benefitting from stunning views over the golf course and Dornoch Firth beyond ! Having said that we are constantly striving to improve our standard of furnishings and fittings. We are a four star hotel with bags of character and a warm friendly ambience which many of our golfing friends and customers love and admire. We appeal to golfers and leisure guests alike as you can clearly see from previous and more recent reviews. Once again Sheila, thank you for your feedback and I hope you will visit Dornoch again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Robert Ratcliffe
Director & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

On a golfing holiday of links courses including Dornoch and stayed here for 4 nights. The room was lovely, the bathroom spacious, the food wonderful and what a location. Shame the restaurant wasn't busier. Looking forward to a return visit.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank palms_palms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert R, General Manager at Royal Golf Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting your review following your stay in October at The Royal Golf Hotel Dornoch. I am delighted that you enjoyed your four nights with us. You must have stayed as the season was drawing to a close when the restaurant can be a little quieter on some evenings. Be assured the restaurant is very busy on most evenings during the season when quite often advanced bookings are advisable. However once again thanks very much for taking the time to write your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Robert Ratcliffe
Director & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
0.3 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
4.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Golf Hotel

Property: Royal Golf Hotel
Address: The First Tee Grange Road, Dornoch IV25 3LG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Golf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Golf Hotel, is perfectly situated overlooking the first tee of Royal Dornoch Championship Golf Course, the 6th best golf course in the world as judged by Golf Digest. All 22 bedrooms are en-suite and furnished to a high standard, most having superb views across the golf course and the Dornoch Firth beyond. Free WiFi internet access. The Conservatory Restaurant serves locally sourced,fresh seasonal food in an informal and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Golf Hotel Dornoch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing