We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service”
Review of Sutherland House

Sutherland House
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Dornoch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Probably our favouritist restuarant when we're vsiiting the highlands of Scotland in our motorhome. We've visited on numerous occassions and have always had a really enjoyable experience. The food is excellent and the lady owner is very friendly. Indeed, she always manages to have a wee chat if the restaurant isn't too busy and is a useful source of knowledge about the locality. Really superb hospitality and reasonably priced for the quality of the food.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    80
    16
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
thurso
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Professional Service yet still personal”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My daughter and I ate a here on a Saturday night, and even at the opening of service at 6pm, tables were rapidly filling up. Locals and visitors alike seem to have got the word that for great food with good service, this is where to come!
Our waitress, though young, was fully briefed and attentive. She made eye contact with both of us and knew the menu inside out. The owner, Mrs Sutherland, was very much in attendance, greeting and checking on people and steering her ship in a quiet but effective fashion. It was obvious that this lady knows her trade and has a real love for what she does.
The food was faultless and we found ourselves on the fourth course, when we had only planned a mains... wooops!
As folk who are also in the hospitality trade we are picky customers and set a high bar...the Sutherland met our testing standards and we will certainly come again...and again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BakingMad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Lovely meal with friends here! Great service and stuffed chicken was delicious! Sadly we went back the second night and they'd sold out of that and steak- hopefully when we're back next year.....

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Did their best!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We hadn't booked a table but we were accommodated and informed that we may have to wait. Actually, we didn't have to wait too long at all, and the food was superb. Waitresses were attentive, and although very busy, seemed to manage very well indeed. The only problem we had (similar to another reviewer) - the outlandish, noisy behaviour from a group of American golders who thought everything they said was hysterically funny and had to heard by everyone! I'm pretty sure if it had been a group of noisy, drunk, football supporters - they would have at least been asked to keep the noise down, or indeed - kicked out! I did complain to a waitress, and Ido understand that as a group they were spending more money than us ..... but the interests of all customers should be taken into consideration. I am to return to Dornoch, and will check first who the other diners are!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for vegetarians”
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Interesting veggie choices on the menu. Goat's cheese salad with sun dried tomatoes and nut & mushroom stroganoff were excellent

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VeggieSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sutherland House also viewed

Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Sutherland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing