We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 20 Dornoch B&B and Inns
Newtonhill, Scotland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Comfortable B&B”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at Strathview for one night on our way to Orkney. First impressions count for a lot and we thought the outside of the property could be doing with a bit of a tidy up as the steps leading to the front door were a bit dilapidated and covered in moss, which could be a real issue if they were wet and you're carrying a heavy case.

The bed was comfortable but we found the amount of bedcovers and frills on a the bed to be a bit overpowering! Our room was nicely decorated but we both thought the bathroom could be doing with a proper clean (the toilet roll holder was covered in a layer of dust which must have accumulated over a number of days/weeks).

Breakfast was very nice with lots of olde worlde charm with doilies covering most of the crystal.

Overall I would say this is a very nice reasonably priced 3 star B&B, but we felt the other 4 B&Bs and guesthouses that we stayed in over the fortnight offered nicer accommodation and the rating reflects this.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rush2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlandpenny, Owner at Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
I'm sorry you were disappointed in your stay with us but I must take issue with your complaints, Firstly there is not now nor has there ever been moss growing on our front steps, we did have 3 nights and 2 days of very high winds and I did notice that moss had been torn from our neighbour's roof and was blowing across the front of our house but there wasn't much we could do about the wind.

Secondly the bedclothes I'm afraid it's a case of "horses for courses" it's all down to personal taste.

Thirdly I can assure you the bathrooms are thoroughly cleaned between each let and do not go days and most certainly not weeks without cleaning, again we had had very high winds and dust storms but I had dusted again before you arrived.

The "lace doilies" which you claim cover most of the crystal in the dining room are in fact beaded lace food covers which I bought from Lakeland, there are in fact two of them, one covers the cereal bowls on the small buffet trolley and the other covers the sugar bowl. As you would see as I drew your attention to at breakfast the cereal is self serve so the bowls and the sugar bowl are on open display, I have a real horror of flies crawling on plates or food therefor I cover them.

Once again I can only apologise for disappointing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scotland Neck, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This bed and breakfast was a perfect night stop for me. Situated just off the main road between Dornoch and Golspie, it was clean, very comfortable and nicely decorated. A great home from home.
Although not within walking distance of a village, it was only a 5 minute drive to Dornoch where there are a selection of restaurants and a pub.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancashire67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at Strathview for one night before attending a wedding in Dornoch the next day.
We arrived late evening and owners were kind enough to arrange transport into Dornoch (approx 4 miles away) to meet friends, as taxis are not readily available in the area.
Our room was spacious but cosy with a decent sized en-suite and patio doors out onto decking with fantastic views of Dornoch Bay. Breakfast was provided at a time to suit us and cooked fresh to order.
The owners were also kind enough to delay out check-out time which allowed us to get ready for the wedding we were goin to.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Strathview and would recommend anyway. Many thanks!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piecesandjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

People: listen up: The reviews that you will read about this B&B are true. Mary makes the best breakfast ON THE PLANET!
We visited Dornoch to attend a wedding, and Strathview made the overnight stay into a real holiday. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: They are all lovely. We had one facing the front with patio doors out onto the decking, and the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidC856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlandpenny, Owner at Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your review it is very much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this B&B recently and it was better than a 5 star hotel. The room was huge and beautifully decorated and designed. The bathroom was also huge. Tom and Mary were two of the nicest people we had met on our trip around the Scottish Highlands. They couldn't do enough for you. They were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was amazing. Also they went the extra mile to help us when our car ran out of petrol at the bottom of their drive, even though Tom didn't drive a petrol car, he miraculously came up with some petrol so we could drive to the nearest petrol station. Now that is service. I would highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen_mulligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlandpenny, Owner at Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
thank you helen for a lovely review, it is very mucha ppreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
282 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

With beautiful views over Loch Fleet, a comfortable, cosy and very clean room, (even central heating on in July!) welcoming hosts and a fine breakfast we had a very pleasant stay here. It's a good base for so many attractions in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlandpenny, Owner at Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review, it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
120 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We came to Strathview having read the gushing reviews on this website, and went expecting a top-notch B&B. With excellent service, facilities and views, this place should be on your shortlist if you're planning on spending a night north of Inverness. Mary and Tom are excellent hosts, and some hotels could do worse than take some notes off them.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thisusernamewastaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlandpenny, Owner at Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you so much it is much appreciated that you took the time to give us a review and even more appreciated that it is such a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
4.7 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dornoch
349 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
731 reviews
8.7 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 2 in Brora
275 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
4.5 mi away
The Eagle Hotel
The Eagle Hotel
#4 of 6 in Dornoch
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: Cambusavie, Dornoch IV25 3JD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Dornoch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our tranquil four star en suite accommodation guesthouse is situated close to Royal Dornoch with its world renowned Golf Courses, award winning beach and twelfth century cathedral. All rooms are on the ground floor although the house is reached by a number of flights of steps, there is more than ample private car parking space, and storage for cycles is available. Both Dornoch (6.5 miles) and Golspie (5.4 miles) offer a good variety of restaurants. Free Wireless Internet is available for our guests. Strathview is no smoking inside the building, but smokers are free to smoke in the gardens away from the house. We do accept pets, subject to certain conditions, available on request. Strathview offers full Scottish and Continental breakfast, with vegetarian meals on request. Packed lunches and evening meals available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathview Lodge Bed And Breakfast Dornoch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing