We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and friendly B&B in a perfect out of the way location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 18 Dornoch B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This bed and breakfast was a perfect night stop for me. Situated just off the main road between Dornoch and Golspie, it was clean, very comfortable and nicely decorated. A great home from home.
Although not within walking distance of a village, it was only a 5 minute drive to Dornoch where there are a selection of restaurants and a pub.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lancashire67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 66 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at Strathview for one night before attending a wedding in Dornoch the next day.
We arrived late evening and owners were kind enough to arrange transport into Dornoch (approx 4 miles away) to meet friends, as taxis are not readily available in the area.
Our room was spacious but cosy with a decent sized en-suite and patio doors out onto decking with fantastic views of Dornoch Bay. Breakfast was provided at a time to suit us and cooked fresh to order.
The owners were also kind enough to delay out check-out time which allowed us to get ready for the wedding we were goin to.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Strathview and would recommend anyway. Many thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piecesandjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

People: listen up: The reviews that you will read about this B&B are true. Mary makes the best breakfast ON THE PLANET!
We visited Dornoch to attend a wedding, and Strathview made the overnight stay into a real holiday. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: They are all lovely. We had one facing the front with patio doors out onto the decking, and the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidC856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlandpenny, Owner at Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you so much for your review it is very much appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this B&B recently and it was better than a 5 star hotel. The room was huge and beautifully decorated and designed. The bathroom was also huge. Tom and Mary were two of the nicest people we had met on our trip around the Scottish Highlands. They couldn't do enough for you. They were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was amazing. Also they went the extra mile to help us when our car ran out of petrol at the bottom of their drive, even though Tom didn't drive a petrol car, he miraculously came up with some petrol so we could drive to the nearest petrol station. Now that is service. I would highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen_mulligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlandpenny, Owner at Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

thank you helen for a lovely review, it is very mucha ppreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

With beautiful views over Loch Fleet, a comfortable, cosy and very clean room, (even central heating on in July!) welcoming hosts and a fine breakfast we had a very pleasant stay here. It's a good base for so many attractions in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlandpenny, Owner at Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review, it is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We came to Strathview having read the gushing reviews on this website, and went expecting a top-notch B&B. With excellent service, facilities and views, this place should be on your shortlist if you're planning on spending a night north of Inverness. Mary and Tom are excellent hosts, and some hotels could do worse than take some notes off them.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thisusernamewastaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlandpenny, Owner at Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you so much it is much appreciated that you took the time to give us a review and even more appreciated that it is such a good one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Excellent accommodation, great hospitality and wonderful views and a breakfast beyond compare. Very much enjoyed our 3 nights stay in June

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alistair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlandpenny, Owner at Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

good guests make it easier to be good hosts. thank you for taking the time to post a review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dornoch
4.6 mi away
Dornoch Hotel
Dornoch Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dornoch
481 reviews
8.7 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
4.6 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#3 of 6 in Dornoch
231 reviews
9.2 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Steading
The Steading
#6 of 18 in Dornoch
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: Cambusavie, Dornoch IV25 3JD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Dornoch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Dornoch
Price Range: $94 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our tranquil four star en suite accommodation guesthouse is situated close to Royal Dornoch with its world renowned Golf Courses, award winning beach and twelfth century cathedral. All rooms are on the ground floor although the house is reached by a number of flights of steps, there is more than ample private car parking space, and storage for cycles is available. Both Dornoch (6.5 miles) and Golspie (5.4 miles) offer a good variety of restaurants. Free Wireless Internet is available for our guests. Strathview is no smoking inside the building, but smokers are free to smoke in the gardens away from the house. We do accept pets, subject to certain conditions, available on request. Strathview offers full Scottish and Continental breakfast, with vegetarian meals on request. Packed lunches and evening meals available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Strathview Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathview Lodge Bed And Breakfast Dornoch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing